Skip to content

Those Bloody Gits

June 6, 2007
My good English friend cannot stand the word “wanker.” I agree, it is a very ugly word and it does not truly serve the intent. Wanker, WANKer, wanKER. No. Not only is it overused, it lacks punch, sting, or pizzazz. “You bloody wanker.” Yawn. Direct it to the dustbin with the other bores such as dead metaphors, clichés, wannabe hip lingo as in yesterday’s wasabi (its lime green, nothing more) painted on trendy studio walls. Wanker conjures up images of killing a fox with a cannon. Unnecessary firepower to the point the round becomes counterproductive, a blank, –a dud. “What did you hit?” “Nothing! I fired a dud.” “You wanker, wake me up after you rake the fire, —I need it red-blue hot, no, wasabi hot.”

Wiki says:

Git is a relatively mild British slang term, used to denote a silly, stupid, annoying, childish or senile elderly person. It is usually used as an insult, more severe than twit but less severe than a true profanity like wanker or arsehole, and may often be used
affectionately between friends.

Me likey. I like the way the gradation of the insult is dissected, thus defined, — “more severe than twit” but less than “wanker.” LOL! Now, that is my kind of speak. But, as I said already I think “wanker” is given too much credence thus void of potential impact. Only a wanker would use the word wanker.

The word git first appeared in print in 1946, but undoubtedly predates it. The etymology of the word is a contraction of “illegitamate”, or possibly a corruption of the word ‘get’, dating back to the 14th century. A shortening of ‘beget’, ‘get’ insinuates that the recipient is someones misbegotten offspring and therefore a bastard i.e. illegitimate. In parts of Northern England and Scotland ‘get’ is still used in preference to ‘git’.

‘Git’ is frequently used in conjunction with another word to achieve a more specific meaning. For instance a “smarmy git” refers to a person of a slimy, ingratiating disposition; a “jammy git” would be a person with undeserved luck. The phrase “grumpy old git”, denoting a cantankerous old man, is used with particular frequency.

Whatever. No preceding adjective is needed to utilize the git.

Speaking of gits. An endless supply of gits somehow manage to make it pass my spam folder into my inbox and sequentially (if they have it their way) into my pockets. Only today, the following managed to get by the spam filters.

Hey
Job Application
We Need You
(sic) Opinion

Allan’s next of Kin
Thanks for Your Assistant and God Bless

Hay is for horses. I don’t need no job. Here is my opinion! Who the eff is Allan? God Bless You too.

Am I really supposed to fall for any of this and open the email? As if.

Comments are closed.

