Skip to content

AROOO

June 30, 2007
I have been holding off introducing our team here because there are still a few invitations unanswered, however, I feel it is time because the excitement (and secret) can no longer be concealed. This blog is A.R.O.O.O, A Room of Our Own, deviating slightly from but still embodying the spirit of Virginia Woolf’s A Room of One’s Own. The goal is to have a room that nurtures community-similar seclusion, needed for fellowship and security, yet, not create an overall alienation from the rest of the populace. A public sanctuary.

If I plead hard enough maybe Absorbant (my best kept secret) and Gingermiss (another hidden treasure) will give us an entry introducing themselves (no pressure!).

My thoughts when putting together this blog was to create a place that is free from the stress that accompanies many blogs. Or I should say the stress I feel when reading them, and I do not think I am alone with this opinion. For instance, AROOO gets the most visits when a news link is featured in an entry. If one were to be caught up in attempting to make a blog popular or capture high traffic then the essence of that blog would continually change in order to seduce the whim of the fickle hook. Mixed metaphors are allowed among friends. I will take mixed allusions too. Change is good and not discouraged; however, superficial movement can be erratic and irritating.

I believe the meaning is in the story, between the lines, something thought about later after the story sinks in. I do not think many people appreciate stories anymore. It seems to be “get to the point already” or “what’s the point.” Worse, “what does that have to do with the cost of tea in China?” “Is there a solution in your story?” “What about activism.” “Then why are you wasting my time.” At least that is what I feel from many blogs and their readers in our current blogospheric climate. Not implying that blogs with that particularly focus are not appreciated, needed, or wanted, because they are, but I am saying that the story blogs, the “guess what happened to me” type dialogue is often too long and not sound bitey or news clipey enough for the hipsters to appreciate. I say fuck the celebrated, the self-appointed in-crowd. It takes too much busy work to be cool. We have a story to tell, and if that story originates because we read a news article, another blog entry, saw a movie, thought of something that does not seem to connect to whatever, are hooked on cornball t.v. or radio programs, so be it. Here is our place, our place to be as eclectic, obscure, and esoteric or even as pointed as we want to be.

Naturally, anti-female will not be tolerated.

If you would like to post an entry, a story, send me an email.

6 Comments
  1. Professor Zero permalink
    July 1, 2007 5:28 am

    Stories are *great* (but then of course I’d say that, LOL).

  2. Pippa permalink
    July 1, 2007 11:06 am

    I like what I see… I’m linking and have subscribed. And yes, stories are Gooooood. Pippa x

  3. Anna permalink
    July 1, 2007 9:42 pm

    Thoughtfully interesting intro to a blog – I will stay tuned AND agree with much of what you say about the nature of much of the blogosphere – I have an eclectic blog – it goes where ever I care to take it – and no doubt, as you say, this is contrary to “how o achieve traffic” etc etc

    so be it

    I’ll be back.

  4. Chris permalink
    July 3, 2007 3:09 am

    This place is way too tolerant for me! Let’s go burn baby seals or something;)

    It is true that we spend most of our time REACTING to news, others, and other stuff instead of being ourselves and imagining something far greater.

  5. momo permalink
    July 3, 2007 11:23 am

    I like this place!

  6. Kitty Glendower permalink
    July 5, 2007 7:37 am

    Thanks everyone, I am so happy and excited that people read us!

Comments are closed.

