Skip to content

Raw Anger

July 5, 2007
Do you know what it looks like when a woman expresses it? Or is it something only men are entitled to? Is it yet another emotion that is reserve only for men.

To me, raw anger is when all civilities are tossed to the side, all the common niceties that come with considering how something one says may hurt someone’s feelings are abandoned and a person reaches deep inside of themselves and release the beast that has been consuming their soul. Raw anger is when primitive instincts such as fucking someone’s face up come to the surface and every bit of constraint is necessary in order to halt the actuality of that action. This to me is raw anger. It is a purging, a cleansing far too long held from women.

Women by large do not know raw anger. Women are conditioned to repress raw anger. Men suppress raw anger in women so women will not get angry enough to rebel. Society has made women the custodians of virtue, the custodians of civility, the ones who must always restrain herself in order to be available to constrain others (men and children).

Other women who are not accustomed to women expressing raw anger tend to quickly demonize that woman because her anger reminds them of men. Yet when those women demonize the angry woman they are in fact acting like men. Raw anger in women is often turned inward whereas a man’s raw anger is turned outward, mostly in the form of beating and murdering women and children. But that aspect is not considered. Women are punished ten times harder for unleashing her beast. Women who kill their husbands are held to higher standards than men who kill their wives. Women often forgive men for angry outbursts, but will forever punish another woman because of her rage (justifiable rage or not).

When women even remotely hint at raw anger they are called crazy bitches, psycho bitches, in need of therapy, etc by mostly everyone.

I think if a person cannot comprehend what raw anger is, then he or she has never really had it that bad, just so bad that they cannot take it anymore without exploding. Not knowing raw anger is a privilege.

Who often gets the angry label in a negative light?

The angry black bitch.
The angry dried up old hag.
The angry bitch.
That fucking angry white bitch.

That angry cunt needs to be fucked.

Sometimes, the angry black man (see below though, bros before hoes you know).

Who is left out of the above labels? Ding ding ding, privileged white men and the sweet little patriarchal tools who adhere to patriarchy’s doctrine.

Nevertheless, do not despair, because when the angry label is applied to white men, it is seen as a positive, as in when a white man advocating dissent says it:

Howard Beale: [shouting] You’ve got to say, ‘I’m a HUMAN BEING, Goddamnit! My life has VALUE!’ So I want you to get up now. I want all of you to get up out of your chairs. I want you to get up right now and go to the window. Open it, and stick your head out, and yell, [shouting]

Howard Beale: ‘I’M AS MAD AS HELL, AND I’M NOT GOING TO TAKE THIS ANYMORE!’ I want you to get up right now, sit up, go to your windows, open them and stick your head out and yell – ‘I’m as mad as hell and I’m not going to take this anymore!’ Things have got to change. But first, you’ve gotta get mad!… You’ve got to say, ‘I’m as mad as hell, and I’m not going to take this anymore!’ Then we’ll figure out what to do about the depression and the inflation and the oil crisis. But first get up out of your chairs, open the window, stick your head out, and yell, and say it:

Howard Beale: [screaming at the top of his lungs] “I’M AS MAD AS HELL, AND I’M NOT GOING TO TAKE THIS
ANYMORE!”

When the great almighty HE (and all he represents) is angry, it is a good thing. But that bitch is told she needs to shut the fuck up. Her anger is silenced. Her anger is not logical, it is nonsense, etc.

Well ‘I’M AS MAD AS HELL, AND I’M NOT GOING TO TAKE THIS ANYMORE!’ and I say to you, who think I had a choice to go in the military or not, and have the nerve to accuse me of rape, FUCK YOU, YOU PRIVILEDGE TOOL! Glad to know life has been so fucking great for your ass that you can sit and judge others. Way to go, da man will be proud.

6 Comments
  1. Anna permalink
    July 5, 2007 9:42 pm

    wow – now you’ve got me thinking . . racking my brain trying to think of a female equivalent to the famous film monologue you quote. Or even a play monologue of such raw anger by a woman. If I think of one – I’ll do a post.

  2. Kitty Glendower permalink
    July 5, 2007 11:54 pm

    Thanks Anna for coming here!

    Maybe Blanche Dubois would have been a good candidate to unleash this sort of anger. She was married to a homosexual who killed himself and set it up to make it seem as if it was her fault, she was ran out of town for being somewhat sexually free, raped by her brother-in-law, believed by no one, jilted by a has been mama’s boy, trapped all around by the patriarchy. Instead of expressing that anger, Williams makes her go insane, because I do not think Williams or any other author could imagine portraying an angry woman. Not to the degree the situation warrants. Not portraying her and allowing her reputation to remain intact. The woman would have to cross over into monster category. She unlike the male protagonist is unredeemable, her reputation would be irreparable. He on the other hand would emerge a hero, his anger being his catalyst for an epiphany, a revelation, monumental self-discovery or the fuel for a mass crusade.

  3. lost clown permalink
    July 7, 2007 12:26 am

    I get told that yelling is abusive, regardless of why I’m yelling or if I’m even yelling at anyone or just yelling because I’m SO PISSED OFF.

    Fuckin’ hate it. At least back east (where I come from) yelling is not seen as abusive, but people still get labelled ‘angry bitch’ or whatnot.

    I personally think that yelling to get out anger is fine, I yell at the TV, the radio, the world in my house all the time. Shit pisses me off. I’ll stop yelling when there ceases to be a patriarchy.

  4. lilacsnwormwood permalink
    July 7, 2007 3:31 am

    and sometimes…

    we can after that raw anger–get smart–

    and turn that anger into energy to create change…

    and I am doing just that.

    🙂

    [the Veterans Women too I added–will be adding more to the Muses Garden]

    love,

    Tasha

  5. Chris permalink
    July 7, 2007 4:44 am

    I can help you out on terms for angry guys (not mad situationally but just mad in general). The terms I use are:
    dick, cockhead, asswipe, piss ant, jack ass, and oh yeah…tool;)

    Isn’t it interesting how when we debase ourselves to extreme senses of labelling, we resort to gender, sexual orientation, and sex? (fuck you, bitch, dick, cunt, cock sucker, faggot) What is really funny is when I catch myself using such a term in traffic and then realize my “target” is not the gender appropriate for the slur I used…makes me feel silly.

  6. Professor Zero permalink
    July 8, 2007 2:51 am

    I have serious trouble distinguishing between raw anger and abuse, in the sense that, I think I am becoming abusive if I feel raw anger.

Comments are closed.

