Skip to content

Please Sir, I Want Some More

July 12, 2007
If there really were gods and goddesses up above and one day they found themselves so bored that they decided to take interest in my life and come down and ask me, “Kitty, as a woman who has the privilege to observe the little children of the neighborhood during the daylight hours, when other people are off doing whatever it is that they do to earn their daily bread and keep up their pretentious facade at the local thumping whatever ideology meeting, would you like to be immortalized as the mother on the block who all the children love to flock to, the woman with the smiling face and the cool pitcher of lemonade with an endless supply of mini sandwiches made with perfectly soft bread without the crust happily welcoming and encouraging the little children to come into your yard, your house, to spread their boisterous laughter and innocent smiles all over every surface, or would you like to be immortalized as the crazy woman on the street who no child dare speak your name much less make eye contact with? Which would you choose Kitty? Speak now, for we have a wedding to attend and there is an apple about to roll that we would like to divert.”
7 Comments
  1. Absorbant permalink
    July 13, 2007 10:14 pm

    I’m not sure if I get your questions but yes, be the ‘mother on the block’ ! I think you are lovely and it is a good picture, whether tou want to actualy go to this wedding is, I think, a different question.

  2. Chris permalink
    July 14, 2007 3:23 pm

    We had the mean one on our street, Mr. Hewlett. When we would play baseball in the STREET, first base was near the edge of his yard. We did not play in his yard, but an occasional foul ball would go astray in his yard and we’d retrieve it. Never broke a window or anything. But whenever we’d start to play, he’d often turn on his sprinklers, making sure that they sprayed right across first base into our field. As you can imagine, he died a miserable old man.

    That’s why I don’t mind when all the kids last week played “World’s Dirtiest Jobs” in my backyard, making a huge clay / mud pit.

    So who was your Mr. Hewlett as a kid?

  3. Magogo's Musings, too permalink
    July 15, 2007 2:19 am

    I’d be the crazy lady, myself. I attempted to be the other mother in another incarnation, and all I got was exhausted and crankyand no thanks at all. Love, Margo

  4. Magogo's Musings, too permalink
    July 15, 2007 2:19 am

    I’d be the crazy lady, myself. I attempted to be the other mother in another incarnation, and all I got was exhausted and crankyand no thanks at all. Love, Margo

  5. Magogo's Musings, too permalink
    July 15, 2007 2:19 am

    I’d be the crazy lady, myself. I attempted to be the other mother in another incarnation, and all I got was exhausted and crankyand no thanks at all. Love, Margo

  6. Magogo's Musings, too permalink
    July 15, 2007 2:19 am

    I’d be the crazy lady, myself. I attempted to be the other mother in another incarnation, and all I got was exhausted and crankyand no thanks at all. Love, Margo

  7. Kitty Glendower permalink
    July 15, 2007 4:28 am

    That’s the ticket Margo. I think most people automatically assume the crazy woman is the mean woman. I can be the crazy woman and not be mean. LOL! There have been some children here this summer and the only word that comes to mind is ambivalence. I think because a few of the regulars bring back too many memories, there are things about them that remind me of another time.

Comments are closed.

