Skip to content

Harry Potter And the Order of the Phoenix (Quick Notes)

July 15, 2007
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix was not too long as I read some bloggers complain about. For a quick minute, it felt like the Dumbledore’s Army practice and gathering was going to be overdone, but the film switches gears just in time to prevent stalling.

What in the world were Aunt Petunia and Uncle Vernon wearing? I noticed Aunt Petunia had a tan, this I assume to place her among the middle class suburban crowd who uses tans, even the spray on variety to represent some sort of superficial community standing.

I do not think the art department must have been happy with how Voldemort’s snake-slit nose looked because I am quite sure computer imaging was used to blur his nose. In each scene, everything seems clear but a blurry spot around his nose. It rather follows him around.

I love love love love love Helena Bonham Carter as Bellatrix Lestrange. I wish she had more screen time. She is delightful.

It is obvious what the filmmakers want us to think about Luna Lovegood. Even though I like her, I think she was focused on too much in the movie. Like the dreamy but omniscient virginal maiden that everyone is expected to worship in some faraway tale. The movie lacks the evidence that the book provides that many students find Luna a Looney Loon. Also, I think that one “wet” kiss Harry has with Cho Chang has clouded some people’s judgment. I am reading how Luna is expected to pair with Neville, when clearly, TOOTP hints at a Harry/Luna coupling, and if that is not enough to push Cho out of the picture, in Harry Potter and The Half Blood Prince Ginny appears with a shoulder to cry on. I do not like Cho Chang, never have. Too much of a sniveling crybaby with no substance. Moreover, the movie makes her the snitch (under duress but the DA members do not know this) instead of her friend as in the book. Hermione’s cleverness is downplayed in this movie albeit she contributes more than her share in the text. The DA coins do not exist and marking each door at the Ministry of Magic with a flaming X is out, etc.

No hospital scenes. Or screaming Black family portraits. I cannot remember now but I read that Kreacher was almost left out of the movie until Rowling told them that if he were kept out they would have a problem in the last movie, Deathly Hallows.

I hope Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix is out on DVD by Christmas.

2 Comments
  1. momo permalink
    July 16, 2007 6:41 pm

    We are going to see the movie tomorrow, while we are here in Zaragoza. That means we’ll have to see a dubbed version, which I hate, but of course we’ll see it again in English when we get back to the States. My daughter has a copy of the book in English on order at a bookstore here so we can read it right away, but we’ve already talked about how we’re going to have to avoid spoilers!

  2. Kitty Glendower permalink
    July 17, 2007 8:47 am

    I am hoping my copy will arrive on my doorstep by 9:00 am Saturday. Everything went well for The Half Blood Prince. For the Order of the Phoenix I stood in line at the midnight party at the bookstore.

    I think I may watch this movie again next week.

    Sorry about the dubbed version.

Comments are closed.

