Skip to content

Going Underground For Harry

July 20, 2007
I knew when I saw the UPS truck driving by my house and not stopping that I would not be fortunate enough to get my copy of Harry Potter and the Deadly Hallows today, roughly seven hours before the official release time. I must admit I was hoping and knew that if such luck was bestowed upon me that J. K. Rowling could trust that I would not betray a single word from the pages. Alas, as I put my sack of recyclables in the bin and watched the chocolate-colored truck proceed to the next intersection with determined purpose that there would be no u-turning and doubling back.

I am not easy to excite, although last night an arousal did begin to stir as I monitored the UPS tracking. It had been noted that my precious book had in fact arrived at the station which is routinely the last stop UPS utilize before the next reference normally denotes, “out for delivery.” All sorts of elating thoughts swam around in my head. I scoffed at those fools who will be waiting in the Barnes & Noble line at midnight with pokers in their butts. Yes, I know this to be true, because I was one such person when Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix was released. Sure, there were more than a few people in costumes but the air surrounding the event was too stifled, too anxious. So many people were certain that even though they had preordered their copy, Barnes & Noble would not have anymore when it came their turn. I shared that anxiety as well. I held my raffle ticket tight. No one dared to leave the line, grab a drink from the adjacent Starbucks, or move around to enjoy the sights. To add insult to injury for some arbitrary reason the clerks were not giving every one who purchased the book a free set of made in China Harry Potter glasses so there were an added feeling of suspicious animosity in the compactly coiled queue.

For Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince I decided to forgo the midnight party and preorder for delivery to my house. As it does now, it claimed UPS delivery. When I did not get it Friday, I braced myself for a Monday delivery. To my astonishment there was a knock on the door early Saturday morning and the book was there, laying right there for my grubby hands. That is why I must conclude from the UPS tracking that now says “In Transit to Final Destination” to mean that UPS turned my book over to the post office (or a contract carrier) which will deliver it in the morning. Because come hell or high water, UPS do not work on weekends. How grand if an owl could bring it to me. The carrier should dress up like an owl. I prefer Hedwig.

Nevertheless I have been a bit preoccupied this week because I have been rereading both Order of the Phoenix and The Half-Blood Prince (just finished it about twelve hours ago) in preparation for Deathly Hallows. Harry is really going to have to pull his head out his ass. I mean really. He needs to learn to clear his mind so he can battle without shouting out the hexes and, so others can stop reading his mind.

I think the R.A.B who got to Voldemort’s horcruxes before Dumbledore and Harry is none other than Regulus Black, Sirius’s brother. If you recall in chapter six of Half-Blood Prince Lupin says, “And they’ve found Igor Karkaroof’s body in a shack up north. The Dark Mark had been set over it—well, frankly, I’m surprised he stayed alive for even a year after deserting the Death Eaters: Sirius’s brother, Regulus [Black], only managed a few days as far as I can remember.” Aha! The note Harry finds in the locket that he and Dumbledore recovered right before Dumbledore’s (R.I.P) death says, “To The Dark Lord, I know I will be dead long before you read this but I want you to know that it was I who discovered your secret. I have stolen the real Horcrux and intend to destroy it as soon as I can. I face death in the hope that when you meet your match, you will be mortal once more. [signed] R.A.B.” So instead of Harry needing to find four Horcruxes, I suspect that before Regulus deserted the Dark Lord that he found the horcruxes and destroyed them, or quite a few of them anyway. Of course I could be wrong, hence the fun of it all, the speculation.

Anyway, I do not want any spoilers. I do not typically mind spoilers but this is the only mainstream escapism that I have ever enjoyed so I will not appreciate spoilers. Therefore, after midnight, U.S.A time, I shall be underground for a few days. Perhaps some of my co-bloggers who are not Harry fans may privilege us with more posts. I hope so, I do wish one day we will have up to two posts a day here.

Update: It’s here, it’s here! Check your mailbox. Mine was crammed in a tiny compartment! No telling how early the mailperson placed it there!
6 Comments
  1. Absorbant permalink
    July 21, 2007 11:19 am

    Yes, I’m excited about this one too. There is such a buzz about this book, its being covered on the normally sensible Radio 4 hourly news, quite fascinating!

    I hope you’ll enjoy it, who gets the first read in your house?

  2. Jane permalink
    July 21, 2007 2:07 pm

    It’s early Sat. morning. Mine has been “In Transit to Final Destination” for 2 days!! Where’s my knock at the door? ARGH! (just a little frustrated–I’d hoped the Book Fairies would leave a pretty box in the middle of my door mat overnight)

  3. Kitty Glendower permalink
    July 21, 2007 9:05 pm

    Jane, mine is not here yet either!!!!! I think our mailperson is lazy (or busy), and does not come until the late afternoon.

    Absorbant, it is all mine, no one else! The little one is just through with the first and starting the second, so I do not have to worry about anyone else.

  4. Jane permalink
    July 22, 2007 5:04 pm

    Mailman arrived at 11:10am. Now 500 pages in.

  5. Chris permalink
    July 22, 2007 8:18 pm

    For the past week, I have felt like a Jewish kid at Christmas. Everyone so excited about this release, will he live or die, news shows showing people waiting in line.

    I just can’t get excited over it but feel like I’m missing out because everyone else is so keyed up about it.

    Bah, Potter.

    Have a great weekend!
    Chris
    My Blog

  6. Kitty Glendower permalink
    July 23, 2007 7:49 am

    I’m done!

    Chris, one word: H-A-T-E-R.

Comments are closed.

