Skip to content

Moving, Again

August 2, 2007

When food, shelter, and physical safety are threatened, one cannot expect to live without anxiety. We are in the process of moving. I wish it was to the other side of the country but it is not. That will not happen until the main breadwinner can procure a transfer. In the meantime, I feel like the clock is ticking and nothing substantial is happening. I had to postpone my plans because my plan cannot be stopped and started in two different locations. So unfortunately, I cannot start the plan until there is no longer a threat of being uprooted. We just moved to our current resident a year ago and now are forced to move again. It pisses me off that we were not told at the time that there were plans to tear down this complex and rebuild. No one can convince me that last July when we signed the lease that they did not know because as early as May contractors have been coming in with teams to prepare for the new construction. It is all about money. Forget that they are disrupting people’s lives, they got an additional years rent that would have been impossible if they were upfront. I am most definitely sure we would not have moved here if we knew we only had a year and a month. Since April when we found out, (incidentally not by the owners but by the school, the school called to see if the child would be returning next year since the complex would be under construction and they knew we would be forced out, then when we called the owners (a corporation) it was “oh yeah, we were going to send a letter out next Friday,” —right because legally they only have to give thirty days after the lease is up and of course we found out before it was time for a new lease) we have been looking for a place to live. First, we were looking to buy but I just cannot do it. Nothing is worth the price asked and I do not mean in terms of what the market claims but in terms of what I think is worth it. There is no way the labor, materials, and a reasonable profit would equal to what is being asked. No way. What makes it worse is when we look for houses in the area we really want to live in, we could actually have something decent for what is charged here for literally a shack, a piece of shit. UGH! Thus, we have decided to rent. I am so glad someone came to his senses because when the time comes, the transfer, I want to get the heck out of here, I do not want to be stuck trying to sell a loveless house.

Anyway, trying to find the right place to rent has been a nightmare. Condominiums and townhouses would work out if there were a yard, but it simply does not exist because a yard is something foreign to houses here much less town homes. We have to have a yard for the dog. He loses too much hair to live in the house. Then there are some people who think way too highly of their shack, as in $2500 a month. As if. Can you believe one house we looked at that we thought at first would do, we found out that the owner wants to rent month-to-month (in other words we can get thrown out at any minute when he gets a buyer) for $2300 and he expected us to be willing to open the house for potential buyers. WTF? Honestly WTF? Who in their right mind would have that kind of gall?

Which leads me to this rant. We found a house near the beach (that was not a requirement by the way, it just happens to be so) and it is the kind that shares one wall with another house. The owner’s daughter lives on the other side. The owners requested our credit reports and hinted that there would be no deal until the money was in their hands (the effrontery!) and now the daughter leaves a message that she would like to give me a phone interview, to get to know me because there is also another family interested. Credit passed, money secured, now I have to pass some interview, to compete. I hope she does not plan on dropping by every now and again. The whole process is hypocritical because this area is not known for being overly friendly. People tend to look right through others. You hear of those communities that come together when a tragedy occurs, I honestly could not imagine that happening in this county. If it did happen, my jaw would drop to the floor.

Alas, I need to go get this interview over. I want to scream and cry at the same time, most of all, I want to move, for the last time, to our final destination, but it will not be this year and I don’t like it!

*Picture, Summer bouquet, $4.99 Trader Joe’s
7 Comments
  1. Chris permalink
    August 3, 2007 3:05 am

    If I was in that situation, I would be torn.

    Part of me would want to ask, housing discrimination is illegal and I’ve passed the credit check, etc, so if you aren’t taking the first qualified renter that applied, what criteria ARE you using to select the renter?

    On the other hand, I know the praticality of if I did that, I would be the “losing bidder” for some amorphous reason.

    I don’t envy you. I HATE moving.

  2. momo permalink
    August 3, 2007 12:49 pm

    Bummer, bummer, bummer!
    I googled “patron saint of moving” and came up with this excerpt from the book Millions(that the movie was based on).
    http://www.kidsreads.com/reviews/0060733306-excerpt.asp

  3. Anna permalink
    August 3, 2007 9:46 pm

    For what it’s worth – misery loving company – I too am moving and needing to rent. I am moving hundreds of miles away and time/money would not allow for going to my new city to find a place to live so I had to find something “blind” via internet & telephone – trusting that the place I have rented will be ok when I get there with child in tow.

    See – it could be worse – maybe?

    As for the interview – how pretentious! Good luck!

  4. Kitty Glendower permalink
    August 3, 2007 10:49 pm

    Thanks for the comfort Anna. As horrible as it may sound it does feel good to know someone understands my misery. I do feel for you, the sight unseen bit. Good luck with that, seriously. Pretenious, exactly, that is what it is.

    I searched my memories and even in my youth (twenties and early thirties), I tried to stay at places as long as I could.

    I will never understand people who move at the drop of a hat.

    Thanks Momo, looks interesting.

    Tell me about it Chris. I tend to say the wrong things you know. For example, I asked her about the dunes behind our house and then I was talking about my dog. It took me a minute to realize that she was trying to discover if he could be a nuisance or not. I almost blew that one talking about how he gets bored sometimes.

  5. Professor Zero permalink
    August 4, 2007 1:02 am

    I hope you get this house!!! They only want to know, are you going to make a lot of noise along that wall…

  6. gingermiss permalink
    August 4, 2007 5:02 pm

    God, that’s an awful story, Kitty. How manipulative and dishonest. I would’ve been livid if I had found this information out the way you did.

  7. Natasha permalink
    August 5, 2007 4:26 pm

    So sorry to hear what you are going through–been there SO MANY TIMES and I have awful credit [years of indengency and being low income] and this is why we have the rate of homelessness in this nation. Imagine a single parent with three kids dealing with this…

    as for people pulling together–you are seeing the fruits of capitalism–its ugly, sheer ugly and its housing more than anything that truly reveals the ugly nature of class difference in this nation.

    Apartments and condos are meant for high density housing in less land–why the no yards and also the contributer to anti-children mentality that is growing in our society–among whites that is,

    that will also one day be this country’s downfall as more cultures that are misogynist and traditional increase in numbers–what the right wing Doesn’t get, as far as their ownership in our demise–

    the love of money. Greed–greed and capitalism has and is at the root of the lack of community and it will be sadly the destruction of us all one day–and there will be no one to blame but ourselves as a society. Also new regulations of home mortgage companies are cracking down on loans to those with poor or bad credit which will make homelessness soar–

    but–get enough homeless people and esp former middle class, you are ripe for revolution.

    And believe me–its coming in this country–it coming. The truth is Kitty you are experiencing THE major political issue in this country today–one that the politicians are keeping in the back closet and pretending to not notice,

    its the cracks and the seams that are bursting apart like cracks in the cement, eventually, the entire sidewalk gives way.

    What is even more outraging is the criminalizing of those families and kids who have no choice but to build tent cities, there can be no stability for children who have to move every year in their life not for job transfers so much–but to survive, to stay off the street.

    And we wonder why children need therapy at younger ages, and why crime increases daily. I could write a book on this issue Kitty–and I so know what you mean by not really feeling like you have a home. Its hard to even set up a home when you have that insecurity always there at the foundation, the toll it takes on womyn is harsh.

    The whole interview process is sheer ‘snobbery’, its the ‘weeding out of undesirables’ or ‘who’s not yuppie enough’…and

    housing discrimination–to those who think its non-existent–WHAT BUBBLE DO YOU LIVE IN? SERIOUSLY–its a daily occurance in this country esp against the poor and working class. When I was pregnant and working, I can’t count the number of places who said–we don’t want children.

    Try enforcing that–the law doesn’t care–unless its a class action suit they could care less–cuzz there is no money [percentage] to be made. Its really–the ‘how far can you bend over baby’ when it comes to rent, mortgage, finding a place to live. The robber land barons are one of the main power holders in this nation–and the first–who seriously need to be dealt with a harsh hand.

    Welcome to fuedalism American style people–try living in a mobile home park–we are literally serfs here–and I still am wondering when we are going to get our forty acres and a mule.

    [we not only pay over a 1,000 to live here–we have to work the land as sharecroppers–so the robber baron feudal lords can profit. And they even charge us [we pay for our homes] a pet fee–homeowners who have no property rights–this is what its come down too, but the only last bastion of affordable housing.]

    but our society Puts up with it–the whole ‘private property’ mindset–and now, people are feeling it. When HMOs have the power to dictate what type of curtains you can have in your home [Thomas Jefferson would have shit],

    you are not free–you are really–a feudal slave. I used to say and think its called for,

    America–time to dump the tea back into the harbor again baby–cuzz the monarchs are taking over once more.

    Tasha

Comments are closed.

