Skip to content

My Computer is Up and Running!

August 16, 2007
I am trying to get accustomed to my new surroundings yet am having some difficulties, some anxieties because I know I am not in a permanent situation. Knowing permanence. Living permanence. Having stability is underrated, truly it is underrated I tell you!

We now have fourteen stairs to get used to; something a middle aged-fatty is finding difficult. Each time the girl Glendower is upstairs and wants something a response is put up for negotiation. That daunting flight of steps will soon become the catalyst to implementing the school of hard knocks, “If you don’t have it before you go up (towels for showering, etc) you will thus suffer the consequences and hopefully learn for the next time, no bellowing down below for service.”

I must scream this to anyone willing to listen, I HATE FLAT PAINT! I call it chalky paint, so does the girl, but Mr. Glendower rolls his eyes and tells us, “It is flat not chalky!” I do not care what it is technically called; it reminds me of chalky tater mitts. For the love of the earth, who invented flat paint? Do you want your walls to stay perfectly clean with no marks? Paint them with flat pain, I guarantee you no one will touch them, hence, will not be able to leave a mark. I am getting the willies just talking about it. Shiver.

We did explore the dunes behind our house yesterday. Note for potential explorers, trainers with breathable holes are not ideal for exploring dunes. They fill up with a pound of sand every so many feet. I was forced to take my shoes off, empty the sand and start over a few times. I tried walking with the sand in them for a while, but the weight became a hindrance and my toe space was obstructed. It felt as if the paper that comes in new shoes were left inside. I will have to dig out my old hiking boots, really old combat boots but they are the cushy kind with a bounce not the heavy steel-toe type and I will need a walking/hiking stick. I saw one in Target a year or so ago. I do not want the dunes to be such an obstacle to the point of abandonment. I think that is what has happened by most of the people in the neighborhood. I did see one man with his dog walking the dunes but no one since. Of course, there is trash behind some houses. Everyone has a fence that separates his or her backyard from the dunes. Instead of piles of trash dumped in common areas (which would still be unacceptable), it is mostly dumped directly behind a house. Therefore, it is safe to assume that a tenant simply tossed unwanted junk over his or her back fence. That type of mentality will never cease to amaze me. Speaking of which, DIRECTV does/do (is this a plural or singular subject) not retrieve satellite dishes. Can you believe it? They advertise about how simple it is to move, etc.. This is what they do. They leave your dish at the old place, because the representative claimed on the phone but I am sure will deny it if this is read that it is easier to leave a dish and issue another one. Because supposedly if the dish is removed the holes become obvious then people expect DIRECTV to repair the holes. Talk about consumption/disposable mentality (“Don’t want it any more? Just toss it over the back fence!”). What about this, what about the person who requests DIRECTV sign an agreement stating they will not hold DIRECTV accountable for the holes drilled. Alternatively, what about DIRECTV hiring a person who does nothing but goes to houses where the dish have been removed and patches the holes. Moreover, if the customer becomes too particular about putty colors or how the work is done include in the contract that either they accept how DIRECTV patches the holes or that it is not their responsibility to patch the holes. Nevertheless, to abandon the dish and install another one is flat out over consumption, –waste.

Have you seen my coffee maker, French Press, coffee bean grinder, my bag of coffee beans, or my filters?

Anyway, I still have loads of boxes to unpack in addition to the daily grind (unpacking does not seem to halt dirty laundry from adding up or any other daily chores and if we eat fast food one more time I am going to poke my gut repeatedly with the tip of a spoon) so I will end this wailing session for now.

I do feel so good knowing that we are still getting a decent amount of visitors each day even though nothing new has been posted. I appreciate our blogging community so much. Has anything happened that I should know about in the ‘spear?

10 Comments
  1. Absorbant permalink
    August 17, 2007 2:40 pm

    Ahh, the Midden: just think of how useful it will be for the archaeologists of the future!

    My cafetière is a great comfort to me too!

    What’s a “spear”?

  2. Kitty Glendower permalink
    August 17, 2007 4:28 pm

    I was using cool emo language. ‘spear, short for blogosphere. LOL!

    still no coffee.

  3. Anna permalink
    August 18, 2007 1:35 am

    SOOOO funny, Kitty! Especially about the coffee! It took me 2 days to find the coffee maker – thought I was going to positively die!!!! As for the laundry – yes – it is no respecter of moving fatigue.

  4. momo permalink
    August 18, 2007 2:10 pm

    Welcome back! One of these days I’m going to break down and get something like DirectTV or cable or whatever, but I already spent too much time this week watching So You Think You Can Dance finales, so I’m scared to think what might happen if I had more channels to watch. I have no self-control.

    My coffee burn just looks like a faded sunburn now, but I treat my presspot with respect now. I hold the top down with a potholder while I press GENTLY but firmly. Hope you find it soon1

  5. Rent Party permalink
    August 19, 2007 5:04 am

    I have just inherited an old-fashioned drip pot. It makes good coffee except for the taste of the metal. Is that what people put eggshells in them for? Exactly what do you do with the eggshell?

  6. Kitty Glendower permalink
    August 19, 2007 6:13 am

    Why do some people put egg shell in coffee grounds?
    Submitted by Daniel on Tue, 2006-01-17 02:38.
    Adding eggshell to the grounds of coffee is said to take away some of the bitter taste that can be associated with cheap or over extracted coffee. People also use eggshell to settle the grounds of the coffee. I believe this to be a fairly rare practice now.

    http://coffeefaq.com/site/node/51

    By reading all of the answers it has something to do with neutralizing the acid content in the coffee.

    If your coffee taste/s like metal the pot probably needs cleaning. CLR is good, but be sure to rinse it several times after you run CLR through the pot. Or try one part vingear the other parts water. Again rinse it a few times afterwards. It takes a few hours if done properly because the maker needs to be cooled off before rinsing. I did it today. I ran vinegar through twice, then rinsed four times. I think I will make a “weak” pot of coffee first to catch any vingear flavor first, then make a “real” pot.

    Rent party you have not accepted our invitation yet? If you did, your name would be listed among the contributers. What’s up with that?

  7. Kitty Glendower permalink
    August 19, 2007 6:15 am

    Momo Directv is not all that, even though I will admit it is better than cable. Mr. Glendower needs it the most, and the little one enjoys having two Disney Channels. I use it mostly to make fun of t.v. It is ripe for that use. Don’t get me started on Dog the Bounty Hunter. Puke.

    Anna and Guy, the coffee bar is now up and running! I’m taking orders.

  8. Rent Party permalink
    August 19, 2007 5:25 pm

    I accept, I accept! I am just behind on mail, working on that coffee pot. THANK YOU for these tips! Secretly, I left that coffee comment just to show that I was alive, although I did indeed think you would know the answer to my question and I am going to follow all directions.

    Other topic: I fantasize about direct tv because you can get a package with all of these channels from foreign countries. Apparently it costs $50, total, not $50 extra.
    I do not have cable or anything. I am very tempted but then cannot decide: $50 a month sounds OK but that is $600 a year, which is a plane ticket. HMMMMM.

  9. Rent Party permalink
    August 21, 2007 7:22 pm

    Re that invitation: I didn’t get it, did it go to my address epahey@gmail.com? There’s a post on there written with this blog in mind, see what you think.

  10. Kitty Glendower permalink
    August 21, 2007 8:10 pm

    I have been clicking over there throughout the day but unable to give any my undivided attention. I will soon. I hope. I hope to be together soon. I will resend the invite. I saw the entry but did not understand if you were going to write there and cross post here, or post here. I do hope you post the longer entries here, but of course it is your party.

    My only thought right now is “you so crazy rent party, I want to have your baby.” LOL! Soon. I’ve been trying to write down what I am going through but I have been too busy even for that!

Comments are closed.

