Skip to content

Excuse Note

August 29, 2007
I cannot seem to write an entry explaining where I have been. Actually, I am not sure if I need or want to explain where I have been. Not implying there has been anything significant about where I have been or that I have been anyway in particular, just saying. Besides, I am angry for some reason or perhaps frustrated or maybe disappointed or just overall disgruntled about nothing really but something not yet discovered.

We finally broke down and bought a package of spoon shelf support 3/16” brass plated, because only the cosmos knows what the movers did with the ones that belonged to my two bookcases. Without the shelves how am I to remove my books from off the floor? Riddle me this, wouldn’t it make sense to either hand the supports to one of the occupants or wrapped them in paper and tape them to the back of the respective bookcase.

A big thanks to Rent Party for keeping this place somewhat alive. The first of the month is just around the corner! You know what that means!

3 Comments
  1. momo permalink
    August 29, 2007 2:51 pm

    Well, while you were occupied with moving in, my daughter, my nephew and I held down the fort by watching Sense and Sensibility (Ang Lee version) and talking about why Jane Austen was a great novelist, economics and marriage, and Alan Rickman.

  2. Kitty Glendower permalink
    August 29, 2007 4:31 pm

    Alan Rickman is so hot! I read somewhere that he is the only actor that J.K.Rowling talked to about the Harry Potter plot before the plot was made public. I think it was because she wanted to convince him to stay on as Professor Snape. I cannot wait to see him in Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows, even though technically he is not confirmed for Harry Potter and The Half-Blood Prince yet. But he must, he is the half-blood prince! In Sense and Sensibility, I wanted Colonel Brandon to fall in love and marry Eleanor. I guess him and Marianne are supposedly equals because they both suffer the loss of a great first love. Alan Rickman was hot as Colonel Brandon. LOL! Oh but what a jerk he was in Love Actually. Why ol why did he have to cheat on his wife?

    I know a lot of feminists do not like Jane Austen but I love her writing. Elizabeth Gaskell is a close second (different period though).

    I think it is so cute when children know all the characters and authors. I drill my daughter on Eliza Bennett to Mr. Guppy.

    “economics and marriage” Great topic. I point it out and discuss the situation with my daughter too while watching the movies. Well at least as much as she is willing to listen.

  3. gingermiss permalink
    September 1, 2007 2:36 am

    I know a lot of feminists do not like Jane Austen but I love her writing.

    Some people are far too dismissive of her. It seems this is for a variety of reasons. Some people want to reject her because she’s popular. Some focus on the digressive elements of her writing (constant talk of marriage, a husband being an answer to life’s problems) without focusing on what was progressive about her writing. Some attack her for being formulaic and repetitive.

    Alan Rickman is smoking hot in most films, particularly in Sense and Sensibility.

Comments are closed.

