Skip to content

High School Musical 2 Is Poison

September 9, 2007
My thought process involving popular culture and social criticism always seem to develop before or after (I not sure which one and am uncomfortable assigning my own position because both have denotations that I am not prepared to own without exploring in-depth) what seems to read as the current collective topic at hand in the blog world. For instance, the whole High School Musical 2 discussion. I spent so much time thinking of the dysfunction of Disney and their evil empire-ish ways and how there are cultural consequences for such lunacy in my own head when the show was hyped all summer that I am now too bored to write about it even though it seems to be a topic on many blogs. Perhaps I could add some thoughts about how virginal but ripe for pregnancy Gabriella (Vanessa Hudgens) is made to look like and Disney’s motives behind that and how she has been relegated from brainy and talented female student with independent potential to a sniveling love sick puppy who does not decide she “must go her own way” until after being completely ignored by her supposed boyfriend. Also, how I think Zac Efron is gay (and Disney is not above sacrificing Hudgens to keep this a secret) and how Corbin Bleu has already changed, actually he and Efron are already acting as if they believe the smoke that has been blown up their asses (The new Big head brigade, —the next great fabricated patriarchs). Moreover, even though Sharpay Evans (Ashley Tisdale) is supposedly the superficial rich facsimile of Paris Hilton, she is likeable, if not down right adorable and by default an inspiring role model for little tweens everywhere. Works for Disney, it keeps the gravy train fueled. “I-WANT-MORE!” Did she really sing that she wanted lifeguards imported from Spain? Lifeguards as in human lifeguards? By the way, remember the Caddyshack days when the staff was clearly distinguishable from the rich guests. You know that scrubbed tan, manicured, pedicured and wallowing in money look versus the poor, not enough sleep I need this job for gas, a car, college, bags under the eyes and tired look. No such beast anymore. Apparently rich or poor, everyone is able to afford all the amenities that make one look like a billion bucks. Which one of the kids looked poor? Oh, do not give me that sanctimonious claptrap about what does poor look like either.

If you have ever watched the Disney Channel you will realize after a few commercial breaks that there are absolutely no, NO commercials for any products or services other than Disney. Disney is the product and the sponsor and the sponsored product. Isn’t that the creepiest thing imaginable for children’s television? Somewhat sinisterly brilliant in a nefariously toxic waste dump capitalistic stratum. It is Disney trumping Joe Camel. Oh and if I encounter one more show with the absent mother I am going to hurt somebody. Okay, I-Carly is Nick not Disney, but hello, where are the mothers? Mothers seem to die or stay absent in Y-7 and G sitcoms at disproportionate rates compared to reality.

I wanted to talk about middle-class people feeling as if they are poor because they cannot afford their desires but I was sidetracked. Oh well.

9 Comments
  1. Leila permalink
    September 9, 2007 1:09 pm

    No comments allowed on the blogosphere comments post?

    Just dropped by to say that I saw you post on Echidne (which I don’t read all that often) and came by here to read more. This is a group blog, is it not?

    Anyway, I am enjoying your posts, Kitty, and will drop by again. Take care and be well.

  2. Chris permalink
    September 9, 2007 1:13 pm

    Yea! You turned comments back on for everyone! I was kind of bummed when you had them set for members only.

    I KNEW there was a reason that I hated HSM2….I mean other than the fact that I had to watch it three times, it is a big pile of cheeseball writing, and is painful to endure.

  3. Leila permalink
    September 9, 2007 1:25 pm

    Oh and on the Disney thing – fuck Disney. I’m an Arab-American and I just cannot stand their racist anti-Arab (and everybody else too) drivel.

    We solve the Disney problem by not having cable. Imagine that! We don’t have cable. And we don’t rent Disney videos if I can help it. (no Dish either – nothing but what the antenna picks up)

    Of course they’re going to change to High Def. broadcast next year and we’ll either have to buy a box that’s worth more than our little TV, or buy a new tv. Or maybe we’ll say to the kids, who are still little enough to believe us: The TV doesn’t work anymore, sorry!

  4. Rent Party permalink
    September 9, 2007 4:36 pm

    Yes – it is due to money and leisure that princesses are always beautiful.

  5. Kitty Glendower permalink
    September 9, 2007 5:21 pm

    leila,I decided against comments on that entry because I am not interested in a fight or a pretend discussion really, because I said what I had to say. In my opinion, a pretend discussion would be a justification attempt. I don’t go back and spy, I just leave it alone, I trust my instincts. In addition, I doubt if the cool kids want to discuss it anyway. A few months ago, I left about four or five comments and I was completely ignored. Then recently I tried to give it another go and again I was not only ignored but ridiculed by someone else (or possibly the author, who knows really since it was a “new” name) for something stupid, inconsequential. What is the incentive to leaving a benign yet participating comment when one is ignored and ridiculed? Besides the entry was not about just one blog but a few put together so the small rant would not make complete sense if viewed as a rant provoked by one blog only.

    As far as this being a group blog, it is up to the entry’s author how the comments move along on their entry, for example, if he or she wants to make comments open or if he or she wants to respond to comments left. We all have our ups and downs, and in the last few days I had some downs in this world. Maybe it is going around. I read an entry yesterday from a blog who cannot understand why she is not linked by what she considers her ilk. I know how that feels too. It does make one wonder why they are not accepted in a particular community when they comment and participate mostly in that community. For the community I claim, accept, I think it is because I don’t quote the works of particular people or know the code that is learned by knowing and quoting those works. Oh well. Thanks for reading.

  6. Kitty Glendower permalink
    September 9, 2007 5:30 pm

    I was kind of bummed when you had them set for members only.

    Chris I did not have computer access and at that time feminists were under attack by a certain group, and when I say under attack it was far beyound the usual tactics.

    As far as HSM2, oh man did I have to bite my tongue in order to get through it so I could actually think about it clearly.

    leila I have been thinking about getting rid of Directv for sometime. But I must really think hard. I do well with the child, but with Mr. Glendower, I don’t know. I am not sure I want to hear what he has to say. He needs it. Yeah, like we need a hole in our heads. We are getting back on a regular reading schedule starting tomorrow. LOL!

    rent party, for real. You should see how the staff look in this movie.

  7. Don permalink
    September 9, 2007 6:37 pm

    Sometimes The Blogosphere Sucks has to be one of the funniest blog post I’ve ever read. So sad yet so true. The way you placed your thoughts into words is priceless.

  8. gingermiss permalink
    September 13, 2007 3:41 am

    A few months ago, I left about four or five comments and I was completely ignored.

    I don’t post over there very often because I’ve had similar experiences. It’s obnoxious and discourages me from reading her blog.

    I haven’t watched High School Musical and I probably won’t, but I enjoyed reading your assessment of it. What happened to Vanessa Hudgens really pissed me off. She should never have had to apologize for those photos.

  9. Kitty Glendower permalink
    September 13, 2007 4:52 pm

    No she should not have had to apologize. I am so suspicious of that whole thing. Is Efron a jealous gay guy who thought it was funny, cute, to release the photo? Does he feel like he is competing with her? Did Disney do it all because she was getting more attention than him? I just don’t trust any of it.

Comments are closed.

