Skip to content

Yoga, A Christian No No?

September 11, 2007
About six years ago, I was thinking about taking a Yoga class. My Christian friend warned me against it, she said I would be opening myself up for demons to get inside of me. I have not formally taken a Yoga class. Instead, I bought a fourteen-dollar DVD that was a total waste of my money. I had no clue what I was doing and could not get into the positions and supposedly, it was for beginners. It brought me three dollars at the last garage sale. This afternoon I was clicking through the television channels while I was waiting for a return telephone call when I saw a CNN headline; Yoga, Christians Say It’s Dangerous for Faith. Then there was a following line that kept popping up stating, 77% of Yoga participates are women. So what happened next? Three men got together and discussed Yoga: Dr. John Macarthur from Grace Community Church, Pastor Doug Pagitt from Solomon’s Porch and the pseudo-journalist (I cannot remember his name and it became not worth it too taxing as I combed through the CNN Bios looking for him. He is the dark haired, hair combed back, big nose one who exaggerates his pantomime especially during subjects ripe with disgust, he sort of has a stereotypical wise guy (made man) throwback from the 70’s look).

Just as I was rolling my eyes, a Purina Cat Chow commercial aired. When it was through my daughter asked why were there only women shown with cats and not any men. Don’t men have cats? There is even a picture of a woman on the cat food bag. I guess Christian women can replace their Yoga slots with nurturing cat time until a good man comes around.

Anyway, while looking for the exact Purina Cat Chow commercial I found this old sexist, macho cat commercial instead.

6 Comments
  1. Rent Party permalink
    September 12, 2007 5:42 am

    I like this post, the way it progresses.

  2. Pippa permalink
    September 12, 2007 11:38 am

    hee! yes, i was told the same thing about Yoga. And girl guides, and tai chi, and meditation, and reading non-christian books, and listening to music with any kind of drum beat…I could go on and on. I lived that kind of fundamentalist Christian life all through my teens. Those people were the most unkind, fierce, mean spirited and self-involved people I have ever met. I left. And I now do yoga. It gives me peace.
    It will take a long time to rid myself of the demons that I acquired during my time in Church. But I’m trying!

  3. Absorbant permalink
    September 13, 2007 12:48 am

    How dangerously you flirt with dangerous meditation!

    My wierd relatives pray for us.

    Kundalini Rice could do better for a bit of a challenge, scary stuff.

  4. Kitty Glendower permalink
    September 13, 2007 1:26 am

    The thing is Pippa, I do not understand how one can introduce a demon into their body if that demon is from a religion that the yoga person neither believes in nor practices. I would have to be actively calling or inviting the demons in order to allow them entrance.

    Glad you liked it Rent Party.

    Yes, Absorbant, my middle name is Danger.

  5. gingermiss permalink
    September 13, 2007 3:28 am

    Wow, even Yoga is unChristian now? How about general exercise? Does that open you to Satan’s advances?

    Gotta wonder how they thought that commercial was going to appeal to people. “God, I don’t want my male cat to lose their girlfriend – I’d better buy them that food!”

  6. Kitty Glendower permalink
    September 13, 2007 4:42 am

    When my sweet little daughter saw this commercial the first thing she said was that it was just like Popeye. LOL!

    Yeah. So would this mean the girl cat should not eat as much?

Comments are closed.

