Skip to content

"Eat Your Fruits And Vegetables!"

September 13, 2007
Have you eaten your recommended amount of fruits and vegetables today? I have.

“Eat your fruits and vegetables” is one of the tried and true recommendations for a healthy diet. And for good reason. Eating plenty of fruits and vegetables can help you ward off heart disease and stroke, control blood pressure and cholesterol, prevent some types of cancer, avoid a painful intestinal ailment called diverticulitis, and guard against cataract and macular degeneration, two common causes of vision loss.

When my friend Della was here a few weeks ago, she did not eat one vegetable, her excuses were endless and unfathomable. She is morbidly obese and has been for a very long time. I will write a story about her visit one day, when I can create a prose that is not loaded with judgment and scorn. Since she has left, I have had to retreat to a place inside of me to work out her visit. It was painful in so many ways, particularly how she lives a life of extreme cognitive dissonance yet openly judges and demands. Which would be okay and her life but she is an extrovert, an outrageous extrovert and crossed unimaginable boundaries including daring to insult what I eat and how I look compared to ten years ago. Nevertheless, we are supposedly committed to eating right and will check each other’s progress in December (that is if I am ready to speak to her by then).

Regardless of whatever else I eat daily, I will eat my fruits and vegetables. I plan to post a picture daily. Of course, I never do what I claim I am going to do, but I hope if I claim I am going to do something often enough that eventually I may actually carry it through.

*A little tip you may know already. If you do not compost the orange peels, running a few through the garbage disposal makes for a good smell.

9 Comments
  1. Anna permalink
    September 13, 2007 1:25 am

    So sorry, Kitty. Sounds like an awkward visit. Best of luck with this friendship.

    As for hoping that if you say something often enough you will do it – I’m skeptical. Not because I don’t trust you, but because I have been trying the same hopeful logic on myself for years – WITH NO SUCCESS!!

    (sigh)

  2. Kitty Glendower permalink
    September 13, 2007 1:28 am

    LMAO!

    I know, it sort of falls into to that line “how’s that method been working out?”

  3. kiita permalink
    September 13, 2007 2:52 am

    I think it’s a good idea to try this. I also think it’s good to declare the intention to try it. Even if you don’t end up posting a picture everyday, you’ll look at your food in a different way. Something like, is that plate bloggable? It’s better to focus on this than how to keep on with difficult friends. Good luck.

  4. Rent Party permalink
    September 13, 2007 3:16 am

    O good, partners in health. Bloggable plate, good idea too. I used to have them always, but now I have gotten lazy. Having them is nice.

    I eat many fruits and vegetables and excellent genes but chronically need more sleep and exercise. I’ll commit.

    And yes – difficult friends – I never know what to do about them – and the difficult ones get moreso as they age. And yet I have connections with them and things I enjoy about them. Sigh.

  5. gingermiss permalink
    September 13, 2007 3:22 am

    I don’t eat enough fruits or vegetables, and ever since I’ve found the cheaper places to buy them I know the only reason I don’t do it is because of my own laziness. It’s pretty awful. I think I’m going to go eat a banana because of your post, Kitty! 🙂

  6. gingermiss permalink
    September 13, 2007 3:24 am

    Your friend sounds atrociously unbearable, by the way, and you’re a more patient woman than I in this regard.

  7. September 13, 2007 3:54 pm

    I too don’t eat enough fruits and vegetables, as much as I love them.

    /…the writer looks sheepishly over at the bag full of chocolate covered almonds that she has been munching on all morning and lets out a self-disgusted sigh…./

    Like gingermiss, I’m going downstairs now to get a banana.

  8. September 14, 2007 3:23 am

    ack! Well, I guess this fudgesicle will have to do. They’re fat free, you know.

    /…another self-disgusted sigh…/

Comments are closed.

