Skip to content

Why Some People Can’t Lose Weight

October 18, 2007
Okay, some people are weasel words, I really mean me. LOL! The male Glendower does all the grocery shopping because a) he doesn’t want anyone (me) in his pocket, even though he claims it is because I would starve us all if I did the shopping, (b) he is an insane control freak and workaholic and uses the grocery store as his social hour, honestly, people in grocery stores know his name, it’s pathetic really, (c) I would mostly buy fruits and vegetables, and (d) he refuses to admit he needs to lose some weight, all of us around here could stand to take off a few pounds. I was elated yesterday when finally, FINALLY, he met a doctor who told him he needed to lose some weight. Ha ha ha ha ha HA! Nevertheless, he will not do anything about it, I know he will not, not after ten years eating as if he is celebrating something. As I watch television shows and think of our household I am left to wonder why is it that the woman is the health guardian. I know for a fact if I did not put the brakes on our daughter’s sweet and fat intake she would surely have diabetes. One of his and her favorite pastimes is to hug up somewhere, watching television while eating junk, junk, junk. Honestly. Just now, I went around the kitchen randomly and snapped some pictures. Yet, I’m told, “Just don’t eat it.”
Translation = “Don’t eat it and then let me brow beat you when we have to throw it away because we are wasting money.” and “It is your job to make sure the child does not become overweight, it is my job to have all the fun.” UGH! In case you cannot guess what is in the above bag, I opened it for you!

10 Comments
  1. pussreboots permalink
    October 18, 2007 10:54 pm

    I don’t know why you put up with his controlling attitude.

  2. Kitty Glendower permalink
    October 18, 2007 11:38 pm

    I don’t know either. And to make myself feel better when he gets home from work I am going to tie him up and make him eat those coconut cookies down at the bottom. Plus, I am going to steal the money that he made and buy what I want with it, while I save my money for myself. That will get his little red controlling wagon.

  3. momo permalink
    October 19, 2007 3:50 am

    If it’s in my house, I have to eat it, so I try not to buy it. But that chocolate keeps sneaking in somehow.

    I was trying to get my daughter to eat something for dinner before we both went out, and I started pulling things out of the fridge. After four or five items, she said, “those are all vegetables,” as if to say, “that’s not REAL food.”

  4. Kitty Glendower permalink
    October 19, 2007 4:52 am

    … as if to say, “that’s not REAL food.”

    That gets to the heart of it. My daughter thinks eating some carrots, or a few bites of some other vegetable is doing me a favor. The husband is worse. I cannot be anymore delicate about it, he is horrible. That is why I had to ha ha ha ha ha at what his doctor told him. LOL!

    I read in school a cultural anthropologist who claims the American diet is down to cheese, tomatoes, and bread.

  5. Heart permalink
    October 20, 2007 4:07 am

    HA!

    I think some men view grocery stores as their community or something, especially big ones with lots of samples. My older kids used to be mortified by the way my their dad (my second ex) would make the rounds of the samples at the local Albertsons and talk at length with the people behind the counter, while cleaning the sample plate!

  6. redsneakz permalink
    October 20, 2007 2:41 pm

    Between me and my ex, I’m actually the food-control freak, especially with kids’ foods. No sugared cereals, no sugary snacks (except for tofu ice cream for shabbos dinners), very little in the way of pretzels or crackers..

    And I’m still 15 pounds overweight.

  7. Kitty Glendower permalink
    October 20, 2007 3:02 pm

    Chuck would you say you handle money, stretch money better than she can? Because I am beginning to believe what one buys from the grocery store is a correlation of other things.

    Heart He’s not too big on the sample plates, but when he does sample and like it somewhat he buys it. UGH! It just makes me really something, not angry, not disappointed, but aggravated.

  8. momo permalink
    October 20, 2007 3:54 pm

    Kitty, the funny thing is that she actually likes vegetables and eats them without complaining most of the time. But she is conflicted because she thinks she should be a vegetarian, for ethical reasons, but she really REALLY likes meat, fish, bacon, you name it! I’m willing to cook vegetarian food for her, but it has to be healthy and balanced, and she still does like food that “touches” too much.
    She ended up eating a bowl of cheerios. Whatever.

  9. Heart permalink
    October 20, 2007 4:02 pm

    Momo, I always like seeing your screen name. My oldest son got the nickname “Momo” somehow, I do not know, when he was tiny, and we still call him “Mo,” and he is 35! I’ve never seen “Momo” as a name or even screen name until I saw yours, although there is a children’s book with “Momo” in the title, I know. Anyway, warm fuzzies when I see your screen name. 🙂

    Kitty, in my house that stuff you have in the photos up there would not last long enough to need a twist tie! Even though most of my kids are adults and on their own, the first thing they do when they come to my house is go straight for the cupboards, refrigerators!

    Heart

  10. Chris permalink
    October 20, 2007 11:21 pm

    I literally never see my money. I hand my check over to Alexis and never see it after that and I thank her for that. I deal with budgets, money all day at work and I am so thankful she protects me from it at home.

    I do get to do the grocery shopping but that is only because I like to buy fresh veggies/meat for dinner and what I make depends on what looks good that day. She gets all the staples though.

Comments are closed.

