Skip to content

Business as Usual

October 23, 2007
While the sky rained ashes, I went to a dental appointment. Shocking I know, but I have a small cavity. It has been at least twenty-five years since my last cavity. Luckily, I had a box of Dots in the glove box to soothe my nerves when I left the dental office. The dentist wanted to schedule the work tomorrow. I told him no way, that I needed at least a week to prepare myself.

It seems strange to move around and about as if there is no fire, as if destroying nature is of no significance. A recording was left by the school, “there will be school.” The thought of moving about as if nothing is happening sickens me, but there it is, business as usual. The wheels must turn.

5 Comments
  1. momo permalink
    October 23, 2007 1:53 pm

    It must be scary. I’m from California originally, and I remember vividly when the Oakland hills burned. I hope you and your home are safe!

  2. Don permalink
    October 23, 2007 5:20 pm

    Yeah, I feel for you Kitty. I was watching on TV last night about the fires. You and Poca both need to stay safe.

  3. Verging Writer permalink
    October 23, 2007 7:08 pm

    Be safe, Kitty. Will be thinking about you.

    Anna

  4. CountryDew permalink
    October 24, 2007 11:15 am

    Be careful breathing in the ash. It is difficult to go on with life while everything else falls apart around you, but I’m not sure what else to do. Life does go on, even if it feels as if it shouldn’t.

  5. archcrone permalink
    October 25, 2007 11:12 pm

    Kitty stay safe.

Comments are closed.

