Skip to content

What is Funny About “Grandma Got Run Over By A Reindeer”?

December 14, 2007
I don’t think it is funny. If you think it is funny or the song cute or the tune catchy, try replacing grandma with grandpa and see if it is still funny. Poor grandpa, all alone on Christmas Eve eating beans out of a can, homeless because he could no longer bear the excessive nagging and griping that grandma threw his way, abandoned by his adult children who have grown too busy to visit, or lives as an angry and bitter old man just waiting for some boy to come into to his life and show him what it feels like to live again (I think this happened in Home Alone, then they tried to be “fair” by the third one and reach out to the old lady. I don’t recall the storyline in the second one). Oh no, if grandpa got run over by a reindeer it would most certainly not be funny. However, old grandma, granny, the old battleaxe, the hag, the blue haired meanie is open game.How droll.

4 Comments
  1. CountryDew permalink
    December 15, 2007 2:19 pm

    We don’t have any female Christmas heroes, do we? Good point.

  2. Chris permalink
    December 17, 2007 1:33 am

    I’m sorry, I think grandpa getting run over by a reindeer is even funnier, especially if he was of the Ebeneezer Scrooge ilk. I can just picture the old man, shuffling down the snow bound sidewalks complaining about “these kids and their loud sleigh stereo’s these days and how back in my day, we had respect for our elders and I’ll tell you another thing” –WHAM! jing jing jing jing jing (that’s sleighbells ringing)

  3. Verging Writer permalink
    December 17, 2007 2:58 am

    laughing too hard to comment . . .

  4. Kitty Glendower permalink
    December 18, 2007 5:15 am

    No, Countrydew unless we count that delicate little missy (Ms. Claus)in Santa Claus is coming to town. Mr. Glendower said when he was little he had the hots for her.

    HA! brotherkomrade, I knew your ass could not stay away. Keep coming back, I will be forced to charge admission.

    Chris, I think everyone would feel sorry for Grandpa. Speaking of Scrooge, we so a good production of the Christmas Carol Saturday.

    Vergingwriter, I’m glad to be of service. I just wish I can make all topics completely funny, such as the previous one here.

Comments are closed.

