Skip to content

Should Bleach Purchases Be Registered?

January 6, 2008
Or will that be a violation of someone’s rights. I’m beginning to wonder. Perhaps we should resort back to using lemons to whiten clothes. If a twenty four year old man buys bleach from Walmart should one assume he is going to do his whites or clean up a raw chicken leakage? What is the probability of that happening?

From Buzzle.com

“It’s not uncommon for rapists now to bring bleach with them and effectively sanitize the crime scene,” said Joshua Marquis, an Oregon prosecutor.

Walmart has spray paint on lock down, perhaps Clorox should be next. A post at WAOD got me thinking about bleach. There seems to be something symbolic about the use of bleach. Bleach whitens clothes. Bleach burns. Bleach is a man made product. Bleach is poisonous to the well being of the environment. Do we really need bleach?
4 Comments
  1. gingermiss permalink
    January 6, 2008 10:17 pm

    Despite the advantages to such a plan, I am not for it. I detest the new trend of the government directly tracking my purchases. When I buy “over-the-counter” cold medicine in the U.S., I hate that I have to provide my photo i.d., name and address.

    If a law were passed that regulated the distribution of bleach, I feel like rapists would just find another way to get it where they didn’t have to provide their name or information. Would the hassle to get it be enough of a deterrent to keep a rapist from committing the crime? Or to keep them from sanitizing the crime scene after? I doubt it.

    Under most circumstances, I believe someone with the forethought to bring bleach to a crime scene is going to find a way around the purchase tracking systems that would be put in place.

  2. Kitty Glendower permalink
    January 7, 2008 12:48 am

    I wasn’t thinking in terms of deterrent, but in tracking. But of course there are always ways around something. If anything the little bastards would resort to using something even more deadly to people and the environment.

    Blame the cough syrup on the “Screw” crowd. Well for my experience anyway. About eight years old I knew a large and loose group of people dedicated to listening and promoting Screw music (it is horrible music to say the least), who promoted that one needed to be drinking syrup in order to truly appreciate Screw.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chopped_and_screwed

  3. Verging Writer permalink
    January 8, 2008 2:48 am

    UMMM – is it me? or is it annoyingly ironic that rapists want to “sanitize” their rape scenes?

  4. Kitty Glendower permalink
    January 8, 2008 2:59 am

    I know, there is something going on there for sure. I started to compile a list of links where I saw the use of bleach and I became too depressed and hoped that people would just believe me when I say, it has been a lot of links. Just like that 61 year old in Georgia. When they found him, he had just bought some cleanser and some bleach and was trying to clean out his van.

Comments are closed.

