Skip to content

Golf, Hell-bent On Staying Racist

January 18, 2008
Kelly Tilghman is an example of what happens to white women who think white men will accept them in their white male dominated world. She is an example of embracing white supremacy in order to surpass sexist barriers. In the lily-white world of golf, Tiger Woods is the Other. Regardless of what he thinks or calls himself, the white men (and women) of golf evidently see him as the Other. Traditionally, golf has been considered a rich white man’s sport and is proven so when the numbers are counted, divided and labeled.
When something is called a slip up, there is an implication that a malicious thought is being damned up, like a concrete slab holding back raging water. When and if that slab breaks, the water will rush through. If there was no malicious thought bottled up, there could be no slip up.

Interestingly, Tilghman went to Duke. How telling is that? If Tilghman is dumb enough not to know what lynching means in America (what did she study at Duke?), then I suspect she is repeating what she hears from her white male golf colleagues or what was/is the norm in Duke locker rooms. However, I don’t think she is that innocent. I think that she forgot where she was, —comfort will do that to people. She and the boys can talk that talk when they are in their little elitist golf circle and feel safe, but, unlike the boys, she lacks the practice of suppressing those thoughts when people outside of their little circle are watching, thus her slip up.

Over at William Wolfrum’s blog he notes Golfweek’s disinterest in highlighting an actual problem in America and instead utilising this incident as a clever play on words to sell magazines.

I agree and I will take it a step further. Golfweek is not only playing on words but they are appropriating the trauma of lynching by suggesting that they (the golfing community) are the actual lynched (or in the process of being lynched) victim here. Read the line on the cover: Golfweek. Caught in a noose. Tilghman slips up and Golf Channel can’t wiggle free. Who are they saying needs to wiggle free? The Golf Channel! Ain’t that just grand. They become the abuser and victim all in one swipe (a hole in one!).

8 Comments
  1. Rent Party permalink
    January 18, 2008 9:17 pm

    This is slightly paranoid but there’s a chance she’s related to me. If it’s true, then I know the history of that branch of the family tree and it is unlikely the comment wasn’t malicious. But as I say, this is pure conjecture.

  2. Verging Writer permalink
    January 18, 2008 9:30 pm

    OK – sometimes I’m slow – what exactly did she say?

  3. Kitty Glendower permalink
    January 18, 2008 11:13 pm

    Verging Writer,

    “In response to co-anchor Nick Faldo’s joke that younger players should “gang up” on Woods, Tilghman replied “Lynch him in a back alley”. Tilghman was laughing during the exchange with Faldo at the Mercedes-Benz Championship, and Woods’ agent at IMG was quoted as saying he didn’t think there was any ill intent. But the event continued to be covered by the cable news channels, and civil rights activist Al Sharpton demanded she be fired immediately. She apologized two days later for her remarks during the final-round broadcast.”

  4. Kitty Glendower permalink
    January 18, 2008 11:20 pm

    Rent Party, at first I read your comment wrong and I fell into the whole intentional not intentional trap. I haven’t kept up with those arguments so I don’t know how people normally work their way out of them. Nevertheless, I think you are saying there is a probability it was malicious. If so, I’m glad I understand. (I’m hungry right now and the chicken is taking too long to cook!)

    Now about Tilghman personally, I think it could have died down and could have learned her lesson but this magazine ramped it up and now it is far bigger than Tilghman. It is revealing their nasty little world for sure. I do think she was either repeating what men around her were saying (the way a teenager thinks it is cool to mimic) or she has those thoughts on her own. Either way, now the golfing world has shown their ass by declaring that the golfing channel is the victim. Good grief. A public censuring is now equivalent to a lynching. That is what disgusts me.

  5. Verging Writer permalink
    January 18, 2008 11:40 pm

    Yikes -what a thing to say.

  6. Rent Party permalink
    January 19, 2008 6:05 am

    Yes.

  7. Chris permalink
    January 21, 2008 9:53 pm

    Not that what she said was defendable, but I do think what the magazine did was worse than what she said.

    What she said was bad. It reveals much about her beliefs. I agree with all of that. But it was an off the cuff remark, meaning it wasn’t planned.

    The magazine on the other hand made a calculated, though out decision to try to sell (magazine) issues without addressing the real (social) issues.

    I don’t know…I guess I am just so tired of all of the apologies that qualify themselves with, “I don’t really hate/feel that way about blacks/jews/women/homosexuals/whatever” You know…you probably do. You know the old saying about trouble doesn’t build character, it reveals it? I think that’s the same with these ‘slip ups’. They didn’t say something they didn’t feel. They said something that they feel but didn’t want to say outloud.

  8. Kitty Glendower permalink
    January 21, 2008 10:05 pm

    Yes, the magazine took it to another level. I heard an editor has been fired. The magazine should had let it go.

Comments are closed.

