Skip to content

Finally Learning What An Ipod Is All About.

January 22, 2008
Brought to you by Flash, a.k.a. Kitty Glendower

About six or seven years ago, someone told me I was agenda driven and, I could not function outside of an agenda. At the time, I think it was said as an insult, a reason to dismiss whatever I was saying in the conversation. Insult or not, it did not hurt or bother me but I did make an effort to index the remark for later reflection.

I was given an Ipod some time ago (don’t go calling me bourgeoisified, it was a present) and when I first read the instructions I could not comprehend a word. Out of frustration, I chucked it to the side and the months went by. My oldest daughter demanded that I send it to her if I was going to act stupid about it.

Along with the Ipod, I received a fifty-dollar itunes cards. One would think that means I can order fifty dollars worth of songs from Apple’s Istore. However when I decided to tackle my ignorance and get the Ipod going, I could not redeem my gift card until I set up an account. I could not set up an account without giving credit card information. I was furious. Why should I have to give credit card information if I have a fifty-dollar gift card? So there the Ipod sat collecting dust, coveted by all others and rejected by its owner.

Mr. Glendower was going through our CDs, a collection mostly accumulated before we were enslaved united. Of course, there have been some CDs added since but not that many. The bulk of the CDs take three of these large things, —not boxes, not briefcases, but this square, zippered black nylon covered with tote strap container kind of thing. Each holds maybe one hundred or one hundred and fifty CDs. It is a major chore to get a CD, so what usually happens is, no one listens to CDs. Anyway, as he was going through the CDs he started talking about my Ipod. I wanted to know what my Ipod had to do with anything. It is not as if he has tried to help me figure it out. Then he started rambling on about people who have told him that they have put their entire CD collections on an Ipod, or similar devices. My ears perked up. I wanted to know what this foreign subject he was speaking about was, this downsizing opportunity, this precious ability to create free space. He said he had heard that people have gotten rid of every CD in their house. Ah. But what if they were to have a party, company, friends over and wanted to listen to music, then what? Will everyone have to share the small earphones on the Ipod? No, he says, you can hook the Ipod up to the stereo some how and voila.

Driven in a trance, I grabbed a few CDs, dug out my Ipod, went to the computer and plugged it in. It was as if a veil had been lifted. For the first time I could see and understand the commands. A pop up asked “Do you want to Import this CD?” and I answered yes. Like magic it was working. There is even a command that asks if I want to eject the CD. In addition, there are no extra steps required for other benefits, such as when I put a CD on my Ipod it puts the music on the computer at the same time, therefore allowing me to listen to it on the computer without a CD inserted. All categorising is done for you, by genre, artist, album, composer, song, etc. Although I must scoff at Lisa Stansfield listed as Pop and Lionel Richie as Rock. Interestingly, I was going through the list of composers and saw Joni Mitchell’s name. I had not downloaded or imported any Joni Mitchell albums. However, when I clicked on her name it led me to Minnie Riperton (who I had imported). Apparently, Mitchell composed Riperton’s song Woman of Heart and Mind (a long time ago! and my Ipod knows this!). The ipod can successfully read CDs that I bought over fourteen years ago! Extraordinary.

I started feeling that my options were limitless. I went for my Midsomer Murders DVDs. Why not, the ipod has a small screen and it imports CDs. Oh, but now Mr. Glendower knows that it will not take DVDs because the salesperson told him so, yet he did not know a thing before when I was clueless. Nevertheless, it did not work; it would not take my DVDs, only CDs. Also, the Ipod charges by the computer while connected to the computer, no separate function is necessary. Suddenly, I know how to finger the controls, something I could not figure out before for the life of me. Now my fingers are taking to it like fish to water instead of clumsily stabbing and poking randomly at commands hoping something will trigger an on, go, and/or off.

I’m having problems with the earphones though. My right ear does not seem to be as receptive to holding the receiver in place as my left one and it hurts a bit. At first, I thought I could be putting them in the wrong ears but was relieved when I saw the L and the R marked respectively. I think I may need a shoehorn for my right ear.

Now the drawbacks brought to you by the conspiracy theorist deep within my heart. Music is personal. Apple and my computer now have my taste in music documented. What could the government do with this type of personal information? Could my likes and dislikes be used to torture me into talking or submitting? Hmmmmm…

8 Comments
  1. Hecate permalink
    January 22, 2008 11:20 pm

    I am quite the luddite, but I adore my iPhone. I buy a lot more music now than i ever did before. You can sort it, rearrange it, flip through it. I’m an old woman but I know helpful when I see it.

    Blogrolled you

  2. Kitty Glendower permalink
    January 22, 2008 11:33 pm

    I have no cell phone but I’m sure I will be kicking myself when/if I do get one and find out that the money that was spent on the Ipod could have paid for most of the cell phone. For now, the Ipod does not require monthly payments or a contract. I can only absorb one modern blow at a time. LOL!

    Thanks for the link. About three people picked up this blog in the last week. I feel very priviledged knowing that others read here and like it enough to link.

  3. A-mazing Amazon permalink
    January 23, 2008 12:08 am

    i’m a total ipod freak. i’ve always loved music and when the ipod started becoming popular, i HAD TO HAVE ONE! 🙂 i waited patiently. very patiently. i got one about 2 years ago and it’s one of my most favorite things ever.

    sometimes if i have a hard time getting the earbuds to stay in, i stick the little piece in my ear with the wire sticking out forward and i do a twisting of the earbud so that the wire sticks downward. that usually helps. if the earbuds hurt, those little black cushions are fragile and kind of hard to put on the earbuds but they do help the earbuds stick in the ear and not hurt so much.

  4. Verging Writer permalink
    January 23, 2008 2:24 am

    OH – Kitty – you have trumped me! I own a mobile phone but NOT an ipod. I am always SO PROUD when I master something new that is electronic. A very, very funny post. Thanks!

  5. momo permalink
    January 23, 2008 3:52 am

    Oh, yeah, the joys of the Ipod. I love mine, with a fierce love. You can get better ear buds for not too much money, a huge improvement in comfort. I got one when someone gave a Shuffle to my daughter and I felt so incompetent because I couldn’t use it. I have never bought a single song for myself because I copied all my CDs. Now I am fixated on podcasts–free! entire concerts from NPR’s All songs considered! interviews with musicians! can be deleted if you don’t want to save them! language lessons, travel shows, national geographic stuff.
    If you don’t want to give your money to Steve Jobs, check out emusic.com, where you can have monthly subscription that is 75 songs for about $20–about 30cents a song. The major labels are boycotting it, but there is a ton of great, great music, and I have greatly enjoyed reading the reader reviews and trying new stuff.OK, I’ll stop burbling now! Have fun with your new musical friend.

  6. Chris permalink
    January 23, 2008 5:12 am

    Ipod….wasn’t that those golf shirts with alligators as their logo back in the 80’s? Not that I was ever one for fashion;)

  7. Don permalink
    January 23, 2008 2:40 pm

    Kitty!

    My long lost pal. You have changed the furniture around in here. Looks nice.

  8. Kitty Glendower permalink
    January 24, 2008 12:31 am

    I will have to learn how to get a podcast from the computer to my ipod.

Comments are closed.

