Skip to content

Is This What It Has All Come Down To?

January 28, 2008

Artificial Palm Tree in Ventura County

I’m not sure what the purpose for an artificial tree, other than possibly the result of some company adhering to an order that makes them responsible for beautifying an area where they place an electrical center, or could it be a radio tower. There is no other vegetation around. The artificial palm is just standing there by itself. If people continue to disregard the environment, in a few decades we will have whole generations who only know this type of tree, instead of the real thing. Sort of like distinguishing fruit flavors using jolly ranchers as one’s guide. Look at the rip down the middle of its “trunk.” HA! Man cannot beat down Mother Nature completely. She fights back!

The following is a paragraph I wrote in an introductory composition class in the summer of 1986. Yes, it is simple and somewhat stilted, but there it is nevertheless (I used the name of the colors in my daughter’s crayon box). I tested below college level so I had to take an introductory composition for remediation. My daughter went to school with me. We rode my bicycle to school; she sat on the bar in the middle. I’ve held on to this paragraph all this time, because I made a 94, –my first A.

Every Monday and Wednesday, we bicycle under the most beautiful tree in the world. This tree strikes me as being the home of merry and fulfilled branches and leaves. The extended, pulchritudinous branches are so big and full that they block the sun from shining through, casting yards of refreshing shade. Just to see the beauty of its burnt sienna, pine green, and olive green colored leaves is gratifying enough to leave one breathless. There are many leaves hanging down as freely as if they were tempting one to steal them away from their origin. We always snatch a few leaves, hoping that the beauty of the tree, its branches and leaves can stay with us until the next time.

8 Comments
  1. CountryDew permalink
    January 28, 2008 11:25 pm

    There is nothing wrong with that paragraph. I wish more people would pay attention to the world around them. They’ve forgotten where they came from, forgotten the soil and the sky. I am glad you remember.

  2. Kitty Glendower permalink
    January 28, 2008 11:32 pm

    I love the soil and the sky, and trees…..Lots and lots of trees.

  3. Anna permalink
    January 29, 2008 1:32 am

    Awww! Nice bit of writing, Kitty. Really sweet.

  4. momo permalink
    January 29, 2008 2:44 am

    My favorute crayon color name was periwinkle.

    I have a great image now of you and your daughter riding your bike with your voice speaking those words.

  5. Chris permalink
    January 30, 2008 2:54 am

    I am rolling on the floor here for one reason. In the early early 90s, I dated a girl and after a late summer eve picnic, my nickname for her became “pulchritudinous lightning bug”. It was our inside joke because she thought pulchritudinous was such an ugly sounding word.

  6. A-mazing Amazon permalink
    January 30, 2008 6:49 pm

    that paragraph really puts me in that beautiful location…and i learned a new word (pulchritudinous). 🙂

    there’s one of those tower/faux trees right next to my parents house. only, it’s dressed up to look like a pine tree. in the same city, there is a faux palm tree one can see from the freeway. as i understand it, the city has a kind of beauty ordinance. not sure what it’s called exactly, but it has to do with the apparent ugliness of the plain tower and the city would only allow beautified towers to be installed in the city.

  7. Kitty Glendower permalink
    January 30, 2008 6:55 pm

    pulchritudinous, I was so using my new thesaurus at the time, —before computers, at home, affordable….

    I saw another one yesterday and it wasn’t a palm. Not sure if it was a pine because I was driving by too fast and did not have my camera. But I will take my camera today and get a picture.

  8. Professor Zero permalink
    February 1, 2008 6:57 pm

    My favorite crayon color was magenta.

    The paragraph is great. I try to get beginning students to write paragraphs like that in Spanish. That one would get an A from me, also.

    Great post – juxtaposing that paragraph with the commentary on the fake tree – and what a trip the fake tree! They just *would* have one in Ventura… 😉

    Have you been to the Channel Islands on that ferry that leaves from Ventura now? I am dying to go.

Comments are closed.

