Skip to content

Contest: Guess the Response

January 31, 2008
I received an email the other day, one of those dreaded FW: emails. I hate them! Normally I will not open it, just delete it. However, this one was from a friend, a friend I have known since 1982, but we have been in and out of touch for big spaces in time. I was a bridesmaid in her wedding in 1985. Anyway, this email had eight or maybe ten pictures of women and their vehicles who had crashed or were stuck in mud or did something that may or may not appear stupid. Because you know, women cannot drive. That is why every, EVERY last person, a total of four who have rear ended my car in the last twenty years have been male and the two that have rear ended Mr. Glendower have been male, because women cannot drive. So instead of remaining silent I decided to reply to all and write about men. How men rape women, men kill women, etc.

I received a two-word response from my friend. Can you guess what the response was?

Hint: There were no curse words and it was not shut up.

9 Comments
  1. Chris permalink
    February 1, 2008 1:23 am

    I’m at a loss, cause you eliminated curse words. But I take it she was not very happy about it?

  2. archcrone permalink
    February 1, 2008 1:33 am

    Like Chris, I take it she wasn’t happy. Would the two words have been “shove it?”

  3. Kitty Glendower permalink
    February 1, 2008 1:38 am

    No, shove it would have been too personal and would have inferred that it was probably wrong to send this out.

    Hint: Think in the vein, “all of us are fine with it, so there must be something wrong with you.”

  4. archcrone permalink
    February 1, 2008 2:13 am

    I’m glad it wasn’t what I thought, I’m feeling rather bleak tonight and that’s all that came to mind.

  5. Anji permalink
    February 1, 2008 11:59 am

    Was it something like “Get help”? That’s what I would have been told. :o(

  6. momo permalink
    February 1, 2008 4:15 pm

    I guess “lighten up” because that is what I always hear people say when you call them on misogyny. The longer version is “Can’t you take a joke?”

  7. Kitty Glendower permalink
    February 1, 2008 5:00 pm

    We have a winner! Yes, it was lighten up! Even though get help is a very good second. It is never about the people who are perpetuating the misogyny but about the person who opposes it.

  8. Rent Party permalink
    February 1, 2008 7:12 pm

    Well then the next time I get an e-mail like that one – the one you got, not the one you sent – I guess I’ll say lighten up.

  9. A-mazing Amazon permalink
    February 1, 2008 8:58 pm

    no kidding. i never understood the whole “women can’t drive” thing because it’s always been the men in my life with tickets screwing up their records making it near impossible to get affordable insurance. yet, me, a woman driver, i get all kinds of discounts and good driver points. uh, because i’m CAREFUL. using this logic, careful = bad & reckless = good. every single time my husband is complaining about a woman driver, he’s complaining because she’s being careful not to get hit by crazy drivers around her. my husband being one of those insanely crazy drivers!

    oh, and i’d love to read what you wrote to all those people. i’ve gotten FWD’ed emails from people where i’ve been tempted to reply to every single person forwarding the thing and give them a piece of my mind. but, the silencing begins before my thoughts take form because i know that everyone will just shake their heads and tell my crazy ass to “lighten up”. the intention of the words “lighten up” IS “shut up.” 😦

Comments are closed.

