Skip to content

Looking For Your Mama In My Identity

February 27, 2008
Can any regular readers of this blog point to an entry or comment where I declare that I am middle-class, have ever been middle-class, identify with the middle-class, recommend others to become or appear to be middle-class, and/or aspire to be middle-class? If no one can, then I think the jury will have to conclude that someone who desires to give me that label set the label upon me on his or her own accord. It is amazing how people who pretend to be deconstructionists cannot identify projection when they waddle in it.
5 Comments
  1. g-e-m2001 permalink
    March 1, 2008 1:18 am

    OH man, I have bullet wounds from other folks projecting their issues on to me. And they get deep with it!

  2. Anna permalink
    March 1, 2008 2:24 pm

    UM – not sure what prompted this post. Very interesting. The term “middle class” has come to be variously defined/applied. It often is used to label a set of attitudes, mores, etc without any specific consideration of actual income. In other words, it is often NOT used to denote economic standing. This is true in my field when analyzing attitudes in dramatic lit, on the stage, etc.

    And you are exactly right that such a practice does presume to project, by virtue of the label, a certain expectation of attitude, mores, blah, blah.

    Presumptions, assumptions – dangerous stuff for us all to be tossing around. You are exactly right.

  3. Chris permalink
    March 1, 2008 8:35 pm

    Frankly, I thought you were in the upper 1% of the wealthy. Aren’t you a major stockholder of Blackwater and the CEO of Exxon? Damn, can’t these people get their facts straight? (ha ha)

    I’ve read you here, on your previous blog, and on your old AOL journal. I can’t recall you ever saying “I’m middle class”.

    But then again….I’m a registered Republican and we have a bad track record for memory and “recall”.

  4. Unsane permalink
    March 2, 2008 9:04 am

    I don’t know but I see a sort of cultural middle class attitude in people whose aspirations are fairly modest in terms of the intellect and creative achievement, but are fairly well guided by ideals of material comfort and security. Perhaps this sort of idea is equivalent to being “bourgeois”?

    And I agree with you about deconstructionists. If there are no structures for them to pull down they start to lose their definition.

  5. Kitty Glendower permalink
    March 2, 2008 8:24 pm

    And I agree with you about deconstructionists. If there are no structures for them to pull down they start to lose their definition.

    In other words, if there are no structures for deconstructionists to pull down they start to become constructionists. LMAO!

    Gina, Anna, Chris, what I find interesting is how certain people think they have you pegged when the writings in a blog is hardly a fracition of one’s existence, experiences, aspirations, beliefs…..if anything, being burned on the net more than once, I say I stick to topics as safe as the weather and the condition of the roads. At least that is what it feels like to me.

Comments are closed.

