Skip to content

Thursday Thirteen: Numbers

April 24, 2008
1 theme for an upcoming birthday party. One theme that has nothing whatsoever to do with Disney or any other television show or movie. No need for me to bite my tongue and feel guilty for giving into a media controlled culture. Dogs. Dogs. Dogs. First present bought so far is beautiful; the Internet picture does not do it justice. The colour, the cut, the corded rope and the reflection are all gorgeous.

2 of May my childhood friend will be visiting. I have not seen her face to face in sixteen years. We have kept in constant contact though, she is a real big letter writer.

3 times I have taken the dog for a walk using his new harness collar. Each time he has behaved like a complete ass. He is not the brightest star in the sky but usually he picks up on what is expected after one or two times, but three times is testing my patience. I’ve checked the straps, the tightness, if it is interfering with his gait and nothing. You should see him, during the harnessed walk he is hunching his back like a Halloween cat.

4 more boxes are needed to put clothes and things in for a thrift store pick up. Goodwill will not take toys but the thrift stores will. There is also a television set but I think they can take that without a box.

5 times a day, every day, I promise myself that I will write more than I actually do.

6 multiplied by 600 is probably around the amount of calories I over consumed yesterday. I really wish fried Buffalo wings were obliterated from our consciousness.

7 is the number of times I had to redirect the child this morning. She takes forever to get ready for school and it stresses me out always having to be the one to watch time. I’m not a clock watcher by nature, so when I am forced to do it I probably stress more than the average person. Recently it has been reported that people who live longer worried less than others.

8 shots of espresso already today. Did not begin to count until after the fact.

9 days left before a birthday party bash for a soon to be nine year old. No RSVPs so far. Telling her at school does not count.

10 May is the day before Mother’s Day in the United States. What is Mother’s Day really?

11 is the age I was when I had my one and only birthday party. Not a party really, just family, but I did have a cake with candles and a present. A couple (I think mostly the wife) that my father knew wanted me to have a birthday celebration. When everyone sung Happy Birthday, it was very embarrassing. I wore the cotton yellow sleeveless dress with a green plaid short jacket attached that they (the couple) gave me as much as I could until I outgrew it.

12 times, I have watched Midsomer Murders “Hidden Depths” and not followed it up with a written post. I am beginning to recite the lines.

13 snails were congregated on a painted green wood fence last evening. I can never see a snail without thinking of my good friend Donna. Once, to my surprise she relayed a story to me about how when she sees a snail gnawing and damaging her beautiful plants she violently pulls it off and catapults it into a cement surface. She could tell me that story a thousand times and each time her violent reaction would shock me, because she is one of the kindest and gentlest people I know.

Idea originated from Blue Country Magic because she always makes daily writing look so easy.

6 Comments
  1. Hesperis permalink
    April 25, 2008 1:19 am

    Ah, lovely.

  2. Chris permalink
    April 25, 2008 2:25 am

    The only birthday party I can really remember having was one in which we played duck duck goose in my front yard. I’m sure I had others…I think. I just can’t remember any of them.

    Snails…they like eating my herb garden but I don’t smash them. I just leave out a dish of warm beer and they drown themselves. I swear, it works.

  3. Charles permalink
    April 25, 2008 2:55 am

    Hi long time no see.

    Sorry 😦

    I loved how you did this Thursday 13, and I really loved number 6. It had me cracking up, because thats how I feel about Little Debbie Oatmeal Creme Pies. LOL

  4. Kitty Glendower permalink
    April 25, 2008 3:30 am

    Charles, it is good to see you. It’s been a long time. I used to be like that with the Little Debbie Oatmeal Creme Pies but I burned out. But not before I consumed probably 1000 in my lifetime. LOL! The problem with Little Debbie is, it has the nerve to be affordable.

  5. Anna permalink
    April 26, 2008 12:49 am

    Watching the clock in the morning . . . watching child getting ready for school sloooowwllyyyyyy . . . feeling trapped in a day in day out battle of wills – of wits – yeah – I can relate.

    Daily writing? Hum. I admire your numbered effort in that direction. I should take the hint myself.

  6. CountryDew permalink
    April 27, 2008 8:57 pm

    Great Thursday Thirteen! Daily writing is not easy, but thanks for saying I make it look that way. (You’ll note that sometimes I get away with just posting a picture!)

    Just stay with it – you’re doing great.

Comments are closed.

