Skip to content

Bernie Mac’s Joke:

July 13, 2008
Hence the misogyny.
“My little nephew came to me and he said, ‘Uncle, what’s the difference between a hypothetical question and a realistic question?'”
“I said, ‘I don’t know,’ but I said, ‘I’ll tell you what you do. Go upstairs and ask your mother if she’d make love to the mailman for $50,000.”
The mother said she’d sleep “with anyone” for $50,000 — and then continuing to include Mac’s daughter hypothetically answering the question in the same way.
“Hypothetically speaking, we should have $100,000. But realistically speaking we live with two hos,”
The joke is misogynistic because not only is it calling women hos, it is shaming women for doing something deemed unladylike in a hypothetical situation. Mac quickly transitions from hypothetical to reality even though in reality neither, the mother or the daughter had sex with anyone, much less under the guise of earning $50,000. They are both labeled hos in reality for simply saying they would have sex for money hypothetically. Actually executing the sex act is unnecessary, women are punished for the mere thought of behavior outside the expectation that men set. Of course, in this hypothetical situation the mailman is free from ridicule or shame. In addition, do not overlook Mac effortless willingness to become his wife and daughter’s pimp. In this hypothetical situation, the wife and the daughter earn the $50,000 but Mac is quick to take that money, “we should have $100,000.” We? We? In other words, the money is now his and the nephew’s, —–the two males.
5 Comments
  1. Rent Party permalink
    July 14, 2008 4:19 am

    Well, I went to see some ruins today and there was a GUIDE who kept making these LOUD misogynist jokes and everyone was laughing but me. It seems they have to be explained … and then one is told to lighten up.

    To lighten up I copied your idea of having a playlist on my blog. 🙂

  2. Kitty Glendower permalink
    July 14, 2008 7:26 pm

    Do you have a song or two that you would like me to add to this playlist? I’ve asked everyone in the family but with little results. By the way Rent Party, have you abandoned this blog? Am I all alone?

  3. Rent Party permalink
    July 15, 2008 5:01 am

    Oh gosh, lots. I’m trying to have only one song per artist on my playlist, but secretly I want more. I’ll pick some.

    I am in this semi primitive hostel but it is wired. The neighbors were making noise last night so I played your playlist as a lullaby. It is excellent.

    No I haven’t abandoned this blog – I just thought my more recent AROOO type posts on Rent Party were *too* involved and morose and I shouldn’t impose them over here.

    Also, I’m supposed to be on vacation in Veracruz. But I’m coming back!

  4. momo permalink
    July 15, 2008 9:43 pm

    Love that you have Boz Scaggs in your playlist! I saw him perform in Oakland on New Year’s eve once.

  5. The Fabulous Kitty Glendower permalink
    July 16, 2008 8:20 am

    Yeah I love Boz Scaggs. However, there was not a big selection, I think just two songs and one was not a complete song. With this playlist you are at the mercy of the link. I’m happy that people provide the links though. I wanted Scagg’s “I’ll
    be the one.” I love that, his voice is just so soothing and reassuring.

Comments are closed.

