Skip to content

Depp, Farrell, and Jude Law Play White Men

August 14, 2008

“When you’re part of [something extraordinary and wonderful like that], you think, ‘Ah, this is maybe why I went into the movies, in the beginning. I thought it would be full of wonderful people.’ And in our case, we’ve got a movie full of wonderful people, who did extraordinary things to help.”—Director Terry Gilliam (click “Interviews” to locate the video), on the decision of Johnny Depp, Colin Farrell, and Jude Law to donate their salaries from Gilliam’s The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus to Ledger’s daughter Matilda, who was not included in Ledger’s will. When Ledger died during the filming of TIODP, Depp, Farrell, and Law stepped in to complete the work, each playing Ledger’s character in a different dimension.

When I first read this entry at Shakesville, the first thing I thought was, that’s mighty white of them, –them being Depp, Farrell and Law. However, I don’t think I grew up using the term the way it originated. According to wiki, to play the white man or that’s mighty white of you is used to express how someone is being decent and trustworthy in their actions. In other words, white male behaviour is the most desirable behaviour of all humans. I can honestly say I have never heard anyone in my family or inner circle, including friends and work associates use either phrase in any way but to be sarcastic, even to the point of “fuck you, I don’t want whatever you are offering because clearly you are benefiting more by giving than I am by receiving. The balance is so off balance that you can keep your generosity, you fucking pseudo-magnanimous fuck.” Pseudo-magnanimous because if it were truly magnanimous, I (or anyone else) would not be feeling (sensing) any dishonesty in the generosity, but damn if I do, no matter how hard I try not to. Is it nothing but projection? I don’t think so.

Perhaps this is one of those cases where there is no template to judge how one goes about something, like the way some people are judged when their love one goes missing. “Well who mandated that he must cry every minute of the day? Just because he is not crying doesn’t mean he killed his wife.” Oh, true, the old plausibility clause. Yes, yes, I am aware of plausibility. However, life has also taught me about a little thing called pattern, and witnessing patterns has aided in my cynicism, especially after countless times that I allowed myself to be persuaded away from heeding a pattern and thus suffered the consequences from not doing so.

How much money do Depp, Farrell and Law have or make? What is the going rate for either of them to just fart in a movie? I am quite sure more money than anyone in my family will ever see. More money than if all of us combined our incomes, including money we somehow got and wasted. Heath Ledger’s father promised to financially take care of Matilda. Even if they chose not to, since legally they are under no obligation, the girl’s mother is more than capable, because America pays celebrity exorbitant amounts of cash. And if Michelle, Matilda’s mother decided not to give her a dime, Matilda’s name alone will open doors that will never be open for ninety percent of the world. Showbiz has a way of convincing itself that celebrity children achieve on their own talent, but we all know there is an advantage that is understood and granted.

I don’t want Depp’s or the other two’s money. I don’t even want Depp, because his over the top Captain Sparrow routine is becoming a bit overplayed, overused. Here is the bur under my saddle. Why should we know about Depp, Farrell and Law’s generosity? Why? We must know because they are buying our praise. Already people are saying because of their kindness they will support future projects such as going to their movies. The three men can afford to give because the benefits will be tenfold. The publicity, the adoration, the fan loyalty will bring in more profits than before. I’m not buying it though, because they are exploiting a little girl, a situation. They are pimping her circumstances (which are not even dire) for their gain. They are riding on the coattails of Heath too. His death had all the sensationalism of television. What better death to exploit? The word will keep growing and before it is all over Depp, Farrell, and Law (the creep who cheated on his wife) will be GODS!

There was only one cynical comment on the entry so far, and that comment was shot down using trust fund ideology. “Who wants to rely on their parent’s money, when a child can have money independent from their parents.” Yeah, in my day, it was called getting a fucking job. I mean honestly, how are the trust fund children working out for the betterment of our culture right now?

9 Comments
  1. lost clown permalink
    August 15, 2008 11:29 pm

    I didn’t even know about (and probably wouldn’t have found out about) this until I read it here. Of course your critique is right on. Ridiculous. (I really have nothing to add although this may be an “In the news” question at the pub quiz which is about all I care about celebrities.)

    Ridiculous. And I’m sure they feel oh so great about themselves. How about donating that money to children who desperately need it? Ugh. Not as sexy apparently.

  2. The Fabulous Kitty Glendower permalink
    August 16, 2008 12:41 am

    The comments tell me that I am so different from many people. There is such a casual expecation of having expecations. I can honestly say that I don’t have expectations, nor do I know anyone who has either. I come from a line of people who are too poor to make a will. And if they did scrap together the 260 for the do it yourself type, what would be the point, what is being left to whom?

    Wow. If this many people have, there is no wonder so many people cannot understand priviledge.

  3. Anna permalink
    August 16, 2008 1:46 am

    Wow, Kitty – I’ve had similar thoughts in recent olympic-watching days. There’s some oil company that is running a commercial that pats itself on the back for helping its African workers with malaria. Every time I see the commercial I think – “if you all were really so wonderful you wouldn’t be shamelessly trying to get credit for it, hoping to distract us from your oil profits . . . “

    Are we getting cynical?!

  4. Anna permalink
    August 16, 2008 1:46 am

    Wow, Kitty – I’ve had similar thoughts in recent olympic-watching days. There’s some oil company that is running a commercial that pats itself on the back for helping its African workers with malaria. Every time I see the commercial I think – “if you all were really so wonderful you wouldn’t be shamelessly trying to get credit for it, hoping to distract us from your oil profits . . . “

    Are we getting cynical?!

  5. The Fabulous Kitty Glendower permalink
    August 16, 2008 3:00 am

    Getting? I think I’m there already. Bastards.

  6. Professor Zero permalink
    August 16, 2008 7:37 am

    The thing about those commenters is that they are so committed to the belief that everything really is all right.

    (My acupuncturist, of course, would say that that is what one must believe, but I don’t think she means this at so superficial a level as they do.)

  7. The Fabulous Kitty Glendower permalink
    August 16, 2008 8:35 am

    Yes superficial. I see it as people who have expectations or are hoping on expectations and don’t want to feel guilty about it.

    Not there is anything wrong with inheriting, but it is the expectations, —at the risk of repeating the word too much.

  8. lost clown permalink
    August 16, 2008 9:00 am

    Inheriting? The only time my mom ever mentioned it was that we’d get the house and then we should sell it, pay off the mortgage and keep the little that is left.

    All I remember from when my grandpa died is them inheriting his debt. (Hospital bills and the like) Wonderful.

  9. naginata1 permalink
    April 5, 2009 10:05 pm

    Geez, I must have missed this latest Hollywood Law, Depp…who’s the last guy?? donation thing. Just read about here for the first time! How does one manage to avoid these media events… The classic I believe is to give, but say nothing about it. That to me is the honorable thing to do.

    I’m an optimistic person by nature, so I’m not so harsh on Hollywood types and their various charitable exploits. They always do stuff like this. Just not all that cynical I guess. People do what they do.

Comments are closed.

