Skip to content

What Do You Think Of This Message?

August 26, 2008
“Unable to place a request on this item. The maximum number of requests for your borrower type has been exceeded.”

I have several DVD’s on hold at the library. It may be December before I get a few of them and some I may get tomorrow, next week, even next month or as I already said maybe around Christmas. Some I hold the number 1 position, or number 11 or number 16 or number 20 or number 7, or number 2. Nevertheless, I return them as soon as I watch them. I never have more than four or five out at one time and have never been late. Supposedly there is no limit. However, when I tried to request another DVD, this message popped up. I had a knee jerk reaction to it. What do you think of the wording?

5 Comments
  1. Professor Zero permalink
    August 26, 2008 6:30 pm

    It’s computer speak. I cannot post more files to my research directory because the allotted amount of disk space for my user type has been exceeded.

  2. The Fabulous Kitty Glendower permalink
    August 26, 2008 11:38 pm

    Yes, after my initial reaction I concluded it was an automated message that some geek gave little thought when framing.

    Funny how things can trigger. When I read for your borrower type, I was like, my type? What the fuck is my type? It provoked a thought of hierarchy, as if there is a top and a bottom, and I am at the bottom, not worthy of checking out as many as so and so, so and so who is above my type.

    sigh.

  3. Anna permalink
    August 27, 2008 1:01 am

    "your borrower type"

    How odd. Who thought that up? Isn't it funny that such "sound bites" which are designed to be universally applied to all have the opposite effect of making one feel suddenly & oddly unique?

    So how long do you have to wait for Gone Baby Gone?! You are a woman of infinite patience.

    I am not. (there's a surprise)

  4. The Fabulous Kitty Glendower permalink
    August 27, 2008 5:14 pm

    So how long do you have to wait for Gone Baby Gone?! You are a woman of infinite patience.

    Depends on how long the 15 people in front of me take to pick it up and then return it. Death at a funeral is moving pretty fast. I was 11 and now I am 7. But Water Horse and Gone Baby Gone is just sitting there at the #16 spot. The 2007 Sense and Sensibility just moved from 2 to 1. I was in the #2 spot for over a month.

  5. Anna permalink
    August 27, 2008 10:47 pm

    As I said – you are a woman of infinite patience! The library should be rolling in money for all of the fines people must be paying as they hold onto these movies.

Comments are closed.

