Skip to content

The Hierarchy of Woe Can Only Be Heard From The Top

September 29, 2008
I don’t give a damn if Wall Street and every bank in America crashes and burns. I don’t care if people lose their houses. I don’t care. My caring is about me. No one has ever bailed me out of a damn thing. Did Wall Street care about me when I received eviction notices, utility cut offs, and a rumbling tummy, and I had not squander money on anything remotely materialistic?

When I was nineteen years old and applied for my very first credit card, I was denied. DENIED. I was told that I owed thousands of dollars. No one cared that the person they were claiming to be me had a diminutive form of my real first name and a totally different middle name. No they did not care. Their records said I should be treated like shit, so I was treated like shit. Every agency I went to when I tried to clear up this wrong information treated me with suspicion, with contempt. One woman told me to my face that my zip code alone made me suspect. A few years later an auto insurance company told me my insurance would be higher if I bought a car because of my zip code. My dear friend who still lives in that zip code just got her fucking electricity turned back on yesterday, which had been off since Hurricane Ike struck the gulf coast. No one gives a damn about us, the dregs of society. If we do manage to get our little $300 credit limit Visa, something obtained by providing a security deposit, because we either have bad credit or no credit, no one comes in and offers to pay if we default. No, instead 39 additional dollars is tacked on as a late fee along with an additional $39 over the limit fee, because if the minimum payment is met however late, it still causes the balance to go over the limit, thus causing an over the limit fee, read your contract dumb girl. And of course it comes along with a 22.99% or higher rate because that is the rate one must have if he or she has bad credit or no credit and live in particular zip codes and never had the privilege of having a spin off card from mommy or daddy to get them started.

I do not care about the people above me, you know the homeowners either, the ones who wanted to blah blah blah blah have the American Dream, or is it have the McMansion in order to look like the other McMcDonalds who could not afford the fucking houses they just had to have from the giddy up. Oh no, they did not bite off more than they can chew, unlike those shitty ass poor folks over there in the wrong zip code who had no experience with managing credit cards but used that credit card to buy some bling and some leather boots. No those always do right homeowners just thought some how their flimsily secured job would never disappear and that between the two SUVs, gas, soccer, eating out several times a week, paying the illegal aliens, I mean undocumented worker gardener, some how the money tree would produce enough to pay for it all and of course daddy and mommy could throw them a band aid every now and again and there is always you know expectations, hoping mom and pop kick the bucket, because what the hell, can’t take it with you, —love you mom and dad the tanning salon is calling.

See, they get to whine whine all the way home and blame it on the banks. Why didn’t the banks baby sit them and refuse them credit. It was the banks job to determine if they could afford the loans. They should not be held responsible. No, those dregs of society who used their $300 credit card limit to buy a gold chain and a fly outfit should be held accountable, but not them, they wanted a house not a gold rope. Whahhhhh, my credit is going to be ruined for seven years, on paper I will be just like those low-lives in that zip code over there, those people who the I.R.S garnishes their wages, those people who department stores actually take to court (not just threaten to take to court).

I do not care about the people above those home owners, you know the bankers, the ones who get big fat commissions along with their fat ass real estate buddies who like to flip this house and screw over the mindless McMcDonalds and the inspiring to become McMcDonalds who sooooooooooooo desperately want a house…….they just got to have one…….who cares if there is no back yard and the next door neighbors bedroom window lines up directly in sight of the child’s bedroom and there is no outside garden for a kid much less a dog and if you want to smoke in the back yard the old farting fuck whose bedroom is down by your backyard turns the bathroom light on and off and passive aggressively exaggerates his coughing, and the amount offered by the banks is mathematical impossible to pay off in one’s life time, we need to buy, buy, buy, build, build, build, sell, sell, sell, mortgage, mortgage, mortgage…….I need to go to Greece for the summer holidays you fucks, I need more, more, MORE!

Whahhh my stocks are plummeting, who is going to help…where is Uncle Sugar…..my credit is going to be ruined, on paper I’m going to look like those low level McMcDonalds in those tasteless beige McMansions….I may have to shop at the mall.

I do not care about Wall Street, those CEOs who threaten to jump out of windows, who cooked books, lied and lied hoping their fingers could plug one more hole in the sieve of a submarine they have been frolicking in for eight years. Just hold on boys Election Day is right around the corner, STICK YOUR TOE in that hole to the left there Karl, we have less than a month and then we all can pack up and meet in the Mediterranean.

Fuck you fuck you fuck you all motherfuckers I don’t care if we end up trading salt for stale coffee no one told you to bite off more than you can chew. Where is that personal responsibility now? Where are your bootstraps now? I have a few I could loan you. You have given me hundreds already. I think I can give a few back.

Nevertheless, I am far too cynical to enjoy this potential Schadenfreude. Because we know in the end who will come out on top, don’t we? The game is set up that way.

7 Comments
  1. Professor Zero permalink
    September 30, 2008 4:38 pm

    It’s really galling, that “personal responsibility” talk, in this context. But of course we know it’s all a smoke screen – they don’t believe in that at all, except as a way to diss the poor.

  2. NaturallyAlise permalink
    September 30, 2008 8:11 pm

    This is what I have been feeling but have not been able to articulate, my struggle and your struggle seem to have so many commonalities. I enjoyed your post, well not really enjoyed bc of the subject matter, so I’ll say: well written post.

  3. Anna permalink
    October 1, 2008 12:17 am

    As a totally asset-less person, I am angry as hell over a situation everyone should have seen coming – or rather did see coming – but chose to ignore with wide-open eyes.

    Thanks for telling the world off for us, Kitty.

  4. momo permalink
    October 4, 2008 6:15 pm

    I haven’t shared most your experiences, Kitty, but a few of of them, yes. Denied a credit card, investigated by the IRS because I shared part of a name and workplace with someone else who had evaded taxes, charged more for insurance because of my zip code, watching the rich get bailed out and the poor get ignored. I am so sick of hearing about the middle class right now, even though that includes me. The words “poverty” and “poor” have been banished from political discourse while politicians freak about “Main Street’ and “the middle class” sitting around their mythical kitchen table.
    I can’t bring myself to say I don’t care, because I care about how this will screw over even more of the poorest and plenty of people who have been struggling, not just the greedy or the clueless. But I”m caught between trying to moderate the rage I feel because giving it free rein makes me ill and frightens the people I love, and screaming along with you.

  5. Natasha permalink
    October 6, 2008 5:45 am

    What exactly IS middle class anymore however? Seriously,

    I often had this discussion within the Marxist left years ago, and how class is defined today in contrast to Marx’s time, is really very different. When we say middle class, do we mean lower middle class, rural middle class, upper middle class or even leisure-creative upper yuppie middle class?

    I’m part of the Underclass, like, but fuck poor, have always been except once, short period in my life and That was due to marriage [his income] and even then, he was lower middle class,barely skating by on the next to lower income strata.

    And I will say that it IS many different worlds, meaning, I’ve been part of the underworld class [homeless] and then the lower economic class, below poverty line then right at that line, so, point being that while being around middle class, I’ve noticed a lot of difference in what is deemed middle class.

    I think the majority of people who are deemed middle class are truly just on that line, IF they are middle class, its all paper, credit, take THAT away and they would be in same boat as most of us [where I sit], and then there is that what I call the stable middle class, they are what I term as the more mobile ones, the ones who Might make it to the upper middle class barring any crisis.

    In other words, what is deemed as middle class today is really a lot of Illusion. This is something us poor folks talk about a lot–maybe LOL because we SEE those from that strata wind up where we are, and its usually the same story,

    they Thought they were secure but loe and behold one thing goes haywire and like a dominoe it all goes to shit. Those small savings can run out quick, those pensions that they cash in, insurance, you name it, IF they wind up paying high price apartments and losing their way of life, they are soon caught up in the overpaying just to live day to day, and it often I think, just overwhelms them.

    Those who have some family to fall back on Might be able to pull through, but those who don’t, depending on family size AND the amount of debt they’ve accumulated, can find themselves one day in a small house, the next in an apartment, and NOT the nice ‘loft’ kind.

    The others, I’m not sure where they go, I see homes all around us, foreclosing, people just walking away, but these aren’t the new tract homes, oh no, they are the older, sort of shabby homes [still out of our price range] and where they go, who knows,

    I think many of them move out of state to try again, I’ve often wondered where they wind up, what IS sad however, is that the ones I see takin off are not the yuppie leisure class but the families, that may have started out rough but worked their way up only to find they were right back to square one,

    they did All the right things, got credit, paid their bills, enrolled kids in nice schools, both worked, etc etc etc., then one job, downsizes or lays off, then its making it on One income or one and a half income, then its cuts in this, cuts in that, sure, they struggle for bit, not Poverty struggle no, but give up comforts, but they find its not enough, then they have the garage sales, but people aren’t buying,

    eventually they sell what they can, for a loss and then, one day, they are gone…house has foreclosure sign on it and they are gone.

    We see this all the time, and then, just two blocks down, are brand new development homes, covenant neighborhood for the yuppie rich, big families and they have to be doctors, because I have no idea how anyone can pay a mortgage over 1500 a month, hell thats more than what I make a month, but they do,
    but then,

    we find, summer ago, they start not selling as much, and then people selling or walking away from them, not as much as in the more working class section but you know its bad when the rich rich homes are going belly up.

    In our home, our mobile home park, we’re used to seeing people walk away, with lot rents being the way they are AND the forced lawn care with water [that we pay] its about as much as paying for a home–but when you have lousy credit, impoverished, more than one kid [apartments won’t rent to three kid families unless you can lie or hide them well],

    you do what you have to do. You drive cars with no tags [bus runs from trailer parks practically non-existent, you see cities don’t Like going to the poor trash parts of town], so if you have job ways off and have to drive, you make do,

    you just hope and be very careful not to get caught. You pay electric one month, water next, finangle here, finangle there, you find 100 ways to cook cheap pasta and chicken,

    in fact, if you check most of the poor people they actually have pin feathers growing from their ears, Seriously, LOL [ok, you find ways of having sense of humor, might as well, don’t have much else],

    you learn how to dress like the rich from neighborhood trash cans, living off the waste of others but of course, have to be careful there because some people get really peeved so, you find there are groups, no kidding, that share ideas on how to dumpster dive,

    seriously, its like a whole other world of existence out there. People barter, scrap, trade, work off the grid,

    and one thing they all have in common,

    they all SEE how more and more government is getting more and more into our lives to where its impossible or they are making it impossible To survive UNLESS you can make it on

    CREDIT.

    So question is Why? Is it just a matter of class or is there something Else going on, some type of social engineering that works to make us dependent upon the System,

    not the welfare system, no, but a System of rules, protocol and consumerist etiquette.

    IF, or should I say When, god forbid, a catastrophic crash happens like in 29, what Would people do, really? Sure, those who OWN land could maybe garden, store, hoard, can, stock up on arms, so forth,

    but what about all those dependent upon a system that has always worked, at least, in illusion?

    For years the POOR in this country have fought to have dignity or to keep the cities, government and society from Taking that dignity, and not dignity in ‘image’, no,

    ‘dignity in self-sufficiency’ from them. Let a poor person try to grow a garden in some makeshift cardboard box or set up a tent city or shanty town or even set up entire communities with their own rules, etc., and the gov sends in the troops–the police troops to bust it up,

    all of course, with the people’s support. Why is that?

    Because What is it about the poor taking matters into their own hands that the Government Doesn’t want

    the levels of middle class to see?

    I don’t think, the POOR are as shocked as to what is going on, the middle class, yea, maybe,

    but if the middle class is smart, they’d start paying attention, to how the Governments have been treating the poor,

    because you see, the social engineers have been experimenting on the poor for eons preparing for times such as these,

    if they are ruthless to the poor, kid yourself not, they’ll be even more ruthless when the middle class begin making demands.

    Natasha

  6. Natasha permalink
    October 6, 2008 5:45 am

    What exactly IS middle class anymore however? Seriously,

    I often had this discussion within the Marxist left years ago, and how class is defined today in contrast to Marx’s time, is really very different. When we say middle class, do we mean lower middle class, rural middle class, upper middle class or even leisure-creative upper yuppie middle class?

    I’m part of the Underclass, like, but fuck poor, have always been except once, short period in my life and That was due to marriage [his income] and even then, he was lower middle class,barely skating by on the next to lower income strata.

    And I will say that it IS many different worlds, meaning, I’ve been part of the underworld class [homeless] and then the lower economic class, below poverty line then right at that line, so, point being that while being around middle class, I’ve noticed a lot of difference in what is deemed middle class.

    I think the majority of people who are deemed middle class are truly just on that line, IF they are middle class, its all paper, credit, take THAT away and they would be in same boat as most of us [where I sit], and then there is that what I call the stable middle class, they are what I term as the more mobile ones, the ones who Might make it to the upper middle class barring any crisis.

    In other words, what is deemed as middle class today is really a lot of Illusion. This is something us poor folks talk about a lot–maybe LOL because we SEE those from that strata wind up where we are, and its usually the same story,

    they Thought they were secure but loe and behold one thing goes haywire and like a dominoe it all goes to shit. Those small savings can run out quick, those pensions that they cash in, insurance, you name it, IF they wind up paying high price apartments and losing their way of life, they are soon caught up in the overpaying just to live day to day, and it often I think, just overwhelms them.

    Those who have some family to fall back on Might be able to pull through, but those who don’t, depending on family size AND the amount of debt they’ve accumulated, can find themselves one day in a small house, the next in an apartment, and NOT the nice ‘loft’ kind.

    The others, I’m not sure where they go, I see homes all around us, foreclosing, people just walking away, but these aren’t the new tract homes, oh no, they are the older, sort of shabby homes [still out of our price range] and where they go, who knows,

    I think many of them move out of state to try again, I’ve often wondered where they wind up, what IS sad however, is that the ones I see takin off are not the yuppie leisure class but the families, that may have started out rough but worked their way up only to find they were right back to square one,

    they did All the right things, got credit, paid their bills, enrolled kids in nice schools, both worked, etc etc etc., then one job, downsizes or lays off, then its making it on One income or one and a half income, then its cuts in this, cuts in that, sure, they struggle for bit, not Poverty struggle no, but give up comforts, but they find its not enough, then they have the garage sales, but people aren’t buying,

    eventually they sell what they can, for a loss and then, one day, they are gone…house has foreclosure sign on it and they are gone.

    We see this all the time, and then, just two blocks down, are brand new development homes, covenant neighborhood for the yuppie rich, big families and they have to be doctors, because I have no idea how anyone can pay a mortgage over 1500 a month, hell thats more than what I make a month, but they do,
    but then,

    we find, summer ago, they start not selling as much, and then people selling or walking away from them, not as much as in the more working class section but you know its bad when the rich rich homes are going belly up.

    In our home, our mobile home park, we’re used to seeing people walk away, with lot rents being the way they are AND the forced lawn care with water [that we pay] its about as much as paying for a home–but when you have lousy credit, impoverished, more than one kid [apartments won’t rent to three kid families unless you can lie or hide them well],

    you do what you have to do. You drive cars with no tags [bus runs from trailer parks practically non-existent, you see cities don’t Like going to the poor trash parts of town], so if you have job ways off and have to drive, you make do,

    you just hope and be very careful not to get caught. You pay electric one month, water next, finangle here, finangle there, you find 100 ways to cook cheap pasta and chicken,

    in fact, if you check most of the poor people they actually have pin feathers growing from their ears, Seriously, LOL [ok, you find ways of having sense of humor, might as well, don’t have much else],

    you learn how to dress like the rich from neighborhood trash cans, living off the waste of others but of course, have to be careful there because some people get really peeved so, you find there are groups, no kidding, that share ideas on how to dumpster dive,

    seriously, its like a whole other world of existence out there. People barter, scrap, trade, work off the grid,

    and one thing they all have in common,

    they all SEE how more and more government is getting more and more into our lives to where its impossible or they are making it impossible To survive UNLESS you can make it on

    CREDIT.

    So question is Why? Is it just a matter of class or is there something Else going on, some type of social engineering that works to make us dependent upon the System,

    not the welfare system, no, but a System of rules, protocol and consumerist etiquette.

    IF, or should I say When, god forbid, a catastrophic crash happens like in 29, what Would people do, really? Sure, those who OWN land could maybe garden, store, hoard, can, stock up on arms, so forth,

    but what about all those dependent upon a system that has always worked, at least, in illusion?

    For years the POOR in this country have fought to have dignity or to keep the cities, government and society from Taking that dignity, and not dignity in ‘image’, no,

    ‘dignity in self-sufficiency’ from them. Let a poor person try to grow a garden in some makeshift cardboard box or set up a tent city or shanty town or even set up entire communities with their own rules, etc., and the gov sends in the troops–the police troops to bust it up,

    all of course, with the people’s support. Why is that?

    Because What is it about the poor taking matters into their own hands that the Government Doesn’t want

    the levels of middle class to see?

    I don’t think, the POOR are as shocked as to what is going on, the middle class, yea, maybe,

    but if the middle class is smart, they’d start paying attention, to how the Governments have been treating the poor,

    because you see, the social engineers have been experimenting on the poor for eons preparing for times such as these,

    if they are ruthless to the poor, kid yourself not, they’ll be even more ruthless when the middle class begin making demands.

    Natasha

  7. Natasha permalink
    October 6, 2008 3:45 pm

    More on the Wide Gap between the poor, working poor, middle class and the cyber world of financier advisers…

    reading this morning about the pending Recession, yesterday they called it Depression, today I see they are calling it more the Serious Recession or Severe Recession.

    LOL, and the usual, advice,

    to get out of debt, pay off credit cards, pay off house, keep 401 K plans in, etc., etc., etc.,

    Don't these people KNOW they are talking a language that most of the poor and working poor in this nation are not even acquainted with? 401 K, what the hell are those? People who work at Walmarts, as customer service clerks, restaurants, day labor jobs DON'T HAVE 401 Ks, nor do the majority of them have Credit Cards,

    Debit Cards maybe, rented furniture-appliances maybe [at far higher price], old cars at 21 percent interest maybe, and even Those require some stability job wise and some amount of high interest credit–and good health.

    And most of those people live on crisis management anyhow, life or living per se is what you can barter out or meager out to live, day to day, maybe keep a roof over your head,

    or keep a car to drive so you don't lose that 7.00 an hour job.

    When I read these financier's advisers I wonder who in the hell ARE they talking to?

    Americans call that segment middle class–to those like us, they are the rich class,

    well, from where we sit, we don't even Think in those income terms much less understand them–not because we can't understand them nor don't want to,

    just no NEED to because those types of finances are simply OUT OF OUR REACH.

    But then, here's the Catch 22 to THAT nasty little secret,

    corporations, banks, companies, businesses, medical establishments, hell even the schools, charities, DEPEND AND THRIVE on those like us,

    lousy credit–banks will offer high interest debit cards or credit cards, seems like a grand idea, but if one sits and does the math, they find they are paying two times more for using their money than what they would pay if they simply had not have used them to begin with.

    Don't have money to buy appliance, lets say washing machine and there IS no laundry in your area, just rent one,

    and wind up paying three times what that generic brand is worth [and most likely one that is not new on market] and dare you miss a payment–out it goes. Right back to scrub board washing…

    oh there is the thrift stores of course and garage sales AND the occasional trash can or Craigs list find–if you're lucky you might get one that works for a while–from some philanthropic person who has the income to go buy a brand new high end appliance when theirs no longer meets the Better Homes & Garden 'image' standard,

    maybe THATS what that trickle down effect really means. Living off the scraps of others, the 'discards',

    and believe it or not, poor people are grateful to those discards. They can be real life savers, especially if one has children and working for below poverty wages, which of course,

    helps business, cheaper labor, more profit, more expansion, maybe even keeping business from going under in competition with those who outsource labor to countries where governments and juntas Kill and Torture those who bitch about working for free.

    You know, how dare people NOT be grateful to be slaves–you know how that mentality works.

    So, in an ironic way–the poor, make the rich, yet,

    the poor, live off the discards of the rich. But what happens when there are no more discards? Maybe this is what they mean by saving that 'trickle down' LOL,

    I don't know, all I know is that advisers say to get out of debt–

    what happens when the only way one can survive is via debt, OR, they don't Have that type of income to get out of debt? Not talking credit cards, no, I'm talking piles of medical bills, phone cut offs, old bills,

    things like that, bad credit–with incomes that are 20-30 a year FOR A FAMILY OF THREE TO FOUR? Do these advisers even KNOW these people exist, that not everyone makes 40K per individual [two family income] with a background of savings, etc.,

    its like–their language, is meant for a segment of society that from where I sit, is totally foreign. Are they truly That out of touch,

    is the gap Truly THAT WIDE?

    I've been reading a lot lately about the Depression, I grew up with my Nana who lived through it and died poor–

    so I guess I'm fortunate enough there to truly have an understanding of what life was then, what society was then,

    but what these advisers fail to take into account, is that we live in a TOTALLY DIFFERENT society now, compared to then.

    IF farmers then had to migrate to not die, literally, from OK to CA,

    what in the hell do these middle class folk think they are going to do, store food in barns?

    Do these advisers NOT understand that in a Depression money is simply

    worthless?

    401 Ks and paying off debt won't save anyone–maybe in 29, it helped, but in This day and age, with the violence in our society AND THE INCREASED POPULATION,

    not even including the immigrant population,

    is the GAP so wide that its not just government anymore that is out of touch with the people,

    but People out of touch with People?

    I think so, I think in our technical age people have truly lost touch with reality, when cyber financial advisers tell people that the answer to surviving a

    Depression or a Severe Recession [lol] is to pay off house debt–to a huge majority who may not have jobs tomorrow to pay for a box much less debt,

    that tells me, out of touch is Exactly what they are. No wonder,

    our world is in the financial mess its in.

    Goes to show–times really don't change much, or

    that history really does repeat itself.

    Natasha

Comments are closed.

