Skip to content

My Disclaimer for The Real Housewives of Atlanta Entries

October 9, 2008
Okay, I have been reading around the net about The Real Housewives of Atlanta. There is a lot of nasty, racist, internalised racist and trifling crap being slung about. There are so many thoughts swimming around in my head, I’m not sure if I can do them justice right now. I started to post some of the ripe comments that I have read but I’m not even trying to get into an Internet war. Just trust me, they are bad. It is as if once a reality show makes the cast predominately black on a mostly catering to white people network, all hell breaks loose.

First, for the record, it is not that serious. Blogging about The Real Housewives of Atlanta is my attempt at having fun with blogging again.

Second, I promise that I am always going to try my hardest to remember that these five women are human beings, not just the vacuous representation that Bravo is pushing in a forty-four minute time slot.

Third, so what if the women do not actually live in the city of Atlanta. Good grief, talk about having to prove technicalities. I am not familiar with the first two Real Housewives but I am interested in knowing if the addresses of the women of Orange County and New York City were scrutinised under such a magnifying glass.

Fourth, black women are not a monolith. Repeat after me, black women are not a monolith. The four black women on this show can completely and utterly show their asses and it will not be an example of black women collectively, —-unless you make it so. The women in The Real Housewives of Atlanta are individuals just as the housewives of Orange County and New York City are. Did anyone force any of those women in Orange County or New York City to become the poster child for their respective socially constructed race? Then why are you doing it to the women in Atlanta (okay, around Atlanta, or could we say the Atlanta-Metropolitan. There, are you happy now?).

Moving along.

Fifth, of course for the most part these women have money from marriage (or a relationship), duh, note the word housewives in the title. This brings me to number six.

Sixth, I understand this show is coming from a patriarchal and heteronormative bent. We are aware of this here. My comments and observations will more than likely fall under this realm because the show’s premise is functioning under said realm. Discussing in a particular realm does not necessarily prove a preference for that realm. But I do reserve the right to criticise its patriarchal and heteronormative premise for being patriarchal and heteronormative at any give time.

Seventh, do not be surprise if a detail is changed in an entry from time to time. I am a restless flake. Usually it takes two or three viewings of something for me to feel comfortable stating something unequivocally because I am not always completely engaged. Therefore, I may get names and details mixed up until I have a chance to watch an episode over. It happens because I don’t do TiVo, don’t rely on what others say (I like seeing with my own eyes) and nothing is important enough for me to bother with recording it.

Eight, I doubt if many will read this series or comment, but if some decide to, all comments with gold-digger (yes, I am already reading this mess), ho, tramp, or any other misogynistic language in it will be deleted.

Perhaps I will add to this list later. The next post will be about my first impression of each woman.

2 Comments
  1. Chris permalink
    October 9, 2008 6:15 pm

    Thank you for saying something positive about these women. I live in Atlanta and some of the comments that I have read on the blogs pisses me off. Not only do some of the comments contain racial undertones, they are downright ridiculous. THIS HAS TO STOP TODAY AMERICA!! Do not forget that we (African-American) were forced to come to America. Now that we are here and equal to everyone else, DEAL WITH IT!

  2. The Fabulous Kitty Glendower permalink
    October 12, 2008 9:00 pm

    Chris, thanks for visiting. I need to write about each woman before the next episode. Yes, the comments about this show has been awful, and of course there is the “I’m not watching anymore.” Whatever. The same shallow women, now it is supposedly different.

Comments are closed.

