Skip to content

Election Day

November 4, 2008
This morning I drove around voting areas to see if there were crowds, and I specifically checked the fire station that I am to vote at to determine if I could go back on my bicycle, in an attempt to kill three birds with one stone (what a brutal cliché), —exercise, walk the dog, and vote. Suddenly as I drove closer there was an influx of McCain/Palin signs. It looks as if the Republican Party did not have money until this morning, because those signs have not been around before, much less an Obama sign. I do not think the Democratic Party wastes a penny in California, something I hope they will regret, as well as if the Republican Party did not bother to spend money in traditionally red areas. It is so insulting to take a voter/constituent for granted. Yet, the practice has paid off, so it continues, because often voters will not demand a thing for their loyalty and the status quo remains the status quo and the fat cats remain the fat cats, as well as the descendants of fat cats.

Apparently, the Yes on 8 people have plenty of money because there are many signs and bumper stickers displaying their bigotry. It was sickening watching all the mini-vans and SUVs drop off their bigoted little bastards at my daughter’s elementary school, particularly seeing women driving, as if they are saying, “I am very happy to support the continuation of an institution that relegates me into the submissive role and uphold the man as deserving the dominate position.” I think I may go around with a Sharpie and write a No over the Yes. I did see one nice homemade sign that read, Don’t Hate, No on 8. I shall charge my camera batteries, go back, and get a picture.

No signs (that I saw) for Yes or No on 4. That Prop must be underfunded or no one wants to touch it, or is it just not as important as the others are, since it concerns females only. But who keeps bringing it to a vote? I am sure we all can guess.

As I was driving, I saw a little boy, about three years old wearing a red tee shirt and blue jeans, the type with the elastic waist that many toddlers wear. He and his mother were standing on a sidewalk in front of a day care center. She was pulling him toward the front door and he was crying, anchoring his weight, and pointing back to their car. It did not look as if she was at the point that she was late or about to lose her patience but it did bother me. My first thought was a question, what were those people doing to him at that day care center that makes him not want to go in, and then I thought what if he is already, at such a young age, feeling entitled, that he should have his mother to stay home all day to play, hug and kiss him, just him, unlike those nasty day care workers who ignore him. But wouldn’t a little girl child feel the same way? Wouldn’t we all? Would the mother vote today? Would she have time? Are those day care workers abusing that little boy? Why is he fighting so hard not to go in? The center is next door to a police station. Do those coppers menacingly bother the day care workers, thus distracting them from their charges. I remember when I was a young adult, me and my friends could always rely on getting a job at a day care center if we could not find another job somewhere else? Do the workers flirt with the cops? Are the children ignored when the workers flirt with the cops? What difference does my vote make anyway. It is always about the money and power.

One Comment
  1. Anna permalink
    November 8, 2008 4:44 am

    I do understand your frustration, but for what it's worth, Kitty. My young son & I stood in line for 2 hours to vote blue in a state guaranteed to go red – so much so that neither presidential party spent any time in the state. As did many other blue voters. I knew my votes wouldn't change the color of my state, but I was determined to be "heard." Turns out – even though red won the day – it did not win the day by as much as it is used to winning by. Our blue votes perhaps made their point?

    And I hope my son never forgets how important his mother thought voting was by dragging him (there was no school) to the polls to stand in line at 7am.

Comments are closed.

