Skip to content

Which Way Does The Wind Blow?

December 13, 2008

West to northwest winds 20 to 30 mph with gusts to 40 mph…diminishing to 10 to 20 mph after midnight.

Would this mean the winds are blowing toward the West and the Northwest or from the West and the Northwest?

In Bleak House, if the winds were in the East, Mr. John Jarndyce was crossed? Again, would it mean the winds are blowing toward the East or from the East?

How and why should I know this already? Was it taught in school?

10 Comments
  1. Walt permalink
    December 14, 2008 4:33 am

    Silly girl, they are telling you where the wind is coming from, not where it is going. There is somethig phallic about your bong, must be why the call it hope.
    Love your funky music, weather girl.

  2. The Fabulous Kitty Glendower permalink
    December 14, 2008 6:53 am

    It’s the in that is occasionally used that throws me. In the East. It almost sounds like the winds just start out of thin air, right there, where they are claiming it to be, inside that area. See that is what happens when you try to dissect language down to the tiniest prepositions. Eh, prepositions and their phrases, I just don’t get them.

    I suspect that bong is going to be reached for often in the future. Contortion becomes too painful to ignore, and relief (escape) will be necessary.

  3. Walt permalink
    December 14, 2008 10:57 am

    I undrestand, there was a time when I had high and low pressure confused. I thought if you can feel the wind it must be high pressure.
    Dew point was another one.

  4. The Fabulous Kitty Glendower permalink
    December 14, 2008 9:50 pm

    Now Walt, you are exposing your weather geek side. Even I, the pondering pest, have never wondered about barometric pressure and dew point. But, I am wondering at the moment, what happened to that 70% of rain we were forewarned about. I don’t see a cloud in the sky.

  5. Walt permalink
    December 14, 2008 10:52 pm

    Oh Kitty Kitty Kitty, I love a woman with lots of balls. Where on earth are you? We seem to be having the same weather. I would check the weather map, if I knew where to look.

  6. The Fabulous Kitty Glendower permalink
    December 15, 2008 2:29 am

    Walt, if you are going to hang out here you will have to do better with the gender-fied language. Should I take balls to be a good thing, if so, are you saying I must incorporate maleness to be good or worthy of attention?

    By the way, I’m no where and everywhere, like a witch.

  7. Walt permalink
    December 15, 2008 4:04 am

    Weather Girl, welcome to the world of men 101. Balls is one of the highest salutes that one can be given, for so few men have them. Balls symbolizes a lot of things like determination courage, gusto, and panache. However it is true, that men without balls often resent those who have. I would even go as far to say: That you got balls of steel girl, that is why I like you. Dangerous women are much more interesting than bimbos who think they are pretty. I may feel much at home with you, but I don’t have to hang out here. If you want me as a friend, who is not afraid to kick your butt when needed.
    Come and get me!

  8. A-mazing Amazon permalink
    December 15, 2008 5:59 pm

    kkkkkggghhh….(it’s hard to spell the sound that just came out of my throat)

    walt, why does such a high salute have to be male anatomy? told to a woman? does it even occur to you that balls are sweaty and nasty and pretty much represent what’s repulsive about a man to women? yo, the balls are too close to the ass (in every respect) to hold any esteem with women. that is, unless the woman/women you speak to are very eager to please the patriarchy.

    although, hey, i could just be speaking for myself here.

  9. The Fabulous Kitty Glendower permalink
    December 15, 2008 6:06 pm

    No, AA, you are not alone. I do not wish to center maleness, nor do I want balls. There is other language that can be used to describe positive characteristics. I hate that to get along with many it has to be the male narrative or nothing.

  10. Walt permalink
    December 15, 2008 9:43 pm

    Egads! I better answer this, or run the risk of being called a pussy. Life is not always fair, and in a male dominated Christian/Islamic society; those without balls, are the lowest of the low. Women have suffered for thousands of years under the stigma false religious doctrine. Dogma by man for man. The never ending curse of Eve is a myth, created to insure male dominance. The Adam and Eve story is related to an ancient Sumerian and Babylonian story. By bestowing you with a grand set of balls, I’m at least saying I consider you equal, if not superior, to the best of men.

Comments are closed.

