Skip to content

Christmas Eve-Eve Antics

December 24, 2008
My friend, Angie Kay occasionally engages in soppiness. Just this morning I opened an email in which she expresses how wonderful I am and ends it talking about making lemonade when life gives you lemons. The thing is, I am only wonderful because she does not know what is in the box I sent her. I should have stuck a note on the outside demanding that expectations remain low. However, she did relay the good news that FEMA finally paid, after rejecting her twice, for her mother’s roof. It is always the same with government agencies, FEMA, SSA, VA, they deny the first time whether you have a substantial claim or not. They deny the second time, whether you have a substantial case or not. It is not until the third appeal, maybe, the fourth or fifth resubmitted request, do they approve (if they are inclined to approve). In her case, they were denying on the grounds that Angie and her mother did not evacuate. Well, duh! Their zip code was told not to evacuate, that it would not be necessary, in fact, it was discouraged because they would only cause the roads to be more crowded. And of course their zip code was among the last to have the power restored after ten or more days, post-Ike. Government agencies hope that you go away and with each denial the possibly that you will go away is greater. It is the old wear you down technique.

Anyway, I try when I can to take on this making lemonade out of lemons attitude whenever I am in the mood. Living with a holiday drunk one must do such things. Exhibit A. Mr. Glendower knew he had to go into work this morning, if only for a few hours, and then pick up our Christmas ham, and to pick up more stuff (not that we need any thing more, but he is the man who overindulges us!). Therefore, last night he decided to drink. Everyone knows you don’t drink on Christmas Eve-Eve, especially if you have work the next day. Maybe Christmas Eve, and of course Christmas Day (if you are so inclined), but Christmas Eve-Eve is pushing it a bit. He had a foolproof plan. He would eat Menudo before (or after, he could not remember) his drinking because that is what the men at work told him that they do and if he hasn’t notice they do just fine, excluding the few incidents where they had to get fingers sewn back on and such. But that is them, Mr. Glendower is the boss, so that is not an issue for him, –according to him. Nevertheless, this morning when I woke up I found this (see the first picture) on the counter. Some of the beer bottles are brown because they come that way, but not the one on the right. It is brown because it is full. Yes, opened, but full. By the way, he uses that big ass BBQ spatula as his bottle opener. I so bought him a nice little bottle opener from England, but for some reason that humongous spatula must be carted out for the occasion. Apparently, he opened the last beer, sat down to drink it, and fell asleep. He woke up this morning, with beer in hand and not a drop spilled. Supposedly, he fell asleep because he ate the menudo first, which made him remember the formula, to prevent the hangover, the menudo must be eaten last. And I am here to tell you, it should be illegal to force other family members to smell that stuff. Pure torture. The second picture is his menudo cans and the trail of mess he made on the cabinet. Read the can, it makes an effort to say without hominy. Yuck! With or without hominy makes no difference to me. Honestly, I could have done without thinking of hominy all together. And see that package of menudo mix? Some woman in the grocery story saw Mr. Glendower buying the menudo in the can and insisted that he added that mix to it. It will make it taste perfect she claimed. After he was off to work, I washed one of the menudo cans out (actually I put it in the dishwasher because I didn’t want any of the smell left) and I made this Christmas decoration (see the last photo). The holidays just ain’t the holidays without a hot glue gun, beads, and pipe cleaners. There you have it, lemons=lemonade. Thanks Angie Kay.

Why yes, that is a hot yellow 1970s counter top. LOL!

4 Comments
  1. A-mazing Amazon permalink
    December 25, 2008 6:47 am

    the father of a guy i dated swore by menudo. yep, its a morning after hangover fix, and this guy would have me drive him, because he didn’t have a liscence or a car, to this resteraunt up the street for menudo the morning after he’d get plastered. blech. menudo always reminds me of that guy.

  2. Chris permalink
    December 25, 2008 5:41 pm

    I thought WATCHING Menudo would put you to sleep!

    I used to LOVE Newcastle Brown, but now I can only drink Keystone Light because 1) it’s cheap and 2) it’s only a bit more alcoholic than water. In fact, I’m pretty sure it IS water.

    Merry Christmas to you and your family. I hope you all are having a great day together!

  3. Deb permalink
    December 25, 2008 6:13 pm

    A great Christmas story and a beautiful transformation. Merry Christmas Kitty.

  4. The Fabulous Kitty Glendower permalink
    December 25, 2008 9:37 pm

    AA, I will tell him the real formula!

    Merry Christmas to you all, AA, Chris, and Deb.

Comments are closed.

