Skip to content

Talking Taxes, Around the Way

March 5, 2009
I don’t think I have ever met anyone who did what they said they were going to do with their income tax refund check.

If I hear one more story from a mother talking about how her child’s father is harassing her to let him use their child’s social security number as an exemption on his taxes, I’m going to holler. Holler, I tell you! No, I will not help you calculate to determine which one of you will get more money back if either of you used the child as an exemption. What about next year? If he files his taxes earlier than you file and use your child’s number again, the I.R.S will more than likely support him when you complain, after you file your taxes and find out that he already used the child that you tried to use. It is called a pattern. And, I might add, you know you did claim 2 all year, now if you let him claim the child, what are you going to do if you end up owing money? If you let him use your child and his refund is kept due to a garnishment (because he owes back child support for another baby whose mother is not letting him use the child as an exemption), what are you going to do? How can you trust that he will give you the amount of refund he claims he will give you if you let him use the child as an exemption?

O’ the drama.

Comments are closed.

