Skip to content

Jock-in-the-Box

April 30, 2009

Obviously locker room humor is responsible for Jack-in-the-Box’s latest commercial. I read somewhere once someone whining about how feminists waste time when we point out sexism and misogyny in mainstream culture, because supposedly it does little to nothing for feminism. I disagree. Not everyone is aware of sexism and misogyny in commercials, even when it is whacking one over the head. Perhaps, I should say why I think this commercial is horrible, but, there are times when all one can do is roll one’s eyes. That is after the twitching and wrenching and flinching subsides, that my sexism-radar invoked.

Do you find the following commercial sexist?

9 Comments
  1. May 1, 2009 1:09 am

    Ugh! That commercial reeks of misogyny.

  2. rhiannonproblematising permalink
    May 1, 2009 6:48 am

    Very. It probably thinks it’s being taboo-breaking by talking about the menopause, but it simply reduces the woman to a bag of hormones.

  3. Polly Styrene permalink
    May 1, 2009 7:17 am

    They appeared to have nicked the idea from the film ‘Serial Mom’. But yeah it’s misogynist.

  4. May 1, 2009 8:31 am

    It is so OTT, surely it is a spoof?

  5. Level Best permalink
    May 1, 2009 4:31 pm

    The media keep us awash in consumeristic, shallow, misogynist messages, and this is one of them. It’s a training video for kids to have contempt for women and in particular for older ones.

  6. May 1, 2009 8:15 pm

    Yes, I’ll vote misogyny. Also a big WTF. Women with menopause are crazy bitches, but Jack-in-the-Box’s smoothie turns them into zombies?

  7. May 1, 2009 10:28 pm

    Well, there are more women going through menopause in the U.S. right now than ever before in history, and nary a peep from them! So if women don’t take control of the discourse, we will see stuff like this.
    I’m so surprised. Aren’t boomers the women who would change everything with their forthrightness about their bodies and so on? And all I hear is this vast silence.

    • May 1, 2009 10:48 pm

      I don’t know. I don’t consider myself a boomer and I am not going through menopause. I think the people who are boomers are too busy getting botox injections. And no one is to mention it, because that would sound too much like appearance-shaming.

  8. May 2, 2009 4:31 am

    True enough.

Comments are closed.

