Skip to content

Perez Hilton and Donald Trump Are Both Men

May 12, 2009

Many liberal minded people believe that women and gay men are natural allies. I don’t see how gay men are any more feminist than liberal-minded heterosexual men. If anything, I feel comfortable saying that they both are equally sexist/misogynist. It is just their sexism is  manifested in different ways.

Of course Donald Trump was not going to strip Miss California of her title, Donald Trump is a patriarch. In other words, he is a sexist. Without examining his personal life, one just has to watch him interact with female apprentice candidates on that stupid show he used to peacock about to determine what he thinks of women.

Since all the players have been white and/or white identified (if you want to get nit-picky about exactly what Perez Hilton may or may not be, he is white-identified, thus white for this deconstruction), racism and classism cannot distract you from seeing the clear cut sexist facts in this latest manufactured drama.

Donald Trump hates women. He demonstrates this by being head poo-bah in charge of the of the let’s view women as fuckable brigade. In his world, women are objects for male pleasure. Female value is determined by which woman is most feminine/the most fuckable. By Trump’s rulebook, Miss California did absolutely nothing wrong. Breast implants are to the benefit of men. Posing nude or partially nude is to the benefit of men. Competing in a pageant that sanctions the parading of a female body is to the benefit of men. Advocating heterosexual marriage is to the benefit of men. As a woman in the patriarchy, Miss California did her duty to the best of her ability.

Perez Hilton hates women. He demonstrates this by making money off celebrity gossip, –the very industry that unapologetically view women as fuckable objects. (He exploits the popularity of Paris Hilton’s name, FFS.  His real name is Mario Armando Lavandeira ). Perez Hilton homosexuality does not make him an automatic  ally to women. He uses misogyny to further his agenda; the gay males should have equal access to exploiting women as heterosexual males do agenda. Yes, some could argue that the use of word gay is meant to include lesbians, but, in reality, we all know the Perez Hiltons’ of the world only care about gay men. And some can stretch what I am saying and claim it is anti-gay. Not at all. Perez Hilton simply wants to be equal to heterosexual men, and if that goal is achieved at the expense of women, so be it.

Instead of taking on patriarchal institutions, Perez Hilton used an opportunity to spew venom at a woman. More than likely, he knew what her answer would be.  Nothing Miss California said or did is worse than what Donald Trump says and does daily. Her agency in a patriarchy is limited; Trump’s and Hilton’s  agency is not limited.  Why didn’t Hilton go after Trump? After all, Trump says and does everything Miss California said and did, except he has power and money behind his words and actions. Yet, Perez Hilton chose a woman as his target. Why?

So how are Trump and Hilton different? They aren’t. They are both misogynists. And anyone who condemns Miss California’s tool-ness instead of questioning Trump’s and Hilton’s sexism/misogyny should perhaps examine his or her own misogyny first.

22 Comments
  1. kamododragon permalink
    May 12, 2009 8:23 pm

    I think that Prez Hilton is one of the most sexist, misogynist gay men I have ever come across. He’s so vile, that every time I see his crap on Tv or his face on Tv, I get those weird vibes. What he did to Miss California, was so wrong and to go on Skype to spew his sexist, misogynistic hatred of women for all to see, show’s that Prez Hilton is one of those gay men who have way too much drama on their hands. People like Prez Hilton almost act like [the stereotype of] valley girls with too much drama. What he’s doing to gay men in general is making them look bad.

    • May 12, 2009 8:28 pm

      That’s just it, I don’t think it matters if he is gay or not. He is a man.

    • kamododragon permalink
      May 13, 2009 2:57 am

      Yes he is a man, but what creeps me is what he did afterwords such as what Prez hilton did on his site after the pageant. What he said to Miss California creeped me out.

  2. atheistwoman permalink
    May 12, 2009 8:28 pm

    Thankfully, I’ve pretty much always seen through the gay men as “natural allies” bullshit. Which is why it pretty much sends me a loop that they are now flooding “women’s studies” courses. Well f that.

  3. May 12, 2009 8:34 pm

    Oh, and the red herrings are flying about. Why care what is said about a woman who is so obviously pro-heterosexual? Why care about a woman who has the “agency” to enter into a pageant that is obviously exploitative? Why speak out against the sexism of a gay man, —isn’t he oppressed too? Why why why. Why is it always a woman who gets the vilest shit thrown at her, –regardless of what political sphere she gravitates from or toward?

  4. atheistwoman permalink
    May 12, 2009 8:35 pm

    Yes, sorry, that was what I am trying to get at. It doesn’t matter if they are gay or a cross-dresser, or even “expressive with your gender,” or transgender, they are all just misogynist males.

  5. atheistwoman permalink
    May 12, 2009 8:36 pm

    Yep, because she is a woman she is trash.

  6. May 12, 2009 11:04 pm

    Well, I don’t know much about this particular situation but I can certainly vouch for the misogyny of gay men, including the misogyny of those who call themselves female in order to to avoid persecution as gay men.

  7. May 12, 2009 11:17 pm

    You know, Kitty, I used to be a big fan of gay men and see them as allies. It’s mostly been your posts about them, and a few other things, that have gotten me to change my mind.

    In retrospect, I’ve noticed many, many occasions where gay men felt entitled to touch or comment on my or other women’s bodies. I’ve been to lots of gay parties, and the gay dudes are gropier than the straight dudes (and the straight dudes are pretty free with their hands). Being groped by gay dudes never bothered me because it didn’t feel sexual and because I didn’t feel like it was at risk of escalating into a worse assault.

    It’s only in retrospect that I can see how fucking creepy it is.

    And I used to be a fan of drag shows, but I see how the ministrel-esque elements …

    So thank you, Kitty, for opening my eyes!

    • May 12, 2009 11:33 pm

      Yes, the touching reminds me of the freedom Clay Aiken felt when he touched Kelly Ripa and then when she reacted unwelcomingly, she was called a homophobe.

      It is very simple. If you are not invited to touch, you don’t fucking touch. I understand the desire, the “I am your friend [whether you think that or not] and gay, so what is the big deal.” But, I also understand the flip slide, “You don’t know me like that!” And to not consider the possibility of the flipside is an act of male entitlement. Just because the gay man doesn’t want to fuck a woman does not give him free range to touch said woman.

    • May 13, 2009 1:56 am

      Yes, exactly, your Clay Aiken post was something that got me thinking about that!

    • May 13, 2009 4:17 pm

      Yeah, but he didn’t JUST touch her (which would have been bad enough) he PUT HIS HAND OVER HER MOUTH.

    • May 13, 2009 5:11 pm

      That Ripa and Aiken thing just make me want to scream. I was not aware of it when it first happened but discovered it when I was angry about Aiken’s mistreating a woman on an aero plane, and it just set me off. Throw Rosie O’ Donnell in the mix and it complicates the matter. But this, this here, puts it in perspective.

      That’s what makes Rosie a gay woman and me a lesbian feminist, I guess. Because, you know, I don’t care whether some guy’s hand has been in his own or someone else’s crotch, or if it has just been through a decontamination chamber on returning from a mission to Mars, I don’t want it over my mouth.

      That helps me understand the confusion, frustration, and feelings of betrayal I had with one or two lesbian women in the military when they clearly sided with men in situations that were without a doubt, sexist, if not down right misogynist. Instead of me being stuck on if I had a problem with lesbians or not, and if said lesbian had a problem with me (someone who fucked men at the time), I completely missed the possibility that she would have an allegiance with men. I remember sneering to myself that she was a sell out, but I could not peg her motivation. I guess I assumed siding with men would be out of the question and not a possibility to consider since she was not having sex with men. This tells me that in some realm in the past I suspected having sex forms an allegiance when in reality it is not necessarily the case. That has to be patriarchal conditioning talking. Actually, that does not make sense, because if I believe having sex forms an allegiance and I was not having sex with lesbians, then why was I willing to give and expected to get an allegiance from them. I supposed I thought at the time women would automatically form a bond, thus, felt betrayed when my expectations were not met. But I am not suggesting that lesbians as more prone to identifying with men, because we all know how many heterosexual (presumably) women side with men every day simply by being heterosexual.

      And you know, I am well aware of the damage the promiscuity trope may cause male homosexuals and try not to contribute to that because what good will it achieve. My childhood friend, who is now dead (died of AIDS in Dec. 1991) was so promiscuous that at times I could not believe his stories, –the bathhouses, the midtown spa, the bookstores, Foley’s downtown second floor restroom, etc. I know how I do not supposed to bring this up because it gives credence to the narrative that homosexuals (I am going with males here) spread AIDS and want to rape heterosexual men and all the other grossly untrue stereotypes that homophobes use in order to suppress male homosexuals. Because male-heterosexuality use so much against male homosexuals I normally keep my mouth shut. It is the keeping my mouth shut that has led me to feel betrayed when male homosexuals display such blatant sexism. There seems to be an agreement that we made some where along the way, with me keeping my end of the bargain while he is not. That makes me angry, and makes me think aloud as to why I should protect him while he treats my sisters like shit. Even if those sisters are women who uphold patriarchal bullshit such as beauty pageants.

      And I am sure something above will get me in trouble, some how because I do put my desire to untangle things before potential hurt my words may cause others. It is one of my failings.

  8. May 12, 2009 11:32 pm

    AW, I just deleted the whole mess. Hope you don’t mind.

  9. atheistwoman permalink
    May 12, 2009 11:45 pm

    Nah, not at all.

  10. unmarrieddaughter permalink
    May 13, 2009 3:21 am

    Yes, shakesville aside, I don’t see gay men as natural allies at all. In fact, in my experience, gay men act more priviliged than a lot of the straight men I know. I find myself nodding in agreement with your groping experiences, jocieclaire.

    What really bugs me is that if you call gay men on their inappropriate touching, or any thing else that defends your body, or a woman’s right to exist, gay men not only claim their male privilege, but they also will throw in the “but I am gay” defense. As if having a gay man tell me that shirt with that bra makes me look like shit while grabbing my breasts to show the lift I should be getting, makes that all okay because he’s like so gay and isn’t going to rape me or anything. After all he is just trying to help me, and I should be so grateful and just forget about the gross violation of my personal space.

    As if any doubt that gay men aren’t misogynistic, take a look at the fashion industry and the gay male designers. enough said in my book.

  11. atheistwoman permalink
    May 13, 2009 3:28 am

    Yes, recently I had to work with a gay male. He spent a lot of time insulting my clothes and my body.

    • May 13, 2009 4:22 pm

      One of my gay male co-workers called me and other women bitches and put our menstrual cycles on his calendar so he could “remember” not to “piss us off” on those days. The other one talked about how he could “smell” the “box” of another female coworker. Endlessly I would have to listen to his comments about how “stinky” this woman’s “box” was. On his lunch break he went downtown to get/give blow jobs in the men’s room of a major department store. I can’t tell you the feeling of seeing him come back and know that he had just had an anonymous orgasm during working hours. Yuk.

  12. atheistwoman permalink
    May 13, 2009 4:40 pm

    Yuk indeed. What’s a box?

  13. atheistwoman permalink
    May 13, 2009 4:45 pm

    Ah, nevermind, I just looked it up on urban dictionary. I have also just discovered the “Involuntary You Too,” which has so happened to me…that and “Readers Block” pleh.

Comments are closed.

