Skip to content

Open Thread 5

May 15, 2009

the-back-back-room

21 Comments
  1. May 15, 2009 3:46 pm

    Woo hoo! Friday!

  2. May 15, 2009 4:13 pm

    I’ve been through all of the

    Midsomer Murders
    Miss Marple (featuring Geraldine McEwan)
    Rosemany & Thyme
    Foyle’s War
    and
    Prime Suspect

    I am beginning The Inspector Lynley Mysteries (written by a woman, Elizabeth George). So far, not a good start because I have fallen asleep twice. However, I have been sleepy. The series may be okay.

    However, I did catch the first Wallander, last Sunday night on Masterpiece Theater, and there is something about it, it seems to be missing some umph or something. I know I kept wondering, why in the hell is the steering wheel in his car on the left. Okay, I found out because it supposed to be set in Sweden. Yet, everyone is speaking English. I did read that English is now compulsory, but not the first language. And Kenneth Branagh looks different, not just older, but different.

  3. May 15, 2009 6:09 pm

    I’ve been stuck reading the same god-awful fantasy book for the past year or so, it seems. It’s called Egalia’s Daughters, and I can’t think of the name of the author, despite having been staring at this book for 350 days or so, but it is really really terribly written. I can’t for some reason put it down permanently, though. And it’s not like I don’t have other reading material in the house, either (*wink* to my friend, who knows who she is).

    Thanks to AW, I now have a name for my condition. Reader’s block.

    Shall I start up a support group?

  4. atheistwoman permalink
    May 15, 2009 7:58 pm

    Yes, yes you shall start that support group, and I shall join. We can have weekly pearl clutching sessions about the horrors of withering literacy. ;-).

    What do you think might have caused yours?

  5. May 15, 2009 8:13 pm

    I am having what am I going to do with the rest of my life block. And I’ve had to listen to Neil Young’s song Heart of Gold three times just to rally myself enough to get a cup of coffee.

    • Rich permalink
      May 15, 2009 9:10 pm

      Neil Young: his song about how Obama is gonna save the world really inspired me! Neil said it FIRST! HE KNEW! Of course, if Obama didn’t save us, Neil said it was up to Colin Powell, so maybe politics just ain’t the guy’s bag. 😛

      (I picked up Living With War at a going out of business sale and it’s the only album of his I’ve listened to.)

    • May 15, 2009 11:25 pm

      I still have money on an itunes gift card, perhaps I should try Living with War.

      Yeah, you got that right, politics ain’t his thing, judging by his favorites.

    • Polly Styrene permalink
      May 15, 2009 9:20 pm

      How do you know how long your life is going to be though Kitty?

    • May 15, 2009 11:24 pm

      I don’t, but I can hope it is until I am 90.

    • atheistwoman permalink
      May 15, 2009 10:20 pm

      Oh I’m sorry Kitty. Hopefully things will work out…

    • May 16, 2009 3:56 am

      Thanks AW, it is not that bad, but it is there, so, it is what it is.

  6. May 15, 2009 9:48 pm

    I am having what am I going to do with the rest of my life block.

    OMG me too! It’s a combination of being about to turn 40 and being totally disillusioned from watching feminist women screw each other over, on my part. If I can’t restart the revolution what will I do with the next 20-40 years?

    RE Elizabeth George: Are you reading the books or watching the vids? The books are well written, but either way, if you pick a woman as the murderer you’ll be right at least 75% of the time. FFS.

    • atheistwoman permalink
      May 15, 2009 10:20 pm

      “If I can’t restart the revolution what will I do with the next 20-40 years?”

      Awe Amy :-(. Yeah, that’s how I feel too. And I’m not forty.

    • May 16, 2009 4:01 am

      I’m watching the videos. Yeah, I’ve learned with Midsomer Murders that women are the murderer far more often than reality would have it, and often for the cattiest motives. Then there is the 70-year-old woman who effortlessly kills four people, all differently. Come to find out she was a Russian spy in the 1950s and has stayed fit all of this time. LOL! I guess it is all so campy, but I do tend to love it.

  7. atheistwoman permalink
    May 15, 2009 10:19 pm

    If y’all want to get a good snicker at my expense I suggest heading on over to my place. The face of evol (when I was practicing patriarchal dress full time) has been revealed.

  8. May 16, 2009 5:08 pm

    I moved the weekly open thread to lighten up the weekend. A breather if you will. LOL! We don’t want burn out you know.

    Oh and AW I do have a few pennies to spend over at your joint, I just have to get some obligations out of the way first, like a show the child is in, and a birthday party that she is the guest of honor. I don’t feel like I am having a weekend break. I don’t do obligations well. {{poor lazy me}}

    • atheistwoman permalink
      May 16, 2009 9:53 pm

      Poor lazy you indeed. There is nothing at with being lazy, imo, so don’t rush yourself on my account, it sounds like a stressful weekend…

  9. citywood permalink
    May 16, 2009 9:02 pm

    Hi everyone, hope you’re all having a nice weekend. Anyone else have a long weekend?

    Yesterday I had a harrowing experience on public transit. (Well, harrowing for me, not for any normal person!) First of all the doors closed on me as the driver didn’t see me come up. That put me in a state and I sat down in the nearest seat, not thinking. I don’t like sitting in window seats especially if it’s crowded and I’m not going far. (I hate asking people to move for me, particularly if they’ve just sat down. I never know if I should tell them I’m getting off soon and letting them sit by the window.) So this dude sat down beside me two stops before I had to get off and I kept thinking, OMG what’s he going to think of me! Then I got up at the last minute and stepped on his feet by accident in my rush to get out. Lol.

  10. Mary Sunshine permalink
    May 17, 2009 12:12 am

    Long weekend, yeah.

    The twenty fourth of May is the Queen’s birthday
    If you don’t give us a holiday we’ll all run away”.

    Victoria Day in Canada.

    So we get fireworks twice a year: Victoria Day from colonial times, and then Canada Day (July 1) from our post-colonial 1967 times.

    It’s a busy trip.

Comments are closed.

