Skip to content

Open Thread 7

May 29, 2009

the-back-back-room

23 Comments
  1. May 29, 2009 3:54 pm

    If I never see an SUV again, it will not be soon enough.

  2. atheistwoman permalink
    May 29, 2009 4:06 pm

    ;-). If I never see an armored car, a hummer, a limousine, a car with a driver, or a black car with black windows it will not be soon enough. Little SUVS don’t bother me so much (though the big ones do). On the other hand Le Smart Car is ffing adorable and I want more of them around.

  3. May 29, 2009 4:18 pm

    I made the best Lime Meltaways this past week. Yummy. About the size of a thick quarter (or a thicker shilling if you are in England). And I have learned, that if you don’t like lime you can substitute with any other citrus, such as lemon or orange. The important thing is the zesting, –must have a zester or a small hole grater.

    If you are scare of baking, don’t be, it is so easy. When you put it is in your mouth, it is just so good.

    I use this recipe. Lime Meltaways.

  4. May 29, 2009 4:19 pm

    Those tinted windows creep me out. I suppose they’re somewhat justified here in the blazing desert sun, but yesterday at the clinic a fancy pickup with completely opaque windows pulled into the parking lot and as I’m approaching it I’m thinking, geez, there could be a right-wing nut-job in there with a gun and I wouldn’t know a thing about it until it was too late.

    Creepy.

  5. May 29, 2009 5:33 pm

  6. theunmarrieddaughter permalink
    May 29, 2009 7:25 pm

    Hello all.

    I drive a small SUV-(CR-V), and I truly, really, and honestly tried to like the Honda hybrid(sedan) before I bought my CR-V. I drove that hybrid on four test drives, before I decided the far North I lived in, and how I wanted my car to preform for me the CR-V was the better choice overall. Let me also state that Hummers piss me off royally. Honestly, unless the Taliban is firing RPG cartridges at your car as you pull out of the driveway, you more than likely don’t need a Hummer.(Hat tip to Steven Wright)

    Where I am now being subsitute mom to two boys while their parents are off touring Europe, there are tons of Hummers, Rovers, etc. I just grit my teeth, especially since most of the Hummers are driven by white, rich frat boy-men who are steeped in their privilege. I have had words with the neighbor all ready about how he doesn’t get to block the street to coach his son in throwing like a boy as he is pulling out to go golfing. Yeah, my friend is right, one day I am going to be punched in the mouth by a man because I call them out on so much shit.

    Oh, and the big lesson of the week for the six year old: “No, you don’t scream like a girl, dear, you scream like a person, and while I don’t condone what you are screaming about at the moment, (frozen cookies), there is nothing “girlish” about screaming, or for that matter, wrong in being a girl.”

    On one hand, my energy is going into somewhat shaping these boys or as much as I can in a week,(sorry Margie) and I don’t want my energy being wasted, but on the other hand, I am making a huge chunk of money for doing this work. It’s always a trade off.

    Ms. Kitty, may I have a recipe for the coolers? They sound very good.

    Tinted windows north of the Mason Dixon Line are ridiculous.

    I am feeling guilty. I left my home and my dying mother to take care of these boys, and my mother is really, really, really dying, as in the next four weeks. I had planned to be there, but this job has huge payoffs for me, I mean these boys absolutely love me, and I love doing this type of work, and of course the money, and its Chicago!(YAY!) and not bumblef*ck Northern Minnesota with its Minnesota Passive-Aggressiveness,(minnesota Nice) and I asked my dad as I finished the second day of my drive to Chicago if I should turn around and head back, and he said “to do what?”, but still I feel like I should be there to watch my mom die. I feel, I who have done nothing but sacrifice my life, (in compensation for my family’s things, their money, their food, their house) for my mother, and yet it feels like it is not enough and I should be there as she slips into her death coma, instead of doing something for me, (make a huge pile of money, be unconditionally loved, little A danced in the front hall for 10 minutes straight the day I arrived and then kept crawling on my lap to give me hugs and kisses for the next hour, how often is that ever going occur in my life again?, and give two parents a needed break, oh and introduce some “heresies” about the patriarchy to little boys) . How can I ever feel like it wasn’t enough?

    Which, again, let me state death is totally overrated in this society, I just wish we cherished life(as in the lives that are here not in the fetus fetishism movement), instead of being in a death culture, but what I can expect really, the last 2000 years we worshiped a guy who was tortured to death and told that is how we knew he loved us, he died for us. I don’t know about anyone else, but I am so over this death culture.

    Okay, off to do battle with said Hummers as I pick the boys up from school. Then maybe take them to see UP at the theatre.

    • May 29, 2009 7:48 pm

      If only SUV on the road were a CRV, it would be a completely different world. SUVs don’t have to be hummers to be nuisances, Suburbans, Yukons, Expeditions, Explorers, Pilots, Highlanders, Tahoes, Excursions (horrible, just horrible), all too big. A driver cannot see around them for nothing. I hate it. I hate driving blind, driving at the person in front of me mercy. And don’t get me started how so many drivers (in all vehicles) swerve into the bike lane. What are you doing that you have to swerve in the bike lane? Oh, I know, you are on the cell phone.

      I am glad Unmarried daughter you feel comfortable speaking your heart here. I don’t know what to say about your mother. Not to long ago another feminist was experiencing something similar with a dying mother.

      As far as caring for the boys. We are all colluders. At least (prepare for the bee that is stuck in my bonnet) you are not using misogyny to talk about the boy’s mothers. I feel like shit when I have to help a male in my line of work.

      Oh, and my sweet perfect angel wants to see Up as well.

  7. atheistwoman permalink
    May 29, 2009 7:40 pm

    Well, I’m north of the mason-dixon line (barely) but important personages always feel the need to inform the “little people” that they are indeed important personages, and don’t you little people forget it.

    Which, again, let me state death is totally overrated in this society, I just wish we cherished life(as in the lives that are here not in the fetus fetishism movement), instead of being in a death culture, but what I can expect really, the last 2000 years we worshiped a guy who was tortured to death and told that is how we knew he loved us, he died for us. I don’t know about anyone else, but I am so over this death culture.

    Bwahahaa!!!

    • May 29, 2009 7:49 pm

      ….inform the “little people” that they are indeed important personages, and don’t you little people forget it.

      No, you cannot forget that..

  8. atheistwoman permalink
    May 29, 2009 10:49 pm

    I hope you know I was including myself in that “little people,” lol.

  9. May 29, 2009 10:52 pm

    Yeah, I was. Hey, got you a present. I love Black Adder:

    • atheistwoman permalink
      May 29, 2009 11:06 pm

      I love BlackAdder. :-). Did you ever see the one where they were in WW1 (?) and he ended up wearing underwear on his head. LOL.

      Thanks for the present.

    • May 29, 2009 11:08 pm

      I’ve seen them all. I checked the set out from the library. It is about time to do it again. They are really sexist though in parts, but, I do love the fuck you style Black Adder displays to the upper classes.

    • atheistwoman permalink
      May 30, 2009 3:28 am

      So was it WW1, do you remember?

      And yes it is expected that it would be sexist, of course. And yet again a male-dominated class. Remember goils, daddy hitchens says you must never be funny.

    • May 30, 2009 3:43 am

      Yes it was WWI. Black Adder wanted to pretend he was insane so he would not have to go on a mission that was surely suicidal. He devised a plan to put underwear on his head and pencils up his nose to appear crazy. But before he went through with it, he heard his superior talking about how soldiers were always trying to appear crazy by putting underwear on their heads and pencils up their noses.

  10. May 29, 2009 10:56 pm

    For Mary Sunshine:

    • atheistwoman permalink
      May 29, 2009 11:09 pm

      They must have been spying on me when I was in elementary school. LOL.

    • atheistwoman permalink
      May 29, 2009 11:10 pm

      That or when I was playing dominoes over the weekend ;-).

  11. citywood permalink
    May 30, 2009 3:17 am

    I keep listening to the soundtrack of Amelie.

    The whole thing is on youtube.

  12. atheistwoman permalink
    May 30, 2009 3:27 am

    Citywood that was lovely.

  13. May 30, 2009 3:47 am

    Okay, I shall throw in the pianoforte as well. LOL!

  14. May 31, 2009 8:05 pm

    Spammers must be getting paid time and a half today.

Comments are closed.

