Skip to content

Open Thread 9

June 12, 2009

the-back-back-room

36 Comments
  1. June 12, 2009 1:00 pm

    I have the limemeltaways done. They are cooling. Last day of school.

  2. June 12, 2009 1:14 pm

    Apparently having money does not protect one from delusions.

    Chastity Bono announces sex change

    Of course when a lesbian woman no longer wants to deal with ol Chastity, it will not be because that lesbian woman prefers, you know, women, it will be because she is transphobic.

  3. June 12, 2009 2:42 pm

    I just don’t understand why these people would rather mutilate themselves than change society. In any event folks should definitely get over this notion that not wanting to have sex with someone is discrimination. I mean, sure, there are bigots who would choose not to sleep with me, but that’s not what makes them bigots.

    • June 12, 2009 6:19 pm

      The whole female-to-male sex change thing doesn’t even make sense to me, because doctors haven’t developed a very good fake-penis surgery, so few FTM transsexuals get the “bottom” surgery. So it amounts to a cosmetic double-mastectomy, testosterone injections, and I guess just dressing and acting as “butch” as possible?

      She’s been a very-publicly out lesbian for 20 years, if she always felt “masculine” on the inside, why not just butch it up some more? Plenty of lesbians maintain androgynous appearances and mannerisms without feeling the need to deny their womanhood.

      Chastity is in a very privileged and famous position, and she could be a public advocate of expanding gender roles. But instead … “I don’t fit in with the feminine stereotype, must be ‘cuz I’m a ‘man on the inside.'”

    • June 12, 2009 7:14 pm

      Wait, who is saying that if people don’t want to sleep with them it’s discrimination?

      And I do think the whole “I wouldn’t want my daughter to marry one!!!!” thing is evidence of bigotry, but perhaps not the kind that ought to be addressed via legislation. LOL.

  4. June 12, 2009 3:37 pm

    So, will Chastity Bono change her/his name with the sex change?
    My suggestion would be “Inowhavea” Bono.

    I assume she will still be sexually attracted to women after this – how much more lesphobic can you get?

    Quote from Bono:

    Bono describes the realization of being “somehow different — specifically different from who my mom expected me to be.”

    What, by not being scantily clad, straddling a huge piece of artillery and surrounded by sailors on a ship? No shit sherlock.

    • June 12, 2009 6:17 pm

      Although Cher has certainly nipped and tucked herself enough — maybe the urge to surgical self-mutilation is genetic????

    • June 12, 2009 7:16 pm

      My suggestion would be “Inowhavea” Bono.

      Snort. How about “Mycustombonobiggerthanyour” Bono?

  5. June 12, 2009 4:20 pm

    It is just appalling. And you know all the so-called progressive, all in arrested development trolls who are drowning in privilege applaud her courage. Oh, please, let me throw up now. Courage my ass. More like cowardice. Too cowardly to take the world head on and say “got damnnit I will not present myself in the image that you demand of my sex.” No, no, instead, it is the ol cowardly, “I will be a man and suck up male privilege, because you know, I already have so much got damn privilege with all the fucking money my mother has and will probably leave me, that I need more, more, more and I am too chickenshit to work for the greater good in the world. It is just about me. ME. ME.”

    I assume she will still be sexually attracted to women after this – how much more lesbophobic can you get?

    Exactly, what I was thinking. How much more can you express your hatred for women than mutilating a female body?

    In any event folks should definitely get over this notion that not wanting to have sex with someone is discrimination.

    I can see it now. When the lesbian woman says to Chastity, “no, I’m not interested. If I wanted a man I would not be a lesbian.” Chastity will cry “TRANSPHOBE!” Then when the heterosexual women say, “well, if I wanted a man, I would have a man,” Chastity will cry “TRANSPHOBE.” And then when Chastity decides to “trick” women by not telling them that she was born a woman, then when/if the woman backs out of the relationship it will be “TRANSPHOBE,” you know, instead of like, I don’t appreciate being deceived. The Trans- sets the situation up to be all about them, and if reaction is not 100% acceptance then the world is just full of bigots. Talk about setting one self up to be the ultimate victim.

  6. June 12, 2009 4:22 pm

    Sometimes you just got to say:

    Chastity, go sit your ass down somewhere.

  7. June 12, 2009 4:48 pm

    Mother Spends Months Living In Home For Sale [You do, what you gotta do].

    JUPITER, Fla. — Imagine living for free in a $750,000 home. [Ah, fuck off. How could it be a holiday for her as it is painted? She was probably scared to death she and her children would be discovered every minute of the day.] That’s what a single mother in Jupiter decided to do.

    The 2,500-square-foot house at 240 Poinciana Drive is complete with five bedrooms and three bathrooms. It’s been on the market for two years, but in January neighbors wondered what happened to the for sale sign.

    “It just happened to disappear, and I was talking to my wife and I said, ‘Well, I guess it finally sold,'” neighbor Tommy Taveras said.

    Carri Hastings moved in with her two children and had the water and electricity turned on. She decorated the place and moved in furniture. But there was one problem.

    “She had been living there for the past five months, unknowingly to the homeowner or to the realtor,” Jupiter police spokesman Scott Pascarella said.

    Police said a realtor visited the home Wednesday to take pictures for an updated listing. She called police after she noticed shoes at the door and people inside.

    Officers removed Hastings and her children from the home.[Of course they did. And they will probably try to take her children away too].

    Hastings told police she was recently divorced and had no place to live [That will do it]. It turns out she worked at a title company that did business with the homeowner.

    Hastings worked at Tropical Land Title in Jupiter until last year. Police said she told them she knew the homeowner, who lives in Massachusetts.

    “Honestly, I’m still grappling with it emotionally,” [I am just so DISTRAUGHT!] homeowner Myles Leighton said in a telephone interview with WPBF News 25’s Ted White.

    Leighton owns the home and is a psychology major at Harvard University [Wow, has a home before attending college]. He said he never even heard of Hastings and never gave her permission to live there [Nor would you have ever given any woman like her permission. No, a vacant house is better for all].

    “The fact that she knew who I was just strikes to the core of this moral dilemma even more,” Leighton said. “You have feelings of violation both of your property and for yourself, and just trying to understand why that made sense to that person to include that as an option.”

    Leighton still hopes to sell the home.

    “Yes, apparently it’s been marked down from $800,000 to $400,000 in light of the economy, so (it’s) a great bargain for anybody who’s interested,” he said.

    Hastings refused to comment about the incident.

    • atheistwoman permalink
      June 13, 2009 3:58 am

      I enjoy your editing. Maybe you could work for MSNBC, they need someone with your unique powers…

    • June 13, 2009 6:12 pm

      LOL! I’m lazy so I did not do each line like I do in my head. But that is how I think when I hear the claptrap as it is being rattled off.

  8. June 12, 2009 5:40 pm

    “You have feelings of violation both of your property and for yourself

    Huh? Violation of himself? How?
    Sure, the woman ‘violated’ the house.

    Sorry, still getting over the wording ‘violated’. Hate to see this dude when he gets the flu. He’d be on death’s door for sure…

  9. June 12, 2009 6:20 pm

    My contribution for the benefit of all humankind (I’m not grandiose at all, no, not me!):

    http://www.northernsun.com/n/s/5501.html

    I just bought this today at the local secondhand bookstore.

    • June 12, 2009 10:06 pm

      Nice sticker. Will that go on your bike or car.

      OMG, I cannot believe two people picked:

      “Don’t you have something feminist to write about?”

      LOL!. There is always a whip cracker in the crowd.

    • June 12, 2009 10:19 pm

      I can’t decide where to put the sticker! If I want to put it on the car, it will bring the total to 6, which may be gauche? Or I will have to cover up “Attack Iraq? NO!” or “There is no flag large enough to cover the shame of killing innocent people.” (Can’t bear to part with “STOP male violence against women” or “Fattitude is everything.”)

      If I put it on my bike my fat thighs would just cover it up. 🙂

      Can you believe how neurotic I am — I started trying to read into the motivations of poll voters and figure out why they chose the options that I FRICKING WROTE FOR THEM TO CHOOSE. Amy’s Brain needs an enema or something.

    • atheistwoman permalink
      June 12, 2009 11:28 pm

      LOL. I totally just voted “don’t you have something feminist to write about” for laughs.

      The whole five second rule is a myth, though you probably won’t die. We did that as a lab in that bio class I’m still having nightmares about/practically flunked out of…I believe the bologna was the worst culprit.

  10. June 12, 2009 7:19 pm

    A spokesman for Bono, born a girl to Sonny and Cher, says he “has made the courageous decision to honor his true identity” and began the sex-change process earlier this year…
    The 40-year-old

    Gosh, I thought my mid-life crisis was going badly.

    Someone better send Chastity a letter and warn her that S—— will DEFINITELY never sleep with her now.

  11. June 12, 2009 10:24 pm

    Gee wiz, so some ‘pure’ lesbian says she won’t sleep with me/you/contaminated-exwhore-etc-etc.

    It never occured to them that I would not want to sleep with anyone with an attitude like that?

    Just sayin’ is all.

  12. June 12, 2009 10:29 pm

    When is that Amy going to open comments anyway?! mmm?

    I see my voted-for is one of the equal losers in the poll.

  13. June 12, 2009 11:02 pm

    As this is the open thread, I have been creeped out by this story since reading the early reports, and getting more creeped out with each successive report.

    A woman’s body was found in a wheelie bin (large plastic rubbish bin with wheels) outside a house in Surrey. The previous occupant had moved out three weeks before. The police, ever on the ball come up with: A man who may be able to assist a murder investigation is being sought after the body of a woman was found in a wheelie bin in Hamilton Avenue, Cobham. […] Peter Wallner, 33, moved out roughly three weeks ago and his whereabouts are currently unknown.

    Creepy enough you may think?

    Anyway, the former occupant of the house was arrested and charged today. It seems he (33) and his new wife (23) had moved to Malta (where she is from). It turns out the woman in the bin was his ex-wife. She had not been seen since August 2006. Her body was badly decomposed, and they think it had been stored in a freezer for most of that time.
    http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/uk/crime/article6488706.ece

    But wait, there is more. His (new) father-in-law is saying how innocent Wallner is:
    “I went there [to Surrey] three weeks ago to help them pack,” he said.

    “Before the couple left they filled their wheelie bin with paper and boxes and pushed it onto the street to be emptied,” said Mr Fenech.

    “It’s not true that they are involved in any way in the murder. They weren’t even there when the murder took place,” he said. “They did not flee but left quietly and the police wanted to speak to them simply because they were the last people out of the house.”.

    So, this father-in-law, who must be some sort of genius (ex-wife’s body of his son-in-law, found in bin outside HIS house) comes up with this theory:
    Mr Fenech could not explain why the body was dumped in that particular wheelie bin. “Perhaps it was a vindictive act or someone saw them leave the house. Who knows?” he said.

    Mr Fenech said there had been a spate of vandalism in the area and all the residents woke up to find their car tyres slashed.

    Yes, sounds COMPLETELY plausible. I loved the tyre vandalism thrown in to show crime was rampant in the area, because you know, car tyres and murder are just very similar crimes. Likely to be the exact same criminals committing both offences.

    But how creepy. The new wife may even have been living in the same house with the body of the old wife? I can’t imagine any storage place that would be reliable, but he could have stored her at work (he was a chef), but that would be risky with other people around.

    • June 12, 2009 11:18 pm

      It is creepy. And the whole disposability aspect of it is what fuels my feminism. Yeah, what a crock of shit that his ex-wife’s dead body just happened to be thrown away at the house he used to live in. While I was reading, I was waiting for that. That or the ol’ “we can’t control what goes in the bins once they are placed out on the street.” Yeah right. And who, tell me, since Mister Man is such an angel would hate him so much that a grudge would be so strong that one would not only want to murder his ex-wife (which technically should not be too much skin off his nose, since, she is an ex) and then frame him for it. Who? Whom has he been pissing off so much that they would want to go to such extremes? He probably had an erection and orgasm knowing his latest wife was around his dead ex-wife. You know how those weirdoes get off to the most deviant things.

  14. June 12, 2009 11:47 pm

    It was a fairly obvious ‘guess’ when I first read the report that it would be a husband or bf, because of the disposability factor involved. It is a fairly clear message.

  15. atheistwoman permalink
    June 13, 2009 3:56 am

    Since this an open thread…If I were still blogging this would have somewhere to go, but since I now have full-on blogging-a-phobia….here ya go. I have written a rant.

    Young women in university are expected to be smart but not too smart (the men need to feel on top), sweet but not too sweet (no one likes saccharine dears), professional but not too professional ( because again that would just make you a ball-busting bitch) thin, but not too thin (because then you would be anorexic), funny but not too funny (again, think of the menz), pretty but make sure you don’t show it off ( you little sluts), semi-virginal (you have to be wife material some day), sexually promiscuous (show us yer tits), drunken, but not too drunken (that would make you a drunk slut who deserved what you got, but again, show us yer tits). It’s enough to drive a sane person insane.
    Men are not wanted to split their personality in so many pieces. I think they actually get to be the same person, you know, all time.

  16. June 14, 2009 5:11 am

    If you would like to guest post, feel free to contact us. Our email addresses are in the About the Authors up at the top.

    • atheistwoman permalink
      June 14, 2009 5:18 am

      Thanks, that’s very kind, but as I said, blogging-a-phobia. Instead I just use my nothing worth saying cowardice and clog up your threads with my moronocy (new word, just made it up). LOL! I will show more restraint in the future.

    • June 14, 2009 5:33 am

      Restraint is not necessary in open threads.

  17. kamododragon permalink
    June 14, 2009 4:18 pm

    Here’s my contribution here.

    I saw this in an OII blog in Australia and this one is saying and I quote;

    “Accusing any person of being transsexual or transgender so as to diminish their standing is transphobic.

    Asserting that a transsexual or transgender person’s claim to being intersex is a bid for greater standing is transphobic.”

    Here’s the link
    http://oiiaustralia.com/concept-of-intersex-privilege/

    When I read that, the first words, where “you gotta be kidding me”

  18. June 17, 2009 11:13 am

    Those people are something else, kamododragon. No, no one wants to be associated with mutilating elective surgery and a lifetime regimen of hormone cocktails. That’s not hard to understand at all. But they’re so constantly looking to appropriate somebody else’s experience that they take it as a an affront when no one wants to appropriate theirs. It’s pure delusion.

    • kamododragon permalink
      June 17, 2009 2:22 pm

      So true. They are constantly looking at appropriating someone else’s experience and try and claim is as if it’s their own. It pure delusion in what they are trying to do and it sometimes irk me when they try to appropriate my experience or even try to steal someone else’s experience and claim it as theirs.

  19. Mary Sunshine permalink
    June 17, 2009 2:20 pm

    Mozart, Sonata in E flat, K. 380
    on http://www.sky.fm/classical/

    Life can be beautiful. 🙂

Comments are closed.

