Skip to content

Farrah Fawcett Has Died

June 25, 2009

farrah-fawcettOf anal cancer. Perhaps now she can rest in peace.  I was glued to my chair the first time I watched Extremities.

The Farrah Poster and Me

There was always contention between my father and me when it came to money. If he had money to give, my sister only had to ask.  When I asked, usually after my mother pushed me to, I was made to earn it.  My father was unapologetic about making me earn money while my sister did nothing for hers.  Behind his back, my mother would give me frustrating looks but say nothing.  By then, my brothers preferred cigarettes to money, and I discovered years later, they stole money from my father when he slept, who in turn thought I was the thief because there were times I had unaccounted for money, unaccounted for because my friend prostituted himself for cash and would occasionally throw some money my way. Nevertheless, we are talking small change here, —it was the 70s.

My desire for shampoo, conditioner, soap, toilet paper, toothpaste, underclothes, and an occasional 8-track (ah, how sad, I know, woe is me) often required my father and I to be partners in a few moneymaking schemes. One such scheme included a few of the now famous Farrah Fawcett red swimsuit poster, along with numerous abstract black light posters. Who knows how he came by these bulk finds, but bulk finds they were, and found he did.

The deal was that I would sell each poster for 50¢.  For every poster sold, my father would get a quarter and I would get a quarter.  The thing was, after I tried to sell a few I learned that no one wanted to pay 50¢, most only wanted to pay a quarter. A few people were willing to do 35¢. After a few days of coming home unsuccessful and hearing my father tell me I was doing something wrong, I dropped the price to 35¢. But, I was too ashamed to tell him. At 35¢ posters sold better. He kept count of the posters and for every missing poster expected a quarter.  When I grew tired of him waiting for me to come home and do the count, I gave him my profit (the dimes) to buy out the rest of the posters so we would no longer have to count together.  That left me with around 40¢ and 20 posters. I sold a few more for 35¢ and several more for 25¢, eventually giving the remaining ones away.

17 Comments
  1. June 25, 2009 7:25 pm

    Oh dear. I just saw yesterday that she was planning on getting married, and I thought, wait, I thought she was sick?

    And I had never even heard of Extremities! Into the Netflix queue it goes.

  2. June 25, 2009 11:25 pm

    Michael Jackson was not going to let Farrah out do him.

    • atheistwoman permalink
      June 26, 2009 12:37 am

      LOL! No. Good riddance, IMO. It was awful, I saw it on a public screen, and I had to suppress the laughter. I am a bitter dried up prune, and I am going to hell.

    • June 26, 2009 12:49 am

      What in the world is going to become of his children?

  3. atheistwoman permalink
    June 26, 2009 1:09 am

    Are you saying this facetiously? Didn’t his children have mothers (who they were hopefully already with and not with him)? I don’t know, presumably they’ll inherit a large sum of money and need years of therapy?

    • June 26, 2009 1:56 am

      No, I wasn’t being facetious. I think the children had a mother. At least that was one rumor. That she was artificially inseminated and paid off for her services even though for a time they lived a charade as husband and wife. I was under the impression he did not have much money left. But, what I was mainly thinking about is how he always made those children cover up their faces. It will be a whole different world for them.

    • atheistwoman permalink
      June 26, 2009 2:48 am

      I see I have been blissfully unaware of the life of Michael Jackson (wrong generation, definitely not my type of music). I do feel terrible for his children, and I will not further speculate.

  4. June 26, 2009 4:21 am

    What was awful, Extremities?

    And yes, Kitty, I seem to recall the same scenario of basically a surrogate who was paid to have the two or three children. And they definitely lived with him last I heard.

    • June 26, 2009 4:25 am

      I don’t think she was saying Extremities is awful! I think the news of Michael Jackson is awful, or maybe, how it has made the news on a big screen. Or something. I guess I will let AW explain what is awful. LOL!

    • June 26, 2009 8:52 am

      I just read one report today, that the nurse he married had two children (and I think she was paid off to get out of the picture), then he had a third child with “mother unknown”.

      Effectively, he paid (off) two women as rent-a-wombs, to produce three male children.

      Anyone else see a connection with the previous thread of “reseeding the patriarchy”?

      And yeah those kids will need some therapy. It is probably a blessing that MJ shuffled off relatively prematurely, and the kids are still fairly young and may have a fighting chance of some recovery.

    • June 26, 2009 5:34 pm

      I believe his middle child is a girl. And some even believe the third child (who is not from the mother of the first two) is white (100%) (Not his “seed”). Just a rumor. I only bring it up because what better way to have someone in your custody and not be biologically connected. Not that it matters or should matter, but it does matter to a lot of people.

  5. atheistwoman permalink
    June 26, 2009 4:59 am

    Oooh, sorry, I had not realised how vague I was being! You see, I saw the announcement that Micheal Jackson had died on a public television. My first reaction was to laugh/smile. It was awful, because that isn’t supposed to be your reaction when you hear someone has died. Why, am I the only one who thought he was guilty?

    • atheistwoman permalink
      June 26, 2009 5:00 am

      PS, never seen Extremities, sorry can’t comment.

  6. June 26, 2009 8:59 am

    Have you noticed that, even though Ms Fawcett died prior, already there are an almost equal number of reports of MJ’s death. In the next few hours, those reports (of MJ) will likely double.

    I also noted that they already give a discography of MJ’s work, but with FF, they mainly only list that she was one of the original Charlie’s Angels, and “that red swimsuit poster”, and her haircut (from the CA era). That’s it, apparently the sum total of her career. This is how they airbrush women out of history.

  7. June 26, 2009 1:57 pm

    Well c’mon stormy, she was just a flesh toy, while Jackson was an ARTIST. FFS.

    I totally do see the connection with reseeding the patriarchy. And since Jackson was most likely some flavor of pedophile, there are some pretty creepy nasty implications for the MRAs trying to do the same thing. Not that we didn’t know that already.

    • June 26, 2009 4:05 pm

      ah yes, the nasty creepy implications.

      We should *remind* the MRAs of the creepy nasties next time they bring up “re-seeding”.

      Gah, only just got annoyed at another thing, “re-seeding”, this term makes all uterine and female participation completely invisibilated. (Prior to this I was annoyed at the concept, but the term is vying for equal billing)

    • June 26, 2009 5:21 pm

      I’m sure that invisibilizing was intentional on their part.

Comments are closed.

