Skip to content

Open Thread 12

July 3, 2009

summertime

29 Comments
  1. July 3, 2009 9:32 am

    I will be spending the 4th of July in my backyard, with my dog, comforting him from all the loud fireworks!

    I just watched a Ruth Rendell Mystery, “Going Wrong.” It had that man, the gay sidekick of Bridget Jones and friends in it. O-M-G, it was a total bore fest, but I could not turn away. I did like the actress Inday Ba. But sadly, I looked her up and learned she died at the age of 32 (2005). Complications from Lupus.

    And I still don’t understand the point in showing so much of a sex scene. We get it. They had sex.

  2. July 3, 2009 1:06 pm

    I *hate* gratuitous sex scenes. I always have, ever since I was a girl. Don’t ever see a French movie called Chaos, by the way.

  3. theunmarrieddaughter permalink
    July 3, 2009 5:15 pm

    I hate sex scenes in general, which makes me kind of a prude I guess.

    Along with sex scenes, I hate the way women’s bodies are on display in shows. I just saw the “hero shot” for a new show on TNT, and the men of course are fully clothed and looking all cool, the lone woman cop, well she is clothed, but it’s in a low cut tank top with an unbuttoned shirt, showing of course her cleavage and top part of her breasts. Okay, yeah, we get it, she’s the sexy bad ass all the guys want to do, could we please do a little character development that doesn’t rely on long hair and unbuttoned blouses? Thanks.

    Or, another thought, we could try to let the actress try, oh, say acting to let us know she is a sexy bad ass all the guys want to do.

  4. melim permalink
    July 3, 2009 8:39 pm

    Could someone remind me how to do block quotes, so I don’t have to keep doing “this crap”? Thanks.

    I have an aversion to sex scenes, too. Oh, no, we’re all repressed anti-sex prudes!

    • July 3, 2009 8:44 pm

      Just like this, but carrot brackets (<) instead of the square brackets ([ ] ).

      [blockquote] the text [/blockquote]

    • melim permalink
      July 3, 2009 8:57 pm

      Thanks, Kitty.

      trying it out

    • July 3, 2009 9:18 pm

      You would think with all that money Satsuma claims to have she could afford some type of IP scrambler. LMAO!

    • Undercover Punk permalink
      July 7, 2009 5:06 pm

      Hey, does she have any other names that y’all know of??

    • July 7, 2009 5:16 pm

      Unfortunately, we deleted most of her comments once we figured out who she was, except a few we let in when she was naginata a while back. But I’ll be sure to let you know if she ever comes back. It never takes long to figure out who she is anyway. She can’t go more than a paragraph without calling poor females a pestilence. So, look out for really short, sub-paragraph first comments (the only way she can sneak one in – that should be your cue to check the IP), followed by her trademark rambling screeds.

      How was vacation???

  5. July 3, 2009 9:37 pm

    Well, and, talk about changing screen names!!! I wonder if THAT’S who was being discussed over on Cath Elliott’s thread, how awful it is that there are women who DON’T EVEN KNOW WHO THEY’RE TALKING TO—

    Oh. No. BFFs. Nevermind.

    😉

  6. July 3, 2009 9:52 pm

    Or she could get it through her thick head that no one is going to tolerate her sexist-classist crap and just stop trying to barge in at places where her shit is not welcomed.

    We don’t serve cigars and brandy. Duh. How many times must we say that, it is stated on the menu, on the door, on the tables, in the restrooms, on the ceiling, on the phone when you call in, etc. NO CIGARS AND BRANDY!

  7. atheistwoman permalink
    July 4, 2009 12:21 am

    I am entirely unsurprised. Although she must use a proxifyer some times because when I cross-checked the IPs on my system they were all different.

  8. July 4, 2009 1:40 am

    Your registration for your chance to attend the Michael Jackson Public Memorial Service has been received. If your application is successful, you will receive an email on Sunday, July 5, 2009 after 11:00 a.m. Pacific Time with your exclusive unique code and instructions on how to obtain your two free tickets to attend the Public Memorial Service.
    A valid ticket will be required to enter the STAPLES Center and L.A. LIVE area on Tuesday, July 6, 2009.

    The tickets will be distributed for either the public memorial service in STAPLES Center or a live television broadcast in the adjacent Nokia Theatre.

    Please add info@staplescenter.
    com to your address book to ensure successful email delivery.

    LOL! The Mother of all Mockeries

  9. July 6, 2009 2:18 am

    Looks like I was not one of the randomly selected for Michael Jackson Mother of all Mockeries Memorial Service. I was really hoping I could scout those two tickets in front of the Staples center Tuesday morning. Bastards. Now, I will have to wait another 25 years before that one Harry Potter doll I bought from the clearance aisle, ten years ago, bring me some cash on eBay. I just have to keep telling myself, “one day my ship will come in, one day my ship will come in.”

    LOL!

  10. Level Best permalink
    July 6, 2009 12:26 pm

    Another thought I’ve had about Satsuma–if she’s such a high-powered business dynamo, how does she have time to write endlessly under various names on blogs? I don’t have this kind of time at or away from work,and I’m a mere little nobody.

    Plus, if she has all this fortune she crows about, how come when the bloggers whose sites she frequents (and whom she compliments effusively) ask for a few hundred dollars to fix something etc., she doesn’t just Paypal it right over to them?

    • July 6, 2009 4:56 pm

      Well, the economy is bad right now so I suspect she must live off the spoils that she has already exploited. Very few people to give her a minimum $500,000 start up investment. Yes, that is what she said on one financial blog. If you don’t believe me, I will be glad to email you the link. She made a commitment not to bother with people unless they had a minimum $500,000 to invest. Of course, this is after she took smaller sums from people. People who complained that the company she worked for at the time was cheating them. And she has the nerve to boo hoo over the victims of Madoff, and cheer when he was sentenced to life. Like his investors were any better than him, they were all in it to make a killing off the backs of poorer people. But of course some feminists claim they don’t support classism.

      What I want to note and I may go over and copy and past is how Heart has proven herself not above anything. The proof is right there. I say she is not above anything because that is the exact line she will say when she wants to prove herself superior to others. She will say how she is the victim, that she never said anything. Yet she is over at Polly’s calling Mary Sunshine (and whoever else) messed up women. That’s right, when you give her money and go along with her you are not messed up (as in crazy) but when you oppose her you are crazy.

      Petulant-unfeminist, Classist-Exploiter, and Charlatan-Submissive. All we need now is for Joe Francis to throw them a ball cap and a t-shirt. GGW!

      And she has not countered Satsuma who said AROOO was started to counter her. As if. Look back in the archives. No one was worried about Heart and I was even going to ignore her after I told her to fuck off, but she came to Rain’s boards starting shit, using her typical passive-aggressive “I am so superior and above you all” shit. And got Rain eating out of her hands like a lap dog. Everything is always about her ass. To think someone started a blog to counter her. What a fucking God complex.

      Take heed sycophants, you will be next some day, if you dare to have an opinion other than that of the Queen Fraud.

      I think the A-blog was (just the latest, but the most extreme in a series of) bizarre attempts at an internet coup, the underlying theory in operation being that the radical feminist internet is somehow “controlled” by certain women and must be forcibly wrested away by, like, creating counter blogs (!) dedicated to relentless attacks, lies, harassment, disinformation, espionage, infiltration behind enemy lines (ha! bitter “ha”), so as to fight against the theoretical lordesses of the radfem blogosphere. It’s absurd, preposterous and imo delusional. I think there’s room on the internet for every kind of feminist there is and all the groups we can create. Thinking the future of internet radfemism depends on silencing and attacking specific, gifted women is not only deluded (and imo personality disordered in a bizarre way), it’s also creepy and dangerous. One thing it has nothing at all to do with is the liberation of women.
      Heart

      Just like an evangelistic preacher warning the congregation against the devil, Hearty-heart stays right on cue, charlatan 24/7.

      Here are her points:

      If you take issue with her,

      1. You are delusional. (“It’s absurd, preposterous and imo delusional”)
      2. You are dangerous. (.. “it’s also creepy and dangerous.”)
      3. You are a traitor. (“like, creating counter blogs (!) dedicated to relentless attacks, lies, harassment, disinformation, espionage, infiltration behind enemy lines.”)
      4. You are the enemy. (“espionage, infiltration behind enemy lines.”)

      Who really wants to control others by attacking and silencing?

    • July 7, 2009 6:35 pm

      Jeebuz. If there’s “room on the internet” for all of us then WHY THE FUCK is she persecuting you guys? I mean, who exactly is writing posts about the supposed nefarious behavior of anonymous bloggers? Not you. Who is leading the charge to kick people off of private boards? Not you. Who can’t seem to go about her feminist business without dumping on anybody she doesn’t like? HEART, that’s who.

      FFS.

    • July 7, 2009 6:54 pm

      and this:

      gifted women

      Gifted? What an odd use of a word? Who did the gifting? God? Or White privilege? White middle class preparation, such as having educated parents, attorneys as fathers, rich fathers, fathers who exploited from poor people. (The exact point Mary Sunshine made when she said Twisty and Heart both know how to manipulate the medium).

      How dare anyone not worship the gifted. How dare anyone not worship the spoils of white privilege.

      Funny word gifted, it is the same word white middle class parents (and die-hard non-white assimilationists) use when they want to separate their extra special snowflake children from the rest of the student body.

    • July 8, 2009 12:25 am

      That was Mary Sunshine, actually, who made the point about Twisty and Heart.

      It was a good point.

    • July 8, 2009 12:37 am

      Yes, you are quite right it was Mary, I will go and change the name. Here it is:

      She wields the power of the press because no other feminist blogger that I know of, short of Twisty (who also has experience in the publishing world) can match her in the successful application of those skills. Not many feminist bloggers have them.

      Heart applies her skills, as do the sex-pozzies and tranz-advocates, to erase and obscure actual radical feminism by throwing reams of her own writings up in its place, by placing a decoy.

      Actual radical feminists, not males, are her target. As in, we are the actual people that she chooses to target.

  11. July 7, 2009 6:43 pm

    Well, and what kills me is that she’s allowed to do this over and over, and we’re supposed to just shut up and take it or all of a sudden, instead of us defending ourselves, we’re going on some offensive against her. All of her behavior is erased, in favor of just smoothing things over, deferring to her, and “letting bygones be bygones.”

    I think what baffles me more than anything is the fact that she is so much older than I am. Maybe that’s ageist, but the nonwhite-revolutionary’s-face-stamped-0n-a-t-shirt ensemble, the constant setting up of false hierarchies in order to boost her self esteem, all of it strikes me as very trifling. I wish the people who enjoy that sort of thing (revolutionaries on t-shirts and made-up hierarchies) would just stay over there with her. I can’t imagine what it is they get out of my and Kitty’s blog.

  12. Undercover Punk permalink
    July 7, 2009 8:25 pm

    SERIOUSLY, Amy!! Anonymity be damned!

    Heart LOVES Satsuma + Sheila G + Avostarfish + naginata + SecondWavePride + Andria + Agoura20, whatever-her-name-is!!!

    Margie, you make a good point, The Deceiver’s comments are particularly easy to identify! I see her on other blogs (or I’m like 90% certain it’s her charading as some “xxradicalfeministxx”) and I want to CALL HER OUT!!! Today, I bite my tongue!!

    Thank you, vacation was fabulous 🙂 ! Route 1 from Pacific Grove, CA to San Simeon is not-commercialized, which was refreshing. I even had post-vacay blues(!?!)—I didn’t even know such a thing existed until I experienced it myself. Hence, a select few of the millions of pictures we took are featured under my “…the internet is mean” post! I’m feeling in better spirits now. 🙂

    • July 7, 2009 8:42 pm

      Aw, I’m so glad you had a nice time, and so sorry about the post-vacation slump.

      The Deceiver (ha), like so many others, wouldn’t be a problem if her behavior weren’t enabled and condoned by so many. I mean, I understand that if you tell a woman that certain behavior is intolerable you run the risk that she’ll decide not to hang out with you anymore. And I know that it sucks to have women choose their continued shitty behavior over your company. But, for me anyway, spending time with people I have to compromise my principles in order to avoid butting heads with is never all that enjoyable, and I’ve realized that by the time it gets to that point the friendship was already gone anyhow.

  13. July 7, 2009 8:28 pm

    LOL. You went into moderation, Undercover Punk, because “Satsuma + Sheila G + Avostarfish + naginata + SecondWavePride + Andria + Agoura20” are all words we’ve set to trigger the mod-bot. Better probably at this point to just leave it at the IP address.

    • Undercover Punk permalink
      July 7, 2009 8:41 pm

      That’s funny!! 😀

  14. July 7, 2009 10:19 pm

    I understand that if you tell a woman that certain behavior is intolerable you run the risk that she’ll decide not to hang out with you anymore. And I know that it sucks to have women choose their continued shitty behavior over your company. But, for me anyway, spending time with people I have to compromise my principles in order to avoid butting heads with is never all that enjoyable, and I’ve realized that by the time it gets to that point the friendship was already gone anyhow.

    Jeebuz (invoking that a lot today, apparently) I should make this into a needlepoint sampler or something. I need to read this every day. I dunno why I cannot get this through my thick head, why I still put myself through the female socialization wringer of “oh I should be nicer” and “I should give her a chance” and “I shouldn’t judge people so quickly” and fuckin A if 90% of the time at least, when my gut is saying, uh, I don’t think I want to hang with this person, my gut is RIGHT. But I ignore it, and I “give people a chance” and I end up hating them and they hate me and it’s all unpleasant everywhere, whereas if I had just been cordial and distant and not encouraged friendship where there could be none, there’d just be a cordial distance or distant cordiality. Or, perhaps, someone who was pissed I didn’t want to be their friend, but at least I wouldn’t be guilty of having led them on.

    And Kitty, thanks for the analysis of “gifted.” I got called that all the time by the school, and then by my mother, and it definitely was about creating hierarchy and getting to feel better than the “dumb” kids. I remember when I graduated there was one girl who was in the top 10 or whatever who’d taken all the “regular” or the “business” classes (like business English as opposed to Great Books) and how all the other 9 (from the gifted track, of course) sneered at her because her good grades were only in the “regular” classes so clearly she hadn’t worked as hard as the rest of them who got their straight As in the AP classes. What a crock of shit. She’s probably making millions in real estate now while “gifted” me sits here typing white men’s words.

  15. July 7, 2009 10:31 pm

    PS Undercover Punk your photos are gorgeous.

    • Undercover Punk permalink
      July 8, 2009 8:03 pm

      Thank you , Amy! My partner took a lot of them (and sometimes we can’t tell the difference), so I’ve passed your compliment onto her too. 🙂 As I’m sure you’re aware, California is soooo beautiful that you really have to try to take a bad photo!

      In other matters, I, like you, always try to give people the benefit of the doubt, trying to be their friend, hoping that some good will come of it. In fact, because of my compulsion towards befriending lesbians (seriously, I can’t help it!!!), I’ve been burned by our people more times than I care to count. It actually happened to me 2 weeks ago. Maybe I’ll blog about that one of these days. I’m trying to resist the hardening of my heart and spirit due to the inevitable disappointment of human short-comings… self-protection is important, but I don’t want to become a bitter person, you know? And every once in a great while, I’m pleasantly surprised by someone.

Comments are closed.

