Skip to content

Open Thread 15

July 24, 2009

treehouse-paperbark-camp

12 Comments
  1. July 24, 2009 4:41 pm

    Yesterday I walked 3 ½ laps around the local high school track. Since, it has been awhile I only wanted to do 2, but the child wanted (for herself) to do 4 and I didn’t want to just stand around. But I have to be careful because I suffer from calf-cramps (which are completely different than “Charlie horses”) at the slightest change of exercise/sloth ratio. However, I get them either way, slother or exerciser. If I am too much of a sloth, I cannot sleep comfortably (not to exaggerate, but honestly, I cannot sleep comfortably, at all, if my legs are not worked after so many weeks of not being worked). My legs go into rebellion. At first I thought I had Restless Leg Syndrome or even PAD (the two are not similar but I was grabbing for something to explain my legs). Then it is not as if my body wants to accommodate my legs. For the first two laps after a period of sloth, my lower back and upper hips scream. Although, if I can stay on course they eventually STFU! Well, just for that day, they start up again each and every next day/time I start out.

    And let’s not even talk about the size of my redwoods, which incidentally are six inches bigger than the time, a girl in an aerobics class asked “What size are your thighs?” (while we were all being fat caliper measured) and after I answered she sneers “That is the size of my waist.” Of course, at the time I just stood there. Now, I think I would say, “Well good for the starving ballerina, give her a cookie.”

  2. July 24, 2009 4:46 pm

    Have I already said in another Open Thread how much I fucking love this photo? A beautiful tent/home out in all that green…makes me almost forget how much I dislike being in high bug territory.

    • July 24, 2009 4:49 pm

      No, I don’t think you have. I believe melim mentioned something about loving it.

      The thing is Joan, in our imaginary world, if you don’t want bugs there will not be any bugs. See how that works. It is like magic, I swear. A happy place. LOL!

    • July 24, 2009 10:32 pm

      Smug alert. Classic.

    • July 25, 2009 3:12 am

      Yeah, I know I’m considerably behind the curve, but it reminded me of a lot of the conversations we’ve had about people being all self-congratulatory for being “good” or doing the “right” thing, like that makes them better than everyone. That episode really nailed that attitude.

      I have to say, though, what IS it with the anti-semitism on that show? (It’s full of other -isms, too, but that particular episode was just rife with jew-hating.) Are they trying to do that Borat thing? If so, it doesn’t work. I don’t think this culture is ready for that kind of humor/satire, if you can call it that.

    • July 25, 2009 3:38 am

      I don’t watch South Park because it is not age appropriate for our house. However, in that one skit, what markers demonstrate that more than one of the three adults who enjoyed the smell of their farts was Jewish. Judging by the thing on his head, I assume the last one (the father and the one who offered the wine) is Jewish, however, the other two were what? The woman could have even been a lesbian (“short hair” “San Francisco,” maybe? and the man who wanted his name pronounced more what? Precisely? Feminine? Was he supposed to be gay?) Did I miss something? Is it anti-semitic simply to make one of the smug intellectuals Jewish? Or is there no smug Jewish intellectuals?

      For the record, I am not defending the show nor am I denying that it may in fact be anti-semitic, just saying. One out of three adults does not seem anti-semitic to me.

    • July 25, 2009 6:47 am

      Cartman has always been really into hating Jews and making fun of Jews and all that (as well as being racist, misogynist and homophobic). He’s also the character everyone hates. Definitely predates Borat. I think Cartman is supposed to be a parody of anti-semites (and racists/misogynists/homophobes), but it’s annoying to me since I’m Jewish and know plenty of white males who think it’s superfunny to make Jewish jokes about me because of South Park.

      Have you guys seen the episode where Randy (Stan’s dad) accidentally says “nigger” on TV? It’s season 11, episode 1, “With Apologies to Jesse Jackson.” It is actually a much savvier and more racially aware episode than you’d expect — not to spoil it, but one of the themes is that white men think the most offensive thing in the world is to be called racist. I actually rewatched it tonight because I was thinking about it in regards to a lot of things I’ve been reading lately.

    • July 26, 2009 2:54 pm

      Kitty, it wasn’t so much that clip that I was referring to but others from that episode that I considered and rejected because Cartman was engaging in outright blatant jew-hating. And I’ve seen that before in other episodes too.

      I’ll check out the episode you mention, Joce Claire, sounds interesting. They do sometimes get some things right which is why I bother watching it at all.

  3. July 25, 2009 6:48 am

    Wondering about the new quote on the right side of the blog, from Chickenshit Feminist. Is it a real quote?

    • July 25, 2009 10:50 pm

      Yes, it is a real quote. Although I cannot identify the so called radical feminist who left that comment (because it was obviously a name that she does not normally use), all I have to do is look around and compare our daily stats to who links to us (it does not jive). Radical feminists don’t link to us. Instead of examining if they are really radical feminists, they like to pretend there is something wrong with us. Some times when I can bother with the thought, I wonder if some women who call themselves radical feminists are actually radical feminists, or if they are just hell-bent on infiltrating feminism (it does not even have to be radical feminism, just real feminism) in order to divert feminists from making any headway.

  4. July 27, 2009 11:46 am

    I cannot express how much I don’t want to get off my ass and go to work right now.

Comments are closed.

