Skip to content

Led By Wolves

July 30, 2009

I feel as though something needs to be stated unequivocally.  Opposition to feminism is not a female interest.  Women wanting what men want – the subjugation of women – doesn’t mean that women’s subjugation is now a female desire.  It simply means that some women want what men want.  They are men’s women.

For example, fundamentalist women who want to birth whole tribes of children, just like their daddies/husbands/pastors want them to,  means that those women want what men want.  It doesn’t mean that birthing big passels of children for fundamentalist daddies/husbands/pastors is somehow feminist, or even female-derived, just because some women are eagerly willing to go along with it.  That’s just not how power works.

So long as men hold a position of dominance over women, having desires that coincide with theirs is simply complicity in male supremacy, not a female-derived interest that must be taken into account by radical feminists.  I don’t care to re-frame this complicity as being a legitimately, or primarily, female compulsion.  It would be nice if women who want to cooperate with men would simply say that, instead of masquerading their sheep-hood as independent thought.

11 Comments
  1. atheistwoman permalink
    July 30, 2009 12:54 pm

    Yes, which is why their well defended “choices,” so often coincide with the (male-centered) status-quo. Not that I’m innocent in that department.

  2. July 30, 2009 4:49 pm

    I don’t care to re-frame this complicity as being a legitimately, or primarily, female compulsion. It would be nice if women who want to cooperate with men would simply say that, instead of masquerading their sheep-hood as independent thought.

    Yes and in order to do that they (the women fighting the “good fight” for the menz) must frame it with the feminists being the ones with power, —the oppressors. I mean honestly, to come to our blog and cry that we are denying her the right to fuck and marry her man is insufferable. I ain’t got no power over girlfriend. I have not raped girlfriend. I have never went over to girlfriend’s blog (NEVER) and told her she cannot suck her man’s dick or marry him. I have agreed on more than one occasion that sucking menz dicks and marrying men are not feminist acts.

  3. July 30, 2009 7:07 pm

    Kitty, can I get an “amen.”

    I’m not sure what’s so hard to get about that. My having a disfavorable opinion about your complicity is not the same thing as my having the power to do anything about it. One wonders whether she feels the same indignation for women who are literally forced INTO prostitution/marriage as she does for the imaginary women being “forced” out of it.

    Oh, never mind, one doesn’t even have to wonder.

    • Mary Sunshine permalink
      July 30, 2009 8:24 pm

      😀 !!!

  4. July 30, 2009 7:15 pm

    “STOP CHASING ME!”

  5. July 31, 2009 2:06 am

    I swear, one day, if God is my witness (in my best mocking of Scarlett O Hara) I am going to write an essay about all the people who I haven’t chased but have accused me of chasing them.

    The introduction will include a scene, similar to one of those maps in a theme park with a big fat red arrow that says, “YOU ARE HERE!”

    Or perhaps it should be a comic strip.

    There she is there right there, right there where she is. She is there with her back to me because she is running away from me. But where am I?

    The next frame shows the Himalayas between where she is and where I am, the two of us divided by 10,000 metaphorical miles. There are hundreds of rivers and canyons separating us.

    The third frame shows her in a huff, —beginning to sweat because her fear has escalated to panic. She is running and running and her legs are getting weaker. She is exhausted but continues to run.

    The fourth frame shows me arguing with a shaved ice vendor because I can find no evidence of the extra coconut liqueur that I paid for.

    The fifth and final frame, she is there, screaming to me at the tops of her lungs, “STOP CHASING ME!”

  6. redmegaera permalink
    July 31, 2009 10:25 am

    I don’t know. I can’t help thinking that conscious , vocal, female anti-feminists are selfish, political cowards. Most of these women are educated and articulate. They see a power disparity but they don’t want to abandon the concessions (as opposed to privileges) granted to women under patriarchy. They want to win the battle but not the war, to achieve all the limited status a woman can achieve under patriarchy instead privileging her own and other women’s autonomy. I haven’t quite thought this through but I think that those women who explicitly identify as anti-feminists (in contrast to those women who simply do not identify as feminists) are no dummies. They’re kind of parasitical. They’re limited power is dependent on the existence of dissenting women like yourselves….Hmm. I’m going to think about this some more.

    • July 31, 2009 11:14 am

      Oh, yes, redmegaera. I’ve had the same thought before, except about the so-called “feminist” women who also depend on our existence for their limited esteem under male supremacy, rather than the specifically *anti-feminist* women. No matter what, these women will situate their opposition as being against *us*, always, sometimes or any time, rather than against males.

      It is very parasitic. And it’s this relationship that I expressed concern about in my Retreat? post. How, when they are so dependent upon our vilification for their minimal rewards, can they be trusted to present separatism as a serious option for their daughters? Won’t they always present it, if they present it at all, as being the design of a wild, irrational fringe element?

    • redmegaera permalink
      July 31, 2009 11:38 am

      So true, Margaret.

  7. redmegaera permalink
    July 31, 2009 10:28 am

    oops that should be their instead of her and their instead of they’re in that second-last sentece. Teach me not to proof-read my comments. :blush:

    • July 31, 2009 11:16 am

      I hope everyone knows that we, Kitty and I, aren’t counting up typos. We aren’t counting grammar or syntax mistakes, or turning our noses up at ethnic or regional dialects, or any of that. We don’t even care if you “properly” use capitalization.

      🙂

Comments are closed.

