Skip to content

Open Thread 18

August 21, 2009

treehouse-paperbark-camp

7 Comments
  1. August 21, 2009 5:43 pm

    I kept thinking today was Thursday, not Friday. Perhaps I should become more active in scheduling posts in case I am not around at certain times.

  2. August 21, 2009 5:46 pm

    Well today I have to clean the upstairs bathroom. Try to shampoo stinky milk that the child spilled and swore she cleaned up properly (but we know now that is not true, because it fucking stinks, I just don’t know why carpet is still put in units, ewww, no carpet, that is the first thing I’m doing whenever I finally own a house, and that is ripping out all the carpet) and do some other odds and ends before the daily grind starts back in a week or so (a week for the child, a few weeks for me).

  3. August 21, 2009 11:56 pm

    That sucks, Kitty. I hate carpet too. I have it throughout my place as well. Good luck getting that sour smell out.

    Is your daughter excited about going back to school?

    • August 22, 2009 1:08 am

      Yes. Whenever my children react in a way that I would not had when I was their age, I am always surprised. Even when I say, your children are not you, I am still surprised. She loves her little school life. Top scores, everyone always likes her, etc.

      Actually, I am now afraid what will happen when she is faced with someone (especially a teacher) who does not like her. So far she has never met a teacher who didn’t like her, or who she didn’t like. My poor oldest daughter started out in first grade with a teacher that hated her (and I am sure hated me after I complained about her). And, I know I am her mother, but I’m telling you that teacher hated my child. I tried doing everything my then 25 year old self could do to change it, but it never changed. To this day I wish that teacher was dead. I will give you an example, one day she begged the teacher to let her go potty, #2, the teacher said no, each time she asked she said no that she did not believe she had to go potty. Well, she soiled herself. And then when my daughter wanted to go to the office, the teacher said no. When I talked to the school about it, they believed the teacher when she said that none of it happened. I wish she was dead right now. DEAD!

  4. theunmarrieddaughter permalink
    August 22, 2009 3:21 pm

    Hi.

    Teachers, bleh. Well, at least the ones I know. Of course like a lot of people in a group setting, Some are stellar, some are on power-hungry authoritan trips, and most are medicore enough to not call attention to themselves.

    Me, I am starting to value being medicore, why draw unwelcome, in both the good and bad sense, attention to myself?

    I hate the power-hungry teachers though. It’s one thing to be an authoritarian creep when it involves adults, but children? Children who don’t understand, don’t get why this particular teacher is being an asshole? Yeah, I don’t believe in hell, but I do hope there is a special place for people like Dolores Umbridge, who is more frightening than any Dark Lord.

    My mom died four weeks ago this Friday. I know I have to get a job, but the only jobs I am qualified for are the caretaking variety, and I am sick of taking care of people. So, what am I doing this Monday? Starting the pre-nursing program because at least that job is “stable, and I can always find work.”

    I am enjoying the posts here, and Margaret, you make my head hurt too, but in a good way.

  5. kamododragon permalink
    August 23, 2009 9:24 pm

    Well as for me, I am getting ready for school and as such I’ve been chatting on the blogs and I came across this one http://sophiaofthescythes.wordpress.com/

    The two blog post are very interesting and if you all want to take a look they are

    http://sophiaofthescythes.wordpress.com/2009/08/23/brain-sex/

    http://sophiaofthescythes.wordpress.com/2009/08/21/intersex/

    That is because a lot of MTFF’s are out their claiming that they are who they are by way of Intersex brain, Neurological intersex and Harry Benjamin Syndrome. These so called MTFF’s claim they are female and using their so called male priviliage to claim female including using Intersex brain, Neurological intersex and Harry Benjamin Syndrome as a excuse for their claim.

  6. August 24, 2009 4:03 am

    I am now ready for school but I so exhausted myself getting ready that I may be raggedy. Still — it was fun, that getting ready. Sleeping may set me right up for success.

Comments are closed.

