Skip to content

Open Thread 19

August 28, 2009

the-back-back-room

18 Comments
  1. August 28, 2009 4:05 pm

    My Friday twittering:

    8:00 am I’m spending the whole day doing a final scrub before it is back to the grind next week.

    9:45 am The mental gymnastics some women will go through in order to justify sucking a man’s dick is always astounding. At the very most, out of respect for him being a human who has died, the most should be to just not say anything.

    9:52 am The best unintentional compliment a person can ever give me is to say I’m out of control. HAH! Out of control. If only they would reflect on the control they like to have over me and who/what that control would benefit, it would be a start.

    10:00 am Why is anyone shocked that a man would steal an 11-year-old girl, imprison and rape her for almost twenty years, and then imprison and rape the two daughters that resulted from his initial rape of their mother? Men think they are entitled to take whatever and whoever they want to. Oh, and please for the love of something, spare me with how you would have never thought such and such about your neighbor. Maybe it is time you thought such and such and go over there and see what the hell he is hiding.

    11:23 am Just watched a documentary on George Eliot. Although I would not say it was boring (nothing I haven’t read before), it was without a doubt, very powerpoint-ish. When I ordered it I thought I was getting, George Eliot: A Scandalous Life. On the library’s website I saw the words George Eliot and DVD and pressed request. I see now that I was mistaken. Now I must see if they have the above title, the Scandalous Life one, not the documentary one.

    11:24 am Making Twitter updates is so boring. It reminds of those people who cannot go into the store without calling someone. I could be cleaning up. Both twittering and cleaning are mind numbing. What type of person enjoys posting such mundane details? Stick a fork into this nonsense. I’m out.

  2. August 28, 2009 6:47 pm

    🙂 Kitty my reflex is to want to say that the above is so fucking cute, but I know “cute” gets interpreted to mean trivial or childish or some damn thing. When I think of what else to call it, I’ll come back.

    • August 28, 2009 7:41 pm

      I am cute.

      Today I was trying to think of a word that sort of meant camp, but not really camp, especially after reading about how pomo homosexual male dominance has taken over the meaning of camp, but I could not come up with anything. Decamp, perhaps. Recamp? I need to learn a suitable prefix, but I don’t know what meaning I am looking for to assign that prefix to, yet.

  3. atheistwoman permalink
    August 28, 2009 7:24 pm

    Well I enjoy twittering even though it is insanely stupid. I don’t know why.

    Here’s my version of a tweet tho, I hope y’all like it.

    Just because you take one or two dirty dishes, and put them in a plastic bag, and put them on the top shelf of your cabinet, hoping, praying, that the landlord does not open said cabinet, and leave them there, well just because you do that, doesn’t mean anything about you as a person. Moi? Defensive? Never. ;-). It really is only two. Lol.

    • August 28, 2009 7:38 pm

      Now AW, you know by the time you got the plastic out/down, put the dishes in/around the plastic, and huffed and puffed (okay, maybe you don’t, sort of channeling myself) to reach a hiding place, you could had just washed them already.

      Not judging though. 🙂

      I made $20 once when I was 11 or 12. I cleaned a man’s apartment. He put his dirty dishes in the freezer (so they would not smell he said). He had no food and had a deep freezer. Who knows why. It sat in the dining area. You know the little crappy area that extends from the kitchen in typical American apartments. There was also change all over the floor of his bedroom, and condoms (in the package). I didn’t know what they were for but I got them all together and put them in a little dish and sat them in his bathroom by his shaving stuff. The change I had planned to keep but he asked for it. Well, he didn’t asked for it, he just asked where I had put it. I don’t recall completing that cleaning job. I cannot remember cleaning the bathroom or mopping the floors. If I recall, the apartment was such a mess, that when he came back from wherever he went while I was cleaning, he simply decided I had done enough.

    • atheistwoman permalink
      August 30, 2009 3:47 pm

      ;-). My garbage disposale was broken, and every time I would was a dish the scummy water would fill up the sink and it would take an hour to go back down. I cleaned most of them that way by staying home all day, but the clock was ticking.

      “You know the little crappy area that extends from the kitchen in typical American apartments.”

      Err, no. My apartment is one room. I’ve only ever been in two other apartments.

      “There was also change all over the floor of his bedroom, and condoms (in the package).”
      Gawd I’m sorry. When I was that age I didn’t even know what a condom was.

      Why do I have the feeling though that Mister there was only having his apartment cleaned because he wanted to bring a woman home. Of course I could be wrong, but the strewn condoms put that in mind.

    • August 30, 2009 6:31 pm

      AW, you probably know this already, but in case you don’t, there is usually a reset button on the bottom of the garbage disposal, that black (usually black) barrel like thing under your sink. Sometimes the button may be difficult to find because it is flushed with the surface. But if you run you fingers across until they trip on a rough spot, and push deep into the rough crater (the circle that houses the button), it should be there. And if that doesn’t work there is the old broom handle into the garbage disposal technique (but you may want to leave that to the professionals, or I should say, someone who is accustomed to making things work by using cruel methods). Who knew that rice should not be sent down the disposal? The things we learn, you know.

    • atheistwoman permalink
      August 30, 2009 11:27 pm

      Err, it was an electrical issue, actually. It might be what you are describing, with the reset button, but I just don’t have that much know-how at the moment. Of course I am working my way up in the world, and little tips like that always help! Thanks.

  4. August 28, 2009 11:40 pm

    I’ll be having house guests in a few weeks, and I should clean, but I’m sort of toying with the idea of not doing it. I’d asked one of these guests not to come anyway.

    And, god, Kitty, yes about people who believe all the males around them are innocent.

  5. August 29, 2009 1:52 am

    I took $10 out of my daughter’s piggy bank so we could have our Friday smoothies. I didn’t want to have to change out of my pajamas in order to stop at the bank. So now I will have to get another $10 before she misses it. Not that she looks at her money that often. However, there was a little sticky written with the total amount stuck on the bottom of the bank. That was not there before.

  6. August 29, 2009 1:53 am

    Ha! She’s on to you, Kitty 😛

  7. Mary Sunshine permalink
    August 30, 2009 11:29 am

    http://www.nytimes.com/2009/08/29/opinion/29collins.html?em

    Laffing uproariously at this ….

  8. Mary Sunshine permalink
    September 3, 2009 11:04 pm

    Now I feel better:

    http://richardwiseman.wordpress.com/2009/09/02/have-you-got-a-dirty-mind/#comments

    😀

    (my comment is right now at the bottom of the list – radfems have been heading over there from Twisty’s, I think.)

  9. atheistwoman permalink
    September 4, 2009 4:25 am

    Mary Sunshine, you are badass :-).

  10. Mary Sunshine permalink
    September 4, 2009 7:25 pm

    Valerie M is doing *such* an excellent job over there. 🙂 It’s very cheering to read. She’s “one of us”.

    • September 4, 2009 8:03 pm

      In my opinion that Valerie person, whoever she is, is wasting her time talking to that man. Why trouble herself with trying to get him to see the “error” of his ways. I mean, it’s not like the man only posted that shit because he didn’t realize it was misogynist. He posted it specifically because it was misogynist, and that’s what gets males off. I suppose she gets points for trying (and I love your comment). Unlike what we are accused of, you know, not bothering with men. We are told by some we should be more like the Valerie’s of the world and fight more with men, than trying to show women how they could focus more on their emancipation. Not to mention how I don’t expect much from Twisty’s supporters. So far, it has only proven disappointment. They are all so fawning and gullible in my opinion, acting like Twisty is feminist dreadnought or something. When in actuality she has only shown herself to be a trust fund baby with a surly disposition. There isn’t even any salvageable humour in her arid antics.

      But, oh well, I suppose. The assholes do need a reminder that they are being watched now and again.

  11. Mary Sunshine permalink
    September 4, 2009 9:52 pm

    Yeah, I was thinking of the encouragement that it is giving to women reading that blog. It was a fluke that I was reading at Twisty’s cuz I usually don’t – but I decided to follow her link and I was happy to see the feminist troops that she had rallied. It’s a link in the chain, or a breadcrumb in the trail of breadcrumbs or dot dot dot …. 🙂

Comments are closed.

