Skip to content

Yes, Some People Really Are Stupid

September 9, 2009

For years and years I could never think it, much less say it, if, if, a glimmer of it crept in my mind I would quickly chase it away. No, I could not say it, just could not think it. How could I, me, the person who don’t know much of anything. Who when I do know something and know I know something am not listened to because I am no one who knows anything worth listening to.

So when clues would surface I would batter them back down. I would say you are wrong, there is no way you of all people can say such a thing. How can it be true? No, it cannot be true. People are not stupid; they are just ignorant, lack exposure, hungry, distracted, in need of –a revelation, a humbling, a kind hand, a reason to understand.

Then I play at the better than. That game is always there, like a maggot in our past which will happily devour our future (kisses Horatio) the better than game will gnaw and gnaw at your core unless you work your way out of its clutches. Dare I think it, say it at the risk of feeling better than the stupid ones, or, should I keep my opinion to myself. Perhaps if I don’t label it, it will not be true, there will not be stupid people, just people who are just not yet not stupid.

Of course, it is not to be assumed that I am speaking of people who are mentally challenged as in less than an average medium of whatever is considered capable of not being stupid. No, not them. The stupid people are the other ones.

6 Comments
  1. September 9, 2009 1:07 pm

    You know, I don’t even think it necessarily has to be a game of better-than-thou. Certainly the stupid people I know generally have better jobs than I do, better houses, better cars, more status, etc. So, I’m not sure what difference it would make if I did think I was better than stupid people. I mean, my personal feeling about the matter is simply that I am different than stupid people, can’t relate to them, but I have no power to enforce my opinions one way or the other.

    • September 10, 2009 6:19 am

      Yes, I think I should have been more precise. When I am criticizing my own thoughts, I define the better-than-thou trope to mean better-than-thou, character wise. Nevertheless, I do understand how to most people, particularly in our capitalistic society, better than means better material goods and status. I’ve long since learned that lesson. I learned early that the nastiest, and yes, stupidest, and unscrupulous people seem to prosper. It is the whole don’t cast pearls before swine thing (if I was a religious person). To me however, it just proves how corrupt a person is willing to be for the stupidest and most meaningless things/concepts in life.

  2. atheistwoman permalink
    September 10, 2009 1:34 am

    Stupid people do indeed inhabit the finest universities…

  3. Mary Sunshine permalink
    September 10, 2009 1:49 pm

    Stupidity is encouraged, it is urged up on the population, male and female alike. There are huge financial and political gains to be made from mass stupidity. Stupidity is in fact, celebrated.

    Digital technical expertise requires no imagination, and so is treated with respect. All other forms of knowledge and reason are shouted down.

    It takes a lot of personal strength to resist the social imperative for stupidity.

Comments are closed.

