Skip to content

Open Thread 22

September 18, 2009

summertime

15 Comments
  1. September 18, 2009 2:24 pm

    Summer is almost over. Fall is upon us.

  2. September 18, 2009 3:45 pm

    Do you think the GPS voice is bossy, or, do people project bossiness onto the GPS’s voice/commands?

  3. Mary Sunshine permalink
    September 18, 2009 4:18 pm

    The GPS voice is hilarious. I can hardly keep from giggling, or talking back to it. But then, when I hear it, I’m not the driver. 🙂

    • September 18, 2009 10:57 pm

      I like when you drive on temporary roads while they’re doing construction, and she freaks out and keeps saying “recalculating” and telling you to make a U-turn.

  4. September 18, 2009 6:25 pm

    Here is a Friday afternoon tip: Don’t try to use your ATM card and not remember the pin number, try three different combinations, and then go to your car, sit a minute, and go back and try two more combinations, because you will get a slip of paper from the machine that says, “Transaction Failed” and nothing else. Then later when you try to use that card at the gas pump you will be told to go in and see the cashier (Which I didn’t because I don’t ever deal with the cashier, I just used another card). Then only when a few more days pass and you start to wonder do you get a note from the bank saying your shit was cancelled. I mean damn, can’t somebody forget their pin? LOL! It is not as if I blow it up using it all the time, and, they assigned the damn number. It was one of those freaky four number combinations that my brain just did not want to remember. But now, I was able to enter my own pin into the phone while I was talking to a somewhat suspicious employee. Within 7-10 days, I should have my new card.

  5. Mary Sunshine permalink
    September 18, 2009 6:45 pm

    I know we’re not supposed to do this, but I use the same PIN number for everything. So far, so good. 😐

    • September 18, 2009 6:52 pm

      I use a variation of the same number myself depending on how many numbers are necessary. Nevertheless, that card was assigned to me back in 1996 (the card has been replaced every few years but the pin has always carried over). And although I have used it, at times a lot, I simply could not remember the stupid number because it was a number that I did not select. The same for my educational pin. We here in the USA are given an educational pin to conduct all of our financial aid and loan business and one has to hold on to it for dear life. I’ve had that same pin forever as well. Although, now I could not tell you what it is, I would have to go fetch it.

  6. atheistwoman permalink
    September 18, 2009 9:22 pm

    Kitty, I love your new name ;-).

  7. September 18, 2009 10:55 pm

    It’s my birthday today! I’ve been sick for over a month, so I went to the doctor today and got all sorts of medicines. I’m going to have dinner with my mom, brother, and brother’s girlfriend in a bit. Exciting stuff.

  8. September 18, 2009 11:20 pm

    Hey! Another Virgo 🙂 My birthday is coming up too.

    I actually just got some gas and had to deal with the cashier for miskeying the zip code. Talk about some sleazy characters, those gas station attendants.

  9. Mary Sunshine permalink
    September 18, 2009 11:56 pm

    Happy Birthdays, Joce Claire and Margaret!

    😀

  10. atheistwoman permalink
    September 19, 2009 12:44 am

    Yeah, happy birthdays!

Comments are closed.

