Skip to content

Bullshit With a Side Order of “Feminism”

November 17, 2009

I find it interesting that the birthplace of “Nigel” as cutesy moniker for males is now off-limits to the use of “teh menz” as cutesy moniker for males.  You’re either down with diminutives for male oppressors or you aren’t, so far as I can see it.  I can’t understand the need to ban one form of male-apologist baby-speak, while leaving in place another term that has come to serve the same purpose: to obfuscate the fact that males, as a class, oppress female people.  Whether it’s the non-ironic use of “Nigel” to mean male love interest who’s trying really really hard to understand feminism, or the equally non-ironic use of the terms “teh menz” or “dOOdz” as a way of exempting those same male love interests from class-male, it’s obvious to me that the aim is soothing the ruffled feathers of male-loving women faced with the uncomfortable fact of their own complicity.  Just goes to show that pedantry is its own end over there.

6 Comments
  1. November 17, 2009 5:22 am

    And after Lucija patiently explained and explained her position she was dismissed. Feminism barely makes the take-away menu. They remind me of redneck upstarts who think being called a snob is a compliment.

    • November 17, 2009 5:50 am

      God, I know. And the thing about Lucija is that the only reason she ever even had a snowball’s chance in hell at being heard over there in the first place is because she focused on people whose first language is not English. Fuck all the people whose first language IS English, just not the high-brow variety. I guess they’re all responsible for acquiring it, or else they’re seen as fit for ridicule over there.

  2. November 17, 2009 5:46 am

    If any type of netspeak should be banned, it should be cornycrackerstalkingoutbothsidesoftheirassspeak. Who knows what the fuck they are saying half the time?

  3. atheistwoman permalink
    November 17, 2009 9:02 pm

    Well now she has been entirely run off by the gentleman farmer herself. Gosh, how honored she must be.

    I always interpreted NMN (not my Nigel) to be snark by women who did not have and did not want boyfriends/husbands to those who had or wanted them. I thought it was sort of like “oh yes, my Nigel would neeeeevvvverrr do xyz because I’m so great and different than all other women!” Hence, NMN. 🙂 (Ooh, I used an emoticon, shoot me down!).

    • November 17, 2009 9:20 pm

      It did start out that way, but it was quickly taken up by women with male partners for unironic usage. It wasn’t long before you had women over there talking about how “Nigel and I” went to a movie, or how “Nigel never understood that women might find it threatening for him to walk closely behind them down a dark alley until I told him but now he’s a real feminist!” It’s enough to make you puke.

    • November 17, 2009 9:34 pm

      To me it sums up the whole mentality over there. Appropriation. They want to separate themselves from the yucky Republican Stepford wives, but they really don’t. They just want to look like they are separated. It is all just a show. A show. No more.

Comments are closed.

