Skip to content

Open Thead 31

November 20, 2009

16 Comments
  1. November 20, 2009 5:25 pm

    I caught every red light this morning. The reader of my latest book that I listen to in the car, sort of sucks. I hate when the reader sucks.

  2. November 20, 2009 6:29 pm

    i had an argument with a friend about something she said that was misogynist and now she won’t speak to me.

    It was about Shaniya and how “I don’t understand how a woman could carry a child for 9 months then sell her” as if having a fuckin womb makes one have some greater supernatural connection to the product of heterosexual sex. Do we reference “I don’t understand how he could carry the sperm that made that child in his nutsack all those months then rape her” NO WE FUCKIN DONT. But the womb and child bearing have been romanticized and disney-fied and touted as the greatest thing a woman can ever do. So women who have children should know better, yet again blame the woman, and do so with the most disgustingly misogynist language ever.

    **steps off soap box**

  3. November 20, 2009 6:33 pm

    I got another one! (full of em today)

    Having a end of the year shindig at my place, family is getting down on me because I won’t invite the sperm donor my mother chose to create me. “It’s only for a few hours, you don’t even have to talk to him.” So if I don’t even have to talk to him why the FUCK SHOULD I HAVE HIM IN MY HOUSE EATING MY FOOD DRINKING MY DRINK????

    Why are women ALWAYS expected to bend over backward to accommodate males? EVEN WOMEN expect us to, as it is the women in my family being pissy about “daddy dear” not attending. Do they not get that men shouldn’t be rewarded for bad behavior?

    lol I must have lost it! OF COURSE they don’t get it, that’s why there is still oppression. Because if women stood up and said GET THE FUCK OFF MY BACK NIGEL, instead of defending his ass…

  4. Level Best permalink
    November 20, 2009 6:41 pm

    Hey, soulsistasoulja, women are expected to do ALL the heavy-lifting, both physically and morally. I suspect those of us who read here are a little bit tired of the inflated expectations.

  5. November 20, 2009 6:43 pm

    Level Best,

    How friggin true? I just know I’m tired of it. Sometimes I think fembot status would be better, then I realize I just don’t have it in me.

  6. November 20, 2009 7:11 pm

    Let it all out everyone. I’m listening.

    LOL!

  7. November 20, 2009 7:22 pm

    Aiight I got more.

    Black women emailing me dumb shit about the “power of a black woman” which is all racist sexism, more race woman foolery.

    Black men who are “socially conscious” and wanting to end white racism but who fail to extend that consciousness to their sexism.

    ppl in general today. I’m just mad at the world right now.

  8. November 21, 2009 5:12 am

    I just defriended a stranger after she asked me not to on facebook. She was only my friend because I invited her thinking she was a friend of mine. She had a name that is not that popular, so when the name and the city matched I assumed it was she. Even though I was quite impressed to see she had a facebook account much less access to a computer. My invite was accepted. Then I see a birthday that makes her five years older than my friend. So I send her a message quizzing her and she ignored it. I sent another message, again ignored. Then when she posted a picture on her wall (along with all the bible thumper friends), I knew it was the wrong person. My friend struggles with drugs/crack and is straight up not going to a church group. I told this woman I was going to have to delink her, and she asked me couldn’t we still be friends. Sheesh. Some people just don’t know what the actually meaning of friend is.

    Then last week I had a text argument with some man who would not believe I was not the person he was trying to text.

    • November 21, 2009 10:51 pm

      That is hilarious, Kitty. I never did understand the point of facebook; my account is all but defunct. I’m more positive than I’ve ever been that I made the right choice in keeping mostly out of it.

    • atheistwoman permalink
      November 23, 2009 2:54 am

      The same can happen with landlines too . I cannot tell you how many times I have begun to fear for my life because drunken men kept calling me back because they have not been convinced of my identity as not being “that lying bitch Jennine.” (or whoever else).
      And do not even get me started on that loan officer. Man that lady scared the crap out of me. She thought I was lying about the identity of my roommate, started yelling at me for hiding her, etc.

      And Margie, you have so made the right decision. Facebook is horrid.

  9. theunmarrieddaughter permalink
    November 21, 2009 1:44 pm

    Hi all.

    Sistasouljah, do you find when you speak out like that, about how unfair being a woman is, and cultural expectations, that the hammer comes down fast and furious? And, I hate to say it, it is mostly women who are hypercritical, even the ones that took the women’s studies major in college.

  10. November 21, 2009 6:45 pm

    Hey unmarried daughter. Oh does that hammer EVER come down fast and furious.

  11. November 23, 2009 1:31 am

    I just spent the better part of the day preparing the dough and then making yeast rolls. I have never made yeast rolls before. They sucked. I am now looking for different recipes. Mine seem to have too much flour and not enough yeast. It was fun forming the dough into those little rosette shape, and the color came out nice, but that’s it. My mother used to make very good ones whenever she was not too lazy to do it. She only had energy to get herself dolled up and go out. My father on the other hand was willing to bake but could not to save his life. Oh, how many hard cinnamon twists and biscuits I endured to fill my tummy when he was in the kitchen. His baking was pitiful.

    • atheistwoman permalink
      November 23, 2009 3:00 am

      Oh baking…I tried and I tried and I tried. I am simply too flakey for all that chemistry. Teaspoon, tablespoon? What’s the dif!

    • atheistwoman permalink
      November 23, 2009 3:01 am

      Although I can do it if my mother is in the room spotting for me. Ha!

  12. November 23, 2009 1:57 am

    My grandma used to make em. She died before i could get the recipe. 😦 hope you figure out the perfect one so you can send it to me.

Comments are closed.

