Skip to content

Open Thread 35

December 18, 2009

14 Comments
  1. December 18, 2009 8:32 pm

    I’m probably gone until after Boxing Day.

  2. joankelly6000 permalink
    December 19, 2009 6:00 am

    a) boooooo to you and/or Margie having real lives and going off to live them all the time. boooooo I tell you.

    b) fine, not really, just boooooo that I don’t own a jetpack to zip around and invite myself into your lives offline if/when I’m not seeing you online and

    c) oh my mothereffing christ, that cat above. That tail. !!! My littlest cat, Hercules, has feet my sister calls his “snowshoes”, and they do resemble the ones on the snow leopard above. *sigh* I love big feet on animals.

    d) I hope you have a great holiday Kitty. xoxo

  3. December 20, 2009 5:26 am

    I don’t know what Boxing Day is, and I’m too lazy to google it, but I’ve been a bit distracted myself. Maybe I’ll be here more regularly in a week or two. Happy Holidays, everybody.

    • joankelly6000 permalink
      December 21, 2009 9:02 pm

      You too Margie. xo

  4. December 20, 2009 8:47 am

    A little bad ass:

    • atheistwoman permalink
      December 20, 2009 6:57 pm

      He talks like the little creep in the Shining.

    • atheistwoman permalink
      December 20, 2009 6:57 pm

      Red rum, red rum!

    • December 21, 2009 3:32 am

      I have never found that kind of behavior to be in any way cute. It makes it unbearable to be around (generally white) folks with kids because everyone else thinks it’s adorable, so they all think I’m an asshole for curling my lip at it.

      Of course, I know it’s problematic to expect children’s subordination, but I don’t think expecting kids (especially boys) not to command their mothers to go to bed is the same thing as demanding kids’ subordination.

    • December 21, 2009 8:07 am

      When I first saw this commercial, I immediately thought of a passage in Homer’s Odyssey. It is a passage that takes place very early in the poem, so early that the thought of how I was hung up on that passage makes me wonder how I got through the whole poem. I refer of course to Telemachus telling his mother to go to bed (“…So, mother,? go back to your quarters. Tend to your own tasks, / the distaff and the loom, and keep the women/ working hard as well. As for giving orders,/ men will see to that, but I most of all:/ I hold the reins of power in this house.”). This after he confines to a stranger that his mother may very well be a “whore” (Mother has always told me I’m his [Odysseus] son, it’s true, / but I am not so certain. Who, on his own/ has ever really known who gave him life?) for all he knows. I’m trying to remember a time that I may have found this cute.

    • atheistwoman permalink
      December 21, 2009 4:46 pm

      Well, it also a near guarantee that the Little Prince Shining Boy up there would not dare try that shit on his father. Funny how that works.

  5. gemmathe2nd permalink
    December 21, 2009 1:45 am

    I don’t really understand how this will hurt women. Wouldn’t this provide protection for those of us who don’t look the way women are “supposed” to look? For those of us who choose not to shave our legs or remove facial hair, wear makeup or have “feminine” haircuts?

    While I don’t go along with the whole idea of transgenderism, I do believe that everyone has a right to be able to work and make a living and survive. I am regularly mistaken for a boy–what if I am told i’m too manly to be hired somewhere ? Wouldn’t this help protect me?

    (PS- I have commented on here a few times under the name Gemma, but I think that was before you required a wordpress username)

  6. December 21, 2009 3:21 am

    I don’t think being a female person who doesn’t fit society’s idea of what a woman should look/act like is the same as being transgender. That’s the problem I have with this sort of law. I do think that it hurts female people to have to agree that they identify as other than female, or that femininity is inherent to normal femaleness, in order to avoid discrimination based in misogyny, which is what phrasing the protections in terms of trans-*anything* requires.

    What would really do women some good – that is, women meaning adult female humans – are anti-misogyny laws. That would prevent discrimination on the basis of our female sex, as well as on the basis of oppressive sex-roles derived from and for the subjugation of our sex to male domination. It would also make illegal discrimination against males who don’t adhere to their sex-role, since the expectation that “femininity” (ie, submission) be associated with female people only is, of course, misogyny.

    • Nicky permalink
      December 21, 2009 6:58 pm

      Just think about how these transactivist and trans taliban will get to redefine what a woman and what a male is suppose to be based on their warped logic and warped views. It will even make it where women will have to give up their rights to a private space such as bathrooms and women’s only centers.

  7. December 21, 2009 8:39 am

    Tiger Woods can thank Brittany Murphy for saving his ass. It’s vulgar, but, there it is.

Comments are closed.

