Skip to content

Khristmas With Kitty

December 23, 2009

I enjoy making Christmas tree ornaments. One day, when I have a bigger house, I will have at least four trees at Christmas time, and one of them will have nothing but my homemade ornaments decorating its branches. I examine any little scrap piece, part to something, and anything and everything all year wondering if I can make an ornament out of it. This year, I made three different ornaments. The first are snowflakes. However, I bought them. Plain, unpainted wooden snowflakes in a package. Very cheap. Most likely, the snowflakes are made out of scrap pieces of wood that some big corporation was unable to transform into something else more profitable, like timber or paper. Anyway, I suggest not making ornaments if it is a chore or overwhelming. If the process is not fun, then it should not be taken on. I say this because I remember a time. A time when I did things with my oldest daughter when I could not tolerate if a space was left unpainted, or sparsely glittered or too glittered or what have you. Now, when the second daughter creates ornaments less than perfect, I just let it stand (or if I can easily do it, I sneak back in and polish the piece up a bit). I remind myself that it is not that serious.

First the wooden snowflakes. They are sold in packs at places like Wal-Mart and Michael’s.

We decided on white, cool blue and silver with a white crystal glitter. Unfortunately, the silver we picked was not paint, but glitter-glue. I am sorry, but I just don’t understand the concept of glitter glue. It never gives much pizzazz and if you use it to actually glue something on, the glitter will not show anyway. Before we started painting, I spread out a large piece of wrapping paper on the table to prevent getting paint on the table and to give it all a festive feel.

The big sponge brushes are perfect because all you need is to cover the wooden snowflake with color. The direction, thickness, or thinness of strokes are irrelevant because once the paint dries it will be covered with glitter.

I recommend trying to paint the sides of the snowflakes when painting the front side.

If you wait to paint the sides when you do the backside the frontside may still be a little sticky and may stick to the paper. And that is a mess. You have to pulled the paper off and then paint over the snowflake if the color of the paper transferred onto the snowflake.

Here is when I realized my blunder. I painted the snowflakes before I drilled holes into them. Without holes, they are useless as ornaments. Even if I was not using them for ornaments but perhaps, present tags, I need some way to attach a ribbon to them. I guess I could have tied a ribbon around one of the snowflakes arms, but that just seems ugly. So I got my drill out and drilled one hole in every snowflake. The problem with drilling the hole after it has been painted is the potential for the wood to chip and expose an unpainted interior. Definitely drill all holes before painting or glittering. Also use a drill bit that makes a hole big enough for your ribbon. I started with a smaller size and had to go back and re-drill using a bigger bit because my ribbon would not thread.

Paint with glue everywhere you want glitter.

Let the glue dry on one side and then glitter the other side.

Thread the ribbon through, tie a knot and then you are done.

I hung them on this little ice tree while I filled out Christmas cards. I included one snowflake ornament in every card. The rest went on my tree.

The sponge brushes are reusable and I have plenty enough paint and glitter to make more stuff in the future. I plan to do something with the clamshells that we will have left over after we make clam chowder for Christmas dinner. I will run them through the dishwasher (or soak them in the sink) to get rid of any smell and to clean off all grit. Then let them dry out for a few weeks and see what happens after that.

And here are a few reindeer we made out of clothespins. I am not sure how many photos wordpress allows in one entry, so I will see. Notice one of the reindeer’s eyes is crocked. Usually all I have to do is thump it a few times and the pupil will fall in place, but apparently, that one wants its eyes to be all wild.

Here are some golden icicles. Well, that is what I decided to call them. Kids love when you exaggerate and make things a hundred times more spectacular than the items actually are. The golden icicles are nothing more than an old wind chime I had about six years ago that fell apart. I threw away the nasty string (it gets dirty hanging outside) and kept the elongated brass parts thinking that one day I would make the wind chime again. That never happened. So, when I saw them lying in the bottom of my craft box with a perfectly good hole in them, I decided just to run a ribbon through and turn them into golden icicles.

7 Comments
  1. December 23, 2009 5:58 am

    Hey, that cool blue color sure looks nice 😉

  2. theunmarriedaughter permalink
    December 23, 2009 3:34 pm

    Nice paint job. I am crafty myself, but painting those things is beyond me.

    I wanted to make a small yule tree(solistice identified here) with nothing but my handknitted christmas ornaments on it. But of course, this idea hit me in the middle of the first week of December, perhaps next year.

    As it always happens with me, my family and friends last week! showed me pictures of handmade knitted, sewn and beaded gifts they would like me to make for their Christmas presents. Why? Why do people do that to amateur craftspeople? Say something like, “well, could you make this picture of this hat for me in a week?” Is it because of the walmartization of instant gratification? Or the fact that crafting things for presents or gifts is traditionally seen as women’s work and therefore undervalued?

    So, my Christmas eve will be spent making intricate hand-embroidered bib necklaces, finishing up one cable scarf, and making some quick bracelets and hand scrubs.

    At least I begged off christmas eve festivities, we should be well into a blizzard by then.

    Holiday blessings to everyone. I can’t thank you all enough for your blog, and perhaps you both didn’t know it, but you have taught me a lot this year, and I am deeply grateful.

    Christmas/Solstice/Winter Blessing from me to you all:

    May the light return to you and yours, may your new projects grow and thrive in this bright light, may our lovely Planet continue to tilt upon her axis. Blessed Yule.

    • Mary Sunshine permalink
      December 23, 2009 7:11 pm

      {{{Unmarried daughter}}}, thank you. 😀

      I’d light a merry blaze under a Yule log, except that we’re having very hot dry days, and most of Oz is under fire ban.

      Sun, Earth, and the four elements in their eternal cosmic choreography with each other. I raise a shout of joy at the apogees and epigees of our circles around the sun.

    • December 23, 2009 9:43 pm

      I don’t know unmarrieddaughter if I can share the title of crafter with you. The only things I can do have the skill level: For idiots. Anything more complicated gives me a headache. I have to like doing it or it is a bust. To this day, I cannot read crocheting instructions. I made a whole poncho for my daughter just by imagining how it needs to be done but cannot make a simple cap. Either the circle goes out flat or it starts drawing in too tight too soon like a tube. I fling it away and don’t touch it again, sometimes for years.

      Good luck with all of your work. Don’t need me to tell you, the clock is ticking. Ugh. The pressure.

  3. joankelly6000 permalink
    December 23, 2009 7:46 pm

    Now look what you’ve done – dragged the sappy right out of me.

    I love you all, and hope that if you celebrate any of the holidays, they’re going how you want, and if you don’t, that no one’s bugging you for it.

    xoxoxxo

  4. December 23, 2009 8:58 pm

    I love this! Reminds me of you wee days in the scouts. 🙂 We used to make ornaments too Kitty.

    And Margie I too like the blue.

    My sister is home for the holidays and left that male thing when she came so my khristmas is looking REAL UP! 🙂

Comments are closed.

