Skip to content

Open Thread 36 “Happy Holidays”

December 25, 2009

11 Comments
  1. December 25, 2009 7:58 am

    Wishing everyone a Happy Holidays.

    That includes all of you (you, meaning women).

  2. Mary Sunshine permalink
    December 25, 2009 8:55 am

    Thanks Margie, thanks Kitty!

    My love to women everywhere.

  3. Nicky permalink
    December 25, 2009 9:57 pm

    Merry Christmass and you have to see this,
    http://questioningtransphobia.wordpress.com/2009/12/13/trans-activist-sass-rogando-sasots-speech-at-the-un/

  4. December 26, 2009 1:07 am

    Merry Christmas/Happy Holidays Kitty and Margaret. You ladies make me think, and question, and find my place in the “construct.” Thank you both for that. I find that I am continually a work in progress and both your inputs make the “work” better than it could ever be without you. Thank you for that.

    Kitty, please tell “the child,” her distant Aunt Deb says, “Have a Very Merry Xmas Sweetie!” I know the Mom will make sure she understands what it should mean! 🙂

  5. Nicky permalink
    December 27, 2009 9:48 pm

    Check out this trannie trying to silence this biological woman and calling here a transphobic.
    http://transgenderartist.blogspot.com/2009/12/acceptableness-of-soft-bigotry.html

  6. December 30, 2009 12:53 pm

    Happy New Year! I thought it would be courteous to say hello, as I’ve spent the last two days avidly reading your blog! I love it. Even though it is so uncomfortable and challenging to keep seeing my own mistakes, wrong assumptions, and racism, held up to the light. Thank you. I hope that you won’t mind getting some pingbacks from my blog as there is much here I would like to reference and discuss further.

    • December 30, 2009 7:34 pm

      Happy New Year to you too The Bearded Lady. I’ve read your latest entries with interest. For me personally, I must check my pessimism. It has been my experience that whenever a known white woman writes about any other women other than in the vein of default white, she is slowly squeezed out, ignored, and talked about on private boards. But of course, the excuse will always be something else, not that she is interested in decentering whiteness but because she is _________ fill in the blank. I’ve seen a few decentering whiteness blogs go under simply due to the lack of attention. Nevertheless, if carried out, the personal growth is worth it.

      By now, I am sure you know (or read the comments here) that we think what happened over at Femonade was racist as hell. I don’t want or need to tell other women what to do. But I do know this, as long as readers continue to support (as in link, comment, recommend) bloggers who are unapologetically racist, those bloggers will never be discouraged and will never change their racist ways.

      The same goes with sexist and classist sites (which are inherently racist). People love to acknowledge so-and-so is a classist, yet they still build her up as the icon of the age.

      As I said before, having convictions and sticking with one’s principles is lonely country.

    • December 31, 2009 4:28 am

      “…having convictions and sticking with one’s principles is lonely country.”

      Yes, Miss Mutineer – it is. And once one chooses to do each – there’s no going back, now is it? Even lonelier country at times.

      Happy New Year, Kitty.

    • December 31, 2009 5:55 pm

      You too Debc. I got to take a picture of something for you concerning your last post.

  7. December 30, 2009 8:46 pm

    Hi Kitty, thanks for responding, and yes, I think I’m getting the message already… “you’re on your own TBL!” My mum always warned me about the Whiteness Club but I never realised just how hard it is to get out of until recently, and how many traps my own ignorance, privilege, and racism would lead me into.

    But I do know this, as long as readers continue to support (as in link, comment, recommend) bloggers who are unapologetically racist, those bloggers will never be discouraged and will never change their racist ways.

    Yes. I’ve been thinking on this long and hard. You are right, of course.

    Thank you for your honesty. And have a wonderful New Year!

Trackbacks

  1. Maybe there is hope? « Don't call me ya sista

Comments are closed.

