Skip to content

Open Thread 38

January 8, 2010

29 Comments
  1. theunmarrieddaughter permalink
    January 8, 2010 5:06 pm

    Hello.

    Hope all is well with everyone. I start what I am calling “hell term” next week. All the science and math I can handle. Ugh.

    Hope all of you are staying warm. It’s cold here, sunny but cold.

    I am sitting here looking at the shakesville thread, and thinking several uncharitable thoughts towards a woman’s actions. I don’t know how to critique the whole Mary Daly thing over there without criticizing a woman. And by critiquing I mean in my head, I really don’t want to throw fuel on the fire anywhere.

    • ybawife permalink
      January 9, 2010 4:10 am

      How sad that Mary’s work cannot be valued and understood without all the anti-lobby getting on board..bored are we feminist who just want to admire radical womon without all the personal attacks….she was a womon’s womon, what else is there for radical womon to know…

  2. January 8, 2010 8:51 pm

    Return to Cranford starts this Sunday, Jan. 10th on PBS.

    My daughter turns 28 tomorrow. I can feel the emotions that I had when pregnant with her, having and caring for her as if I just had her yesterday. Now the child is on bed rest because those twins in her are pushing her to the limit. I know some people would be shocked if they heard how we talk. One of the twins has not turned yet, and she said, “Those bastards better get with the program because I am not going to have a C-section.” LOL! And so happens, it is the girl that refuses to turn on her head. She is telling the world that she is not going to tumble over for anyone, –not even her mother.

  3. joankelly6000 permalink
    January 8, 2010 10:12 pm

    I like that tiny girl already, Kitty.

    Love the turtle in the pic too.

    Other than that, I’m filled with self-pity for how badly I just want a day without cold medicine making me feel like I’m underwater and stupid.

    Thanks for letting me share! 😛

  4. January 8, 2010 10:21 pm

    Lots of hits on the blog today. No doubt all white women pissed as hell at my refusal to bend over and kiss ass. *shrugs shoulders*

    Went with one of my girls to see that failure movie “it’s complicated” was almost forced to endure the most piggedly of em all. Some lil malibu’s most wanted type joker. He just kept saying the most disgustingly misogynist things, threatening his girlfriend, towering over her and lurching at her. I don’t have any real natural sense so I turned to the fucker and said: “Could you shut up already? You’re being extremely rude and disgusting! Knock it off!” To which he questions gf, she explains, and he responds by standing up and puffing his chest out while mumbling about how bitches will get beat down. I keep a knife in my bag just in case one of these dbr assholes tries to get froggy and leap. I turned to said asshole, rolled my neck and just stared him down. He sat down faster than I ever imagined he would, and I never even needed the knife.

    I took that to mean he was of the ultra punk variety, ya know the kind who things because he is a male he can just go around saying/doing as he feels. Oops, they’re all like that! Anyway, my gurl turns to me and just shook her head: “I see nothing has changed since 7th grade.” To which I laughed my damn head off and we continued to watch and critique the other display of misogyny, the movie.

    Call me silly, but I like to go to these movies, keeps us sharp on what brand of misogyny is “in” this season. (sarcasm)

  5. January 8, 2010 10:24 pm

    Kitty, I love what you said about your soon to be granddaughter! 🙂 Congrats btw!

    I too love the Turtle! Reminds me of one I saw at the aquarium as a lil girl. 🙂

  6. January 9, 2010 1:43 am

    Tyrannies are threatening to leave feminism. I say, please do. I would like to know one thing a male calling himself a woman has ever done for females. Not a damn thing. I think it would be best for their asses to go off somewhere on their own and stop trying to suck on a woman’s tit, and then cry when she tells him his teeth are hurting her, or worse, he cries because she did not automatically offer him the other tit, even though he looked full to her, with his gut all stuck out with abundance, farting and burping like it is Thanksgiving night.
    The assholes cannot even talk about feminism without calling feminists bitches. Does that sound like an ally to you? Sounds like a man to me. Then they have the nerve to compare a female scholar to a mass murderer who had military and government power behind his ideology. Dumbasses. I think that is carrying the power of the pen a little too much in hyperbolic land, don’t you? Not only do they call feminists bitches, when they are pissed at one of their own, you know, another male parading around in drag, they use dog metaphors such as humping one’s leg. Dogs hump. Men hump. Sounds like someone failed to convince his own kind that he was what they all claim to be. LOL! Another fraudulent whining male tried to clean up the dog humping metaphor by calling it a cat, but, too late. The Freudian slip is already out. Tyrannies know what they are, yet, they want females with perfect vision to think they see something else. Please leave and don’t let the door hit you where your patriarchal doctor split you. (That is if you are one in a million who actually got your thang cut off. You know the rest of you like to keep that dick intact so you can threaten rape. Like who? MALES!)

    • ybawife permalink
      January 9, 2010 4:18 am

      Yup the tyrannies are such a pain in their own asses, how come they think they can assume femaleness and expect real womon to tolerate their crappage…..yup please pass along from the feminist chalice we have no space in our psyche for your male boners….and womon need to wake up to the fact that tyrannies are another totem dick in sheeps clothes not at all connected to the FAB,s of this world…..or the next!

    • atheistwoman permalink
      January 10, 2010 8:53 pm

      even though he looked full to her, with his gut all stuck out with abundance, farting and burping like it is Thanksgiving night

      Kitty, you always know how to trigger my gag reflex!

    • dierdriu permalink
      January 11, 2010 5:28 pm

      Kitty, I LOVE the way you tell it like it is. After dealing with way too many MTF narcissist rages I am totally out of compassion for their “suffering” anymore. Besides, they don’t want compassion anyway, they just want to “win” at the game of being “more of a woman” than us and claim they can steal “our” (us straight chicks) boyfriends and husbands so they can crow about their superiority. I don’t get how it can be SO obvious to me, that cutting your dick off does NOT make you a woman and yet so many people can buy that line of shit. And then preach about tolerance! The only people who get to decide membership in the group, is D’UH, the group! I mean, I can’t just decide that since I always “felt like a princess trapped in a poor girls body” that I’m allowed to move into Buckingham Palace and kick the Queen out of her bed. Why? because I’m being “oppressed” by my cis-royal “sisters”? NO. Because that would be proof that I was INSANE, y’know, unaware of undeniable reality. I can bitch all I want that the sky should be purple and say that it violates my rights because it’s blue, but it ain’t gonna take the blue away!

    • Mary Sunshine permalink
      January 11, 2010 6:34 pm

      cis-royal

      😀 😀 😀

      5:30 am and I’m already ROTFLMAO

  7. berryblade permalink
    January 9, 2010 2:04 am

    Happy birthday for your daughter Kitty! I hope she has a good time 🙂
    I’m upset my plans last night went bad, when I threw up before we even got to the pub, AND I hadn’t had anything apart from a tasty tofu burger and a long island ice tea. My folks are away at the moment so I have the house to myself and it kicks ass. Applying feminist critiques to my favourite horror movies as well – which I will eventually post.

    • January 9, 2010 3:45 am

      Thank you. I told her and she appreciates the thought, because, presently she is eating worms. Since it is so cold, no one will commit to coming out tomorrow and having a get together with her.

      I picked up 8 movies from the library today. No horror ones though. Enjoy.

  8. January 9, 2010 2:39 am

    What I fail to understand is WHY the trannies are so hell-bent in wanting us (FAB) to accept them as women? I mean…… shouldn’t they be spending their energy trying to cajole,convince, threaten Men into believing they are real women?
    I do not know of one heterosexual male or for that matter a gay male who does not recognize a Trans for what he is….. a man…..even when exercising political correctness in addressing him as a “she”.

    I’m sure even Obama knows that Amanda Simpson is really a dude. Funny how some feminists defended Dave Letterman when he made that joke about Palin’s daughter, but now they hate him because he made a joke about Amanda Simpson. These trans have me defending Palin!but at least I have my priorities straight.

    • January 9, 2010 3:44 am

      That Letterman joke was funny. You know why? Because it exposed masculinity as a construct. Wouldn’t that have been a perfect time for the tyrannies and their supporters to highlight how masculinity is a problem? How that man who supposedly did whatever with Mr. Amanda only feels sick once he knows it was a dude because of his constructed masculinity? But no, it is easier to ride on women’s tits 24/7 and police how women don’t want them in their spaces.

    • ybawife permalink
      January 9, 2010 4:21 am

      I agree with all that you say…instead of being busy de-constructing masculinity they are busy trying to invade FAB womon’s spaces and brains with all their crap…..

  9. Valerie M permalink
    January 12, 2010 2:23 pm

    Ugh! Look at the comment left by ‘earwicga’ on Feministe’s Mary Daly thread:

    Defending Daly as using the argument that she had good ideas, but hey, the bigotry was bad but she was a product of her times etc. is akin to arguing that Hitler had good ideas, but hey, the genocide was bad but he was a product of his times etc. It just doesn’t wash.

    Mary Daly = Hitler, yeah? Gah! Why did I look at that blog? Too much time on my hands being sick in bed. I went for a laugh, but there is nothing funny about that place. It is fully assimilated.

    • January 12, 2010 2:43 pm

      She has an open call on her blog naming this blog, AROOO as a place everyone should hate. What better way to show your love for men than to openly hate one of the only sites (if not the only) on the net that will not tolerate men while also elevating yourself over other women. Note the “But at least I……” In other words, “look at those horrible women. Now look at me. Don’t you think I am so much better.”

      But at least I don’t write bigoted and hateful blogs which are dressed up with feminist feathers – two of the most hateful being AROOO and FAB Matters. AROOO is unapologetically disgusting, while FAB Matters dresses itself up as a serious discussion place with the sub heading ‘transgender politics through a feminist lens’ which makes it more disgusting if that is possible. The absolute dishonesty is vile – as are other tactics used by transphobics such as dog whistle politics and esoterism. There are other similarly bigoted blogs and you can find them easily through the two named above.

      Stupid girl. Enjoy the view from your knees.

  10. Valerie M permalink
    January 12, 2010 3:30 pm

    Gross, just gross. What an awful thing to say. I had a very quick glance at her blog yesterday but didn’t scroll down far enough to see that. Between her feminised avatar and her assertion that The Law! will decide for lesbians who they should be attracted to, I figured I knew all I needed to know about her politics. Just her trans politics though; it’s not like she had a damn thing to say about Daly’s racism.

    Why is all of humanity having to indulge this stupid, futile exercise? It’s not like we’re ‘learning a valuable lesson’ even. Taking space, bodily sovereignty, and resources away from women and giving them back to men is the status quo, and has been for millennia. ‘Trans’ folk don’t bring anything new to the table – just more oppression.

  11. January 12, 2010 6:57 pm

    What an absolutely despicable thing to write about AROOO and Miska’s site, too. I have never seen anything but kindness and compassion towards women at either place. Why are these women so deeply invested in men, male lives, male politics, male sexuality, male fetishes? I find this really hard to process.

  12. January 12, 2010 7:25 pm

    Earwicga, since you obviously read here and felt compel to run back to your blog and rally everyone to support your hate for us; I will further assert that you are not only stupid but you cannot read. Please direct anyone to where I said/implied/asserted that your avatar means you are a silly girl and will life on your knees? I don’t give two straws about your avatar, however, I agree with the assertion that your avatar is a visual representation of your actions. Nevertheless, you stupid girl, I said you were stupid, not silly, stupid because you are hell bent on living life on your knees to suck dick. Got that? Reading is fundamental. The only word close to silly is the prefix of silliness which is part of the password-protected post that you seem to be worried about. Perhaps your stupid ass thinks it is a post about you. If so, grow the fuck up. If I wanted to curse you out I would say it in the open, as, it appears I have done. Now be gone stupid girl, I don’t’ have energy to fuck with you and I don’t get any pleasure grinding you into dust. I did it publicly because your stank stupid ass talked about us in public (you know, where men can pat you on the head for fighting their cause). So you reap what you sow. You brought the negative attention on yourself when you called us out specifically. Live with it.

  13. joankelly6000 permalink
    January 12, 2010 8:09 pm

    If you could please change your header to read my latest invention:

    (h)A(te)ROOO

    it would be much appreciated.

  14. Valerie M permalink
    January 12, 2010 9:03 pm

    Um, I’m really sorry about this, Margie and Kitty, if I have caused you any more grief than you already have to put up with. I did not realise she already had a weird personal grievance with this blog, or even read here.

    Does anyone know of a good post on radfem bloggy nettiquette tips so I can stop putting my foot in it? Besides STFU, although maybe I should heed that one a little more. Or get my own damn blog.

    • January 12, 2010 9:31 pm

      Valerie, don’t worry about it. If she (if she is a female and not a trannie male inserting himself into female spaces just to start shit) wants to talk shit about someone then she will get shit flung back at her (depending on if we feel like doing it). If anything, a lesson has been learned (unless she is too stupid to absorb the lesson) and that lesson is no one is interested in joining in her hate-fest. Exactly how many people have joined her in her campaign to hate AROOO? When/if someone joins in, his/her agenda will be obvious.

  15. Nicky permalink
    January 12, 2010 11:48 pm

    Oh and speaking of Mary Daly, Look at what “The World’s Ugliest man wishing to be the World’s Ugliest woman” has said about Mary Daly and here’s the link to the post.

    http://aebrain.blogspot.com/2010/01/charitable-view-of-mary-daily.html

    As far as Trannies are concerned, they will always insist on invading and co-opting women’s space. Even when they use the intersex community to legitimize their existence at the expense of intersex people as well. Look at how trannies are trying to sell their crap to FAB, feminist and intersex people as well. That’s why no feminist, FAB or intersex person is buying into what the trannies are trying to sell.

Comments are closed.

